Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2009

      Excellent. I've never used the vinegar in my green beans and really like the additional flavor. This went very well with roast beef, potatoes and carrots. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Delicious! I added a small diced potato just because it sounded good to me :-) I also love making fresh green beans this way, with some extra bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      Very nice, and we were quite happy with the amount of vinegar, it added a nice tang that I really enjoyed. I used fresh beans, and I think I had a bit too much bacon... but we like bacon! Easy to prepare, a lovely way to prepare a favourite vegetable! Thanks, diner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      I loved the flavor of this! I often make green beans in a similar way using fresh beans. I may continue to do that in the future since the canned beans almost cooked into a mush trying to cook the vinegar out. I feel that fresh beans would hold their shape better. The flavor was wonderful though, and I would suggest that this recipe serves no more than 2 people in a realistic situation. Thanks for sharing! ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I made this for the guys last night and they both gave it 4 stars. "Really good" and "They are great with the pork chops" were heard at the table. The recipe is certainly easy to make. I used 1 1/2 tbsp of the vinegar, one thought it was too heavy and the other said it was just right. They both said that they would be happy to have then again. Thanks Diner for an easy veggie that the men will eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Very good and easy! I used only 1 1/2 T of the apple cider vinegar and that was perfect for us. I served this with "Chicken Cutlets With Pecans". Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      Very good and simple! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Very good and a little different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      These just didn't do it for me. . .sorry! I love all the ingredients, just not all together. They were a bit bland (although vinegary), so I added a little seasoning salt and pepper which did help. Only used 1 tbsp vinegar and frozen french cut beans. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Made these for dinner last nite and we really enjoyed them. I did use diced country ham in place of the bacon and we thought that added a nice flavour also. I love using ACV in recipes and thought it added a great zap of flavour to the beans. I also used a flat italian green bean and thought it absorbed the flavour well. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      They were o.k. for us. we liked the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      These were fantastic!! Bacon must be nice and crispy and onions must be carmelized. Yummy!!!!! Even the two year old loved it. I used frozen green beans. Thanks for the great side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      I really enjoyed this as a side with our meal tonight. The taste reminded me a bit of the taste of a PA Dutch three bean salad but warmed up. My other half is always putting vinegar on everything anyway so he was happy with the taste too. Made for the Zaar World Tour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      Loved them!!! I used cut green beans since I never buy the french style ones... and only 2 slices of thick, premium bacon... it was plenty! I loved the tang of the ACV (Bragg brand of course!) with the savory bacon and onion. Just delicious... I should have made another can just for myself... Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Loved these green beans! I think they are very close to what is served at polish style buffets. I used turkey bacon so I added some olive oil to my pan. Cooked the bacon and onions together and used about 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. Will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Oh, Diner524, are the ever-so good! Made with a total comfort meal. Love them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I would definitely make these beans again, but without the cider vinegar. THEY ARE QUICK TO MAKE PLUS THE ONION AND BACON ARE THE PERFECT TOUCH, but none of us liked the vinegar flavor so they didn't get eaten. I appreciate you posting Diner, because I do really like the overall idea. Made for Zaar stars, please see my rating system.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      These were good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written. My children weren't thrilled with the vinegar but hubby and I enjoyed them. Ths bacon and onion gave them a good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      These green beans were delicious! I love anything tangy, but had never thought of putting vinegar into a recipe for green beans. What a difference, they were terrific. And we all love bacon so that was an extra treat. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Excellent dish. I have always believed that anything with bacon has to be good, but the vinegar ready adds to this dish. Thanks for the new way of doing beans and congrats on the football win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (117 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.3
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    42%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 75.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites