22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great dish!! Easy to make and very filling. My family loved it. Although the next time I think I'll use hot Salsa instead of Medium hot. And I did use Colby Jack cheese between the meat layers and added Chiles to the Cornbread mixture. I'm sure to make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonnelllinda November 25, 2007

Very quick and easy dish to make! We did put Mexican blend shredded cheese between the meat mixture and corn bread layer. And made the corn bread after the meat was cooked as others said to do. Unfortunately, we didn't have onion so used onion powder . . .next time will definitely use real onion to give it more taste. Hubby gives it 3 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BBT Girls August 28, 2007

Made this for Cinco de Mayo & it was a HUGE hit! I only had fat free milk, so used sour cream instead in the corn bread which made it richer & a little less sweet, and added a bunch of shredded cheese between the meat & the corn bread before baking. Can't wait to make it again & try some of the doctoring sugggestions! This is a definite keeper! Thanks CindiNMike!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queer Eye in the Kitchen Guy May 07, 2007

This is right up my husband's alley. I save time by using leftover taco beef/refried bean mixture from one of our taco nights. Extremely easy basic recipe. Great with the addition of corn or other extras as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rma123 January 03, 2007

Very good and fast! Instead of refried, I used Ranch style beans and added sliced black olives. Next time, I'll throw in a little corn. I really enjoyed your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshynetoo July 16, 2006

Very hot using the medium salsa, if you have kids us the mild stuff, I sprinkled it with cheese after baking & let it melt on top, but it just peeled off during the serving process. Put the cheese on top of the meat mixture then top it with cormbread mixture, if you want to use it. This is an OK recipe but I would not make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol G. June 18, 2006

Very tasty (please see how I rate recipes). I followed the recipe exactly but ended up sprinkling the top with some Monterey jack 5 minutes before taking the pie from the oven. This was so fast and easy to make that I decided to fancy it up by spreading the cornbread mixture on the bottom and sides and baking for 10 minutes before spooning the filling in and covering up with remaining bread mix. Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hobbit March 13, 2006

We don't care for refried beans so I substituted rice for them...easy, quick and good tasting...also added cheese...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karla1 January 15, 2006

Delicious, easy to make. My DH loved it & said it deserves more than 5 stars. I made it just as stated using homemade salsa Wonderful Salsa, I make it medium hot. Next time i will try adding some creamed or canned corn. Anxious to have the left over for lunch. Thank you Cindi, I will be making this again & again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz January 14, 2006

Very good! I added jalapenos and it was fantastic imbedded in the cornbread. I think next time I will make the cornbread mixture last, as it seemed to get too thick as it sat around.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HesterX April 12, 2005
Awesome Easy Tamale Pie