22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am a big fan of Mexican entree's. My husband actually complains about my love for them (I will always chose mexican). That is why it was so disappointing to have this for dinner. It was not only missing something it was dry cornbread with meat. It does not have the normal kick you would find in ethnic food. It was missing a lot and left you feeling like there was something not quite right with it. As other reviews have claimed they jazzed it up with many condiments and modifications, which makes it something else all together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uniqleeme May 06, 2009

I made this last night & it was so d@mn tasty!!! *I substituted beef W/ ground turkey. *I added a package of taco seasoning to the meat mixuture. *I made refried beans W/ seasoned blk beans *I add creamed corn th the cornbread mix & meat mixture *I added a light layer of mixed cheese under the cornbread layer & served it W/ avocado & sour cream.. this was great & I will be making it often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjaim December 09, 2008

Not real excited about this one. It needs something, I'm just not sure what.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip August 22, 2008

Great recipe. I used morning star crumbles instead of beef. Added chopped green chiles to the cornbread (didn't have any Jiffy cornbread mix. I did a google search and found a "clone Jiffy cornbread mix" recipe that was super easy), and I added olives. I added just a little bit of shredded cheddar/jack cheese before adding the cornbread layer. I put sour cream on the table for those who wanted. Really great! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tofulove August 09, 2008

We really liked this recipe. The beans mixed in is such a great idea, the beans give the recipe a very smooth and creamy texture. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 May 01, 2008

I really liked this. I also put creamed corn into the Jiffy corn mix but it made it a little more soupy than usual. Next time I'll add a can of regular corn to the beef mixture. I also added a can of diced chiles and they were yummy! I used black bean & corn salsa from WalMart and used brown Success rice instead of refried beans. Also did a layer of cheddar cheese between beef and cornbread. Delish! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa in Acworth, GA April 15, 2008

This was incredible!!! I didnt have a 9 x 9 pan so I used an 11 x 7 dish. I added some cumin with the garlic salt into the ground beef, and I also added some Colby/Jack shredded cheese before I topped it with the cornbread. Next time, LOL and there WILL be a next time, I think I will try to find a deeper pan and maybe double the cornbread topping. I also might try the corn add in also. The possibilities for this are exciting. CindinMike thanx so much for sharing an easy, quick satisfying meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney1126 March 17, 2008

easy and so yummy! my kind of dish! i took the advice of some of the others and added creamed corn to the cornbread, and put it on both top and bottom. This is a keeper! thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papersouls February 21, 2008

Great recipe!! I doubled this & made it in a 13x9x2 pan; used canned diced tomatoes instead of salsa & a packet of Mccormick taco spice mix. Also added cheddar on top of the meat;came out spicy, hearty & filling. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OrangeOctober February 03, 2008
Awesome Easy Tamale Pie