Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Easy Tamale Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Easy Tamale Pie

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2009

      I am a big fan of Mexican entree's. My husband actually complains about my love for them (I will always chose mexican). That is why it was so disappointing to have this for dinner. It was not only missing something it was dry cornbread with meat. It does not have the normal kick you would find in ethnic food. It was missing a lot and left you feeling like there was something not quite right with it. As other reviews have claimed they jazzed it up with many condiments and modifications, which makes it something else all together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

    • on December 09, 2008

      I made this last night & it was so d@mn tasty!!! *I substituted beef W/ ground turkey. *I added a package of taco seasoning to the meat mixuture. *I made refried beans W/ seasoned blk beans *I add creamed corn th the cornbread mix & meat mixture *I added a light layer of mixed cheese under the cornbread layer & served it W/ avocado & sour cream.. this was great & I will be making it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      Not real excited about this one. It needs something, I'm just not sure what.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      Great recipe. I used morning star crumbles instead of beef. Added chopped green chiles to the cornbread (didn't have any Jiffy cornbread mix. I did a google search and found a "clone Jiffy cornbread mix" recipe that was super easy), and I added olives. I added just a little bit of shredded cheddar/jack cheese before adding the cornbread layer. I put sour cream on the table for those who wanted. Really great! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      We really liked this recipe. The beans mixed in is such a great idea, the beans give the recipe a very smooth and creamy texture. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      I really liked this. I also put creamed corn into the Jiffy corn mix but it made it a little more soupy than usual. Next time I'll add a can of regular corn to the beef mixture. I also added a can of diced chiles and they were yummy! I used black bean & corn salsa from WalMart and used brown Success rice instead of refried beans. Also did a layer of cheddar cheese between beef and cornbread. Delish! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This was incredible!!! I didnt have a 9 x 9 pan so I used an 11 x 7 dish. I added some cumin with the garlic salt into the ground beef, and I also added some Colby/Jack shredded cheese before I topped it with the cornbread. Next time, LOL and there WILL be a next time, I think I will try to find a deeper pan and maybe double the cornbread topping. I also might try the corn add in also. The possibilities for this are exciting. CindinMike thanx so much for sharing an easy, quick satisfying meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      easy and so yummy! my kind of dish! i took the advice of some of the others and added creamed corn to the cornbread, and put it on both top and bottom. This is a keeper! thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Great recipe!! I doubled this & made it in a 13x9x2 pan; used canned diced tomatoes instead of salsa & a packet of Mccormick taco spice mix. Also added cheddar on top of the meat;came out spicy, hearty & filling. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Great dish!! Easy to make and very filling. My family loved it. Although the next time I think I'll use hot Salsa instead of Medium hot. And I did use Colby Jack cheese between the meat layers and added Chiles to the Cornbread mixture. I'm sure to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Very quick and easy dish to make! We did put Mexican blend shredded cheese between the meat mixture and corn bread layer. And made the corn bread after the meat was cooked as others said to do. Unfortunately, we didn't have onion so used onion powder . . .next time will definitely use real onion to give it more taste. Hubby gives it 3 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      Made this for Cinco de Mayo & it was a HUGE hit! I only had fat free milk, so used sour cream instead in the corn bread which made it richer & a little less sweet, and added a bunch of shredded cheese between the meat & the corn bread before baking. Can't wait to make it again & try some of the doctoring sugggestions! This is a definite keeper! Thanks CindiNMike!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      This is right up my husband's alley. I save time by using leftover taco beef/refried bean mixture from one of our taco nights. Extremely easy basic recipe. Great with the addition of corn or other extras as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      Very good and fast! Instead of refried, I used Ranch style beans and added sliced black olives. Next time, I'll throw in a little corn. I really enjoyed your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      Very hot using the medium salsa, if you have kids us the mild stuff, I sprinkled it with cheese after baking & let it melt on top, but it just peeled off during the serving process. Put the cheese on top of the meat mixture then top it with cormbread mixture, if you want to use it. This is an OK recipe but I would not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      Very tasty (please see how I rate recipes). I followed the recipe exactly but ended up sprinkling the top with some Monterey jack 5 minutes before taking the pie from the oven. This was so fast and easy to make that I decided to fancy it up by spreading the cornbread mixture on the bottom and sides and baking for 10 minutes before spooning the filling in and covering up with remaining bread mix. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      We don't care for refried beans so I substituted rice for them...easy, quick and good tasting...also added cheese...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      Delicious, easy to make. My DH loved it & said it deserves more than 5 stars. I made it just as stated using homemade salsa Wonderful Salsa, I make it medium hot. Next time i will try adding some creamed or canned corn. Anxious to have the left over for lunch. Thank you Cindi, I will be making this again & again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      Very good! I added jalapenos and it was fantastic imbedded in the cornbread. I think next time I will make the cornbread mixture last, as it seemed to get too thick as it sat around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Easy Tamale Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 448.2
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    37%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 85.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1309.2 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 23.8 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites