Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Collard Greens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Collard Greens

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 24, 2010

      I'm the kind of girl whose greens experience was just spinach, but now that I'm living in the Deep South other types of greens like collard, turnip and mustard are very common. Love the "hammy/bacony" recipes, but love this veggie option to help me get my dark greens w/o the fat. Can use salsa, canned tomatoes (regular or italian style) or Rotels for a hotter variation. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Awesome for sure! I used the tomato instead of salsa. Very very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

    • on July 04, 2014

      This recipe is wonderful! I use any greens I can get my hands on: Collards, kale, and the large leaves off of several vegetables! I don't use nearly the salt the recipe calls for and I use a hot corn and black bean salsa. Since I'm getting my CSA, I'm making a large pot and going to freeze portions (greens freeze very well after cooked!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      Oh wow this recipe is sooo good. My husband was skeptical when I said we were having collard greens for dinner but after one taste he asked if we had more. I did use less vinegar and added some sugar. Delish!!! A repeat for sure..like tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      We loved this recipe! Following the suggestions of other reviewers, I made a few modifications: I used only 1/3 c of cider vinegar, added 1/2 tbsp of brown sugar, and reduced the salt to 1/2 tbsp. I used tomato (not salsa), and to add heat, I added 1/2 tsp chili flakes. Instead of cooking all the ingredients at once, I saut?ed the onion, garlic, chili flakes, sugar first in a bit of oil, then added the rest. I served this with pork chops, baked beans, and a slice of bread to soak up the tasty sauce - thanks for sharing a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      Found a beautiful bunch of collard greens at the farmers market today and went looking for a non-pork/bacon version and came across this. I usually cook swiss chard but the collards looked much nicer and were far less expensive. My recipe was doubled due to the size of the bunch and worked well.

      These were tasty and I liked the vinegar bite but did, as some other reviewers suggested, added some sugar. I also cut the salt. Would defintely make again.

      Here are the changes I made for a 2# bunch of collards or double the stated recipe above:

      - Went heavy on the garlic (12 cloves)
      - Used a large can of san marzano tomatoes, broke them down with my hands and used some of the juice from the can
      - Used 1/2 the amount of salt. I think it needs the salt but that is a persoanl preference. Using the full amount would have been a little on the salty side but not too much. Can always salt on the dish.
      - Used 1 tbsp of sugar (for a double recipe) and it did cut the cider vinegar to an very enjoyable taste
      - Added the hot sauce for serving...kicked it up a notch.

      Now to find the army to feed!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2012

      Not sure what went wrong (I followed the recipe exactly) but both my wife and I thought this was disgusting. Much too acidic for either of us to palate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      Love such a low fat & cal collard green recipe!! Will make again and cut back on the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      This is my go-to collard green recipe. While I do enjoy meat-laden versions, this one is perfect in simplicity and taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      Great recipe for days like today where I can get beautiful collard greens from my farmers market up the street but don't want to sacrifice the calorie count to a bacon-based recipe! Nice flavor, and unlike others before me, I did not find it to be too acidic; this may be due in part to the fact that I had slightly less than a half pound of greens so I eye-balled scant halves of the ingredients. What ever the case, the results were delicious... getting ready to eat the rest of them (so much for leftovers!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

    • on August 08, 2009

      These were really good the first time I ate them, but now I have a ton of leftovers and they still taste good, I'm just tired of eating them. I think I prefer my collards with less vinegar and more meat - you know, the fattening way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      This is a very, very good recipe. I've made it twice with fresh collards from the garden (a fairly easy garden vegetable to grow in Alaska). I've served it with grilled chicken with smoked paprika, and a side dish of diced potatoes with chopped red pepper, corn, and lots of tarragon. It's been a delightfully attractive dinner. Thank you for the great recipe. We love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Delicious!! I omitted the vinegar and salt and used vegetarian boulion instead. Even my husband and my 5 year old ate it:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Sorry but we didn't like this recipe. Although we often eat Kale and other greens, this was the first time trying collards. It tasted too bitter and too much like vinegar. Perhaps we just don't like collard greens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Great vegetarian version.I used fresh tomato and DH said these were "the best" he'd ever had. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      FANTASTIC RECIPE!! I grew up in the South, so it's been hard for me to find a good collards recipe that doesn't involve ham hocks or bacon. This one is great! Although this recipe isn't traditional, it will definitely become a new staple for my husband and me. As a child, I hated collards, but my grandfather taught me to add a little sugar. Even though I don't usually use sugar anymore, I'd recommend adding a little sugar to this recipe for users who may find this recipe a bit acidic. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      Sorry to buck the tide, but my family did not love this. I am usually a fan of collards, esp when done in a more japanese style (tamari, rice vinegar, garlic). This was way too acidic for my taste. Maybe it would have been better if I'd used fresh tomato instead of salsa, or a white vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      Great recipe! I've made it twice now, and it was a hit each time. The only thing I would add would be a couple dashes of something sweet like maple syrup, to balance out the vinegar. Also, I'd suggest sauteeing the onion and greens first a bit before throwing in the rest of the ingredients to cut down on the simmering time. Mine was definitely done in 30 minutes. So good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Collard Greens

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 38.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    71%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1308.0 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites