163 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely loved this recipe. It reminded me of when I was a little girl and went blueberry picking with my Memer. We would come back and make pies and the most wonderful blueberry muffins. I used large fresh blueberries. It was soooo good. One suggestion: Sprinkle flour on the blueberries and shake it up. Then shake off excess flour and put it in the batter. This prevents the blueberries from going to the bottom of the muffin when it cooks. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was great!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosetreky2 November 14, 2010

My daughter and I LOVED these muffins. They are crunchy and wholesome and perfect for the day of our 2013 Blizzard! The batter was a bit thick do I added a little extra milk. I also added about 1 tsp of cinnamon to the dry ingredients in the batter. I only had frozen blueberries on hand, so defrosted and drained them first and they worked perfectly.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tortoiseshell February 10, 2013

These were OK for us. I followed the recipe as written other then I doubled the recipe except only made the original amount of topping. I have never put a topping on my muffins so I'm not sure if I did something wrong but like another reviewer, my toppings melted into my muffins. The topping for us was really sweet too. My muffins tasted good out of the oven but really dried out once they sat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol February 10, 2012

I love these! The topping completes them so they give what I always look for in my muffins--lots of flavor with some crunchiness.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em November 11, 2013

Everyone at my house loved this! I did sub splenda for the sugar in the mix and baked in a 9 inch spring form pan due to laziness. The result was what I would call a yummy, moist coffee cake. I used the entire amount of topping which made a nice crisp crust, might be even better with brown sugar instead of white.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieliz July 26, 2013

This is one of those breakfasts that might as well be dessert! For that reason, it's not something I'd make on a regular basis. I just made them as a treat for Christmas morning (this morning!), which seems about perfect.

The muffin itself isn't very sweet, but the topping really is. It makes a LOT of topping. I could have halved that part of the recipe and still had more topping than would fit on the muffins!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizzistardust December 25, 2012

I can't believe this recipe gets such wonderful reviews. First it is overly sweet and secondly they dry out in a short time. Guess they would be fine if eaten same day as made. Sorry.........

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 August 20, 2012

Great recipe- light and fluffy and delish! although i did add a splash of vanilla to my triple batch. I'm not sure why, but my crumble topping didn't stay crumbly and just melted. probably just me because it worked for others. Still amazing muffins and i will definitely make again! I replaced some of the oil with applesauce and it worked well, for those of you how are big on healthy substitutions. oh - and for cinnamon fiends, i worked it into the crumble topping instead of the batter. that got good reviews. thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TooManyRoommates August 10, 2011

I thought these were wonderful but my children and husband thought the blueberries made the muffins tart and the batter would use more sugar. I used the full topping but agree that less would be better. Mine made 4 Jumbo size muffings. I used just 1 tsp cinnamon and thought it the perfect amount.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Jules July 03, 2010

Great recipe. Next time I might use a little less of the dry ingredients for the crumble, as I ended up with too much. I have it in the freezer now for next time I make muffins, though, so it's all good! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bauline Baker February 17, 2015
Awesome Blueberry Muffins