Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Baked Ham Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Baked Ham

    Average Rating:

    299 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 299

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2010

      OMG!!! Until I tried this recipe, I wasn't wild about baked ham. Besides pizza, it would probably be one of the last things I'd really ever have a craving for. However, hams were on sale, and I remember my mom used to bake a ham, then use the remaining bone to put in a pot of red beans, which being from Louisiana, red beans and rice is a traditional weekly meal, and one of my favorites. I had a 9 lb. half ham, so I adjusted the recipe accordingly. The only addition I made was to put some ground cloves into the brown sugar/mustard paste, then right before it was done, I opened the foil, decorated it with pineapple and cherries, and returned it to the oven, uncovered, and under the broiler for about 5 minutes more, to try to caramelize it a little. Boopster, I will NEVER bake a ham any other way from now on! Because of your recipe, I love baked ham!! It was so moist and juicy, and just deeeeeeeeeelicious! Thank you very much for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2003

      Rather than the dried out smoked to death ham we usually have I decided to make this recipe. It was wonderful. The coating was not a paste....more like a sauce. I was afraid it would not be on the ham long enough to flavor it. The cooking time seemed a little long for the small, bone in ham I had so I cooked 3 hours and let it rest 1 hour. Super ham, super sauce, super sandwiches from left overs. Very moist and good, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2002

      Wonderful! And so easy to make. I never thought of wrapping ham in foil. Clean-up was a breeze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Another Easter has passed and here is another 5-star rating for this ham recipe! This ham is truly the best I have ever tasted -- very moist and flavorful. (One of our guests even said it was so juicy that it squirted a bit when she cut into it!) I used an 8 lb. Kunzler ham, halved the brown sugar/paste recipe and cooked it all for 2 hours. Then let it set for 20 minutes before carving. Delish!!! My family has been preparing ham for decades, but none ever tasted like this! TIP: It WILL leak no matter how tightly you wrap it because the "paste" expands when heated, so be sure to line your pan with an extra piece of tin foil for easy cleanup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Used this recipe to make a 6 lb boneless ham. Baked for 2 hours and rested for 1 hour - it came out fantastic, not salty at all and just the right amount of sweet. Thanks for sharing the recipe, I just love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I made this for the second time (can't believe I didn't review this last year!) for Christmas dinner and it was so amazing! Last year I used a whole ham and got rave reviews. This year I used a 12 lb half ham and my "foody" nephew told me it the best thing he'd ever eaten! So easy to make and the results make you look like "super chef". I cooked for about 3 hours and let it rest for another hour or so without uncovering. I can tell you now that this will be the only way I'll be making ham from now on! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      This was really a great ham, and I'm one of those who doesn't really care for ham very much! I used a shank-half ham, and soaked it for a couple of hours to get rid of some of the salt before coating with the mustard-sugar glaze. Since my ham was only 9 pounds, I made 1/2 the amount of glaze, and baked for 2 hours. The whole family raved- definitely the way to do ham for the family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      I'm not much of a cook. I've also never made a ham and I was very nervous as I was entertaining 20 of my soon-to-be inlaws for Christmas. We used a 16.77 lb semi-boneless ham and had plenty of the "glaze" to spread over the whole thing. We baked at 350 for 4 hours 20 minutes. It was juicy and delicious! Everyone commented how moist it was, I attribute that to the foil baking method. Thanks to the foil, clean-up was super easy. I highly recommend the recipe and the method of cooking!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      This is the way my mother and now I, always fix (half) hams. I don't use as much sugar or mustard for the sauce, and I add just a little pineapple juice to it.
      I also stick whole cloves into the ham, then use a few more to "tack" the pineapple all over.
      If you don't have whole cloves add a pinch of ground cloves to your sugar mixture...
      Soooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      I'm about 2 months late with this review. I want to add my raves to the other 197 people who posted. It could not have been any easier or any more tasty!! Two people and 1 ham can be eternity but leftovers were a pleasure too. As an added bonus I saved the pan drippings (caught in foil) and added that to my usual Ham and Bean soup recipe. Now I don't want to make the bean soup unless I have these dripping to add. Awesome recipe indeed! '

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      As Tweeky says, I will probably never make ham any other way again! The ham was moist, tender and tasty. DH raved about it and is already planning our next ham dinner. I used a 9 lb ham, so I reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 lb and mustard to 1/4 cup. I cooked for 12 minutes per pound of ham, as noted in the cooking directions on the package of ham. I let it sit for an hour after cooking. The only thing I added to your recipe is pineapple slices, as shown in the photo added by Melvin'sWifey. Thanks for a truly awesome recipe, Boopster!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      What a great method of baking ham!! I used a cheap bone in ham from Aldi's and only wrapped it in foil, did not use the glaze. The ham was delicious and moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      I'm going to risk sounding like an idiot. I bought a pre-cooked ham (without a bone) prior to finding this recipe. Looking at the cooking time I didn't think my ham would really work so I took it back. The grocery store didn't sell "raw" hams which is what I thought I was looking for. (I don't cook a lot of ham.) The butcher suggested a pre-cooked spiral sliced bone-in ham. It did have a longer cooking time on its directions although it was only about 2 hours (it was half a ham...not 15 pounds). I cooked it for 2-3 hours at 325 (ham directions said 300 and this recipe said 350 so I compromised). It was still cold in the middle. I bumped it back up to 350 for about another hour and that was better. The end result was fabulous. So, for anyone who really hasn't dealt much with hams... I'm guessing the pre-cooked, no bone ham would have been fine with a shorter cooking time. The spiral sliced bone-in ham was fantastic as I spread each slice with the sauce before going in the oven. Anyway, I will do this recipe again. The ham/sauce is wonderful. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      This is the only way to bake ham. The only thing different I do, I boil the ham for an hour to remove some of the salt. Then I cook as directed. My family loves this ham!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      i just made this for christmas dinner, and it was a hit! i halved the recipe and added a dash or two of ground cloves. i only ended up using about 2/3rds of the glaze, and saved the rest to use as a sauce after i added about a 1/2 tbs of extra mustard (i used a combination of plain yellow and spicy brown) and about a 1/2 tbs of freshly squeezed orange juice. i reheated in the microwave just before serving, and that nearly outshined the ham, itself! mine, personally DID come about a tidge dry, but that was my fault on account of i l lost track of time. i aimed for two hours, but i believe it ended up baking for around two and a half. i will definitely try this again, only next time i'll be sure to use all of the glaze and make extra for serving. thank you so much for such an easy holiday dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      I know without making this it is awesome, as I use this coating on my cornbeef. I never thought of using it on ham, Thanks, Boopster for the great idea, will use it next time we have baked ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      EXCELLENT! Picked this recipe last-minute today for Easter (noon - defrosted ham on the counter, me saying hmmm, guess I need a plan). Made it with a bone-in, organic, 1/4 ham. We've often had trouble with these natural hams coming out dry but this one was lovely. I'll definitely do it this way again. And yes, the pan was a mess. Well worth it, though. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Don't know if it's the RECIPE, the GREEN EGG on which it was cooked or the BRAND of BONE-IN Ham I used but people LOVE this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      How can something with so few ingredients taste so darn good? I don't have the answer, but I know this is really delicious ham!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Awesome!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Baked Ham

    Serving Size: 1 (295 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1018.6
     
    Calories from Fat 541
    53%
    Total Fat 60.1 g
    92%
    Saturated Fat 22.0 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 319.6 mg
    106%
    Sodium 281.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 22.0 g
    88%
    Protein 91.5 g
    183%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites