160 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this as written, only subbing chopped green onions for the onion, and leaving out the lettuce. I took this to a party, and it was devoured... after one bite, it becomes addictive! 5 stars all the way, Manda!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. July 11, 2010

Excellent and a party favorite. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 June 23, 2010

Took this to a graduation party, everyone loved it! I doubled the recipe so I could keep some for me : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crimper June 20, 2010

Because this had so many great reviews I had to try it and I wasn't disappointed! Like so many others have stated, I served it with a variety of crackers and crudités. When I make it again I'm going to add a little more mayo and sour cream to loosen it up a wee bit. I used real thick cut bacon and a combination of red, yellow and orange peppers. Also made it the day before the party so the flavors would meld. This will be a staple in my appetizers presentations.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cucina Casalingo June 15, 2010

This was pretty good, I made it exactly as stated and had a great response at my party. Of course I was asked for the recipe. This was much better after letting it sit for a couple of hours. We ate it on Ritz. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LogicallyLocked June 12, 2010

Was looking for something different and this was it, thank you! Followed directions, eyeballing measurements. Used a 4 oz can of diced green chilis, "real bacon bits" and dried chopped onion since that was all I had on hand. Also left out the lettuce and served with wheat thins and was great BUT was even better served with celery to give back that lettuce crunch and flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali~jenn June 02, 2010

I was really impressed with this dip! I omitted the lettuce, because I made it the day before to let the flavors blend, and it was awesome! I contemplated mixing the tomato in the next day, but decided to combine everything the night before and I was glad I did. Since the tomatoes were seeded, it didn't change the consistancy, but it really improved the flavor. This dip was a little bit salty, and I'm not sure what I could have differently to reduce that, other than to try low-sodium bacon next time. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CFreilinger August 14, 2007

OMG!! This was was soo good! I'm always asked to make this for parties. The only things I do differ, is I use green onions and I've never used the green pepper. I find green pepper to dominating for my taste. This is a sure hit for all! Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandi Ranta January 26, 2007

Awesome dip... I put it to the test and let my poker buddies try it on the first attempt!!! It was great, went well with our beer. I will revise this recipe with seafood and spice along with the bacon and let you know how it was!!!!!!! Perfect!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rennug October 28, 2003

I made this dip as my "treat" after dieting for several days. I only can 1/2 cup of it and was soooo wanting more. I mixed the 1/2 cup dip with 1/2 cup lettuce to make it go further, lol. Good dip. I hadit with fat reduced Ritz. I will be making it for parties.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff August 31, 2003
Awesome Bacon-Tomato Dip