Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Bacon-Tomato Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Bacon-Tomato Dip

    Average Rating:

    159 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 159

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2010

      I made this as written, only subbing chopped green onions for the onion, and leaving out the lettuce. I took this to a party, and it was devoured... after one bite, it becomes addictive! 5 stars all the way, Manda!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Excellent and a party favorite. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Took this to a graduation party, everyone loved it! I doubled the recipe so I could keep some for me : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Because this had so many great reviews I had to try it and I wasn't disappointed! Like so many others have stated, I served it with a variety of crackers and crudités. When I make it again I'm going to add a little more mayo and sour cream to loosen it up a wee bit. I used real thick cut bacon and a combination of red, yellow and orange peppers. Also made it the day before the party so the flavors would meld. This will be a staple in my appetizers presentations.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      This was pretty good, I made it exactly as stated and had a great response at my party. Of course I was asked for the recipe. This was much better after letting it sit for a couple of hours. We ate it on Ritz. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Was looking for something different and this was it, thank you! Followed directions, eyeballing measurements. Used a 4 oz can of diced green chilis, "real bacon bits" and dried chopped onion since that was all I had on hand. Also left out the lettuce and served with wheat thins and was great BUT was even better served with celery to give back that lettuce crunch and flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      I was really impressed with this dip! I omitted the lettuce, because I made it the day before to let the flavors blend, and it was awesome! I contemplated mixing the tomato in the next day, but decided to combine everything the night before and I was glad I did. Since the tomatoes were seeded, it didn't change the consistancy, but it really improved the flavor. This dip was a little bit salty, and I'm not sure what I could have differently to reduce that, other than to try low-sodium bacon next time. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      OMG!! This was was soo good! I'm always asked to make this for parties. The only things I do differ, is I use green onions and I've never used the green pepper. I find green pepper to dominating for my taste. This is a sure hit for all! Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      Awesome dip... I put it to the test and let my poker buddies try it on the first attempt!!! It was great, went well with our beer. I will revise this recipe with seafood and spice along with the bacon and let you know how it was!!!!!!! Perfect!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      I made this dip as my "treat" after dieting for several days. I only can 1/2 cup of it and was soooo wanting more. I mixed the 1/2 cup dip with 1/2 cup lettuce to make it go further, lol. Good dip. I hadit with fat reduced Ritz. I will be making it for parties.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      The taste is awesome & I will definitely make it again. However, I found the mixture so thick that the crackers/scoops kept breaking - next time, I'll double the sour cream. Thanx Manda!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      Excellent dip! I served this with celery and garlic crustini for a light lunch, and we are looking forward to the leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      I made this for our New Years Eve Party and it was crowd pleaser. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      I made this for a party this weekend and it was a huge success! Tons of people asked me for the recipe. Because the dip seems like a heart attack in a bowl, I used low-fat sour cream and low fat cheddar cheese. I also used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder and I used scallions instead of onions and green peppers.I also didn't bother with the lettuce. It's really a great dip.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      I definitely have to agree with everyone else.... terrific dip and extremely easy! This one just found a new home in my recipe cards. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      I made this as one of my dips to serve during the superbowl. I halved the recipe as I was make a few other dips as well. Big mistake- this was the first one to go! I did not use onion as a few of my picky eaters will not eat it but I did add a little onion powder and it was perfect. My DD was very disappointed as she left for a few hours and upon returning it was gone. Will be make this often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      I only made 1 c. of this dip but loved it. Great with Flipsides. Still have leftovers after using it as an appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      This was good. I added a decent amount of pepper and extra salt. I still felt like it was missing something..... maybe fresh garlic? I'm not sure, but it was a great base to work with, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      Used a orange pepper for color and green onion as onion was too strong. Did not add lettuce. Everyone at the 2 parties I went to liked it but there was still a lot left over. DH didn't care for the overall texture, he likes dips that are more blended but I didn't count him in when writing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      Made this to take as an appetizer on Thanksgiving . . . served with pita chips and veggie sticks. Delicious! My daughter and I had the leftovers for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Bacon-Tomato Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (1236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1219.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1041
    85%
    Total Fat 115.6 g
    177%
    Saturated Fat 44.7 g
    223%
    Cholesterol 214.2 mg
    71%
    Sodium 1842.0 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 27.2 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites