160 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wish I could give this more than 5 stars. This was so wonderful. And I had atleast 8 people ask me for the recipe, my stepmother took two bites and got up and grabbed paper and pen so i could jot it down. The only thing i changed was instead of using an onion, and a green pepper, i had some green onion that i chopped up instead. This had really great flavors, I served it with Fritos Scoops, and Wheat Thins. A keeper for sure.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty June 17, 2002

You've got a real crowd pleaser here!! Instead of 1 large tomato, I used 1 medium red and 1 medium orange tomato, which made it very colorful! I am not sure why, but I opted not to use the lettuce. We really liked this and will be making it again! Thanks for the great recipe! :)

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae September 09, 2002

Awesome is the right word for this dip. It was sooo good. Everyone loved it and I didn't even have any green peppers to put in it. We ate it on crackers and on tortilla chips. I thought that is was best on the chips. Since it wasn't all eaten the first day, I heated it the second day so that the cheese would melt. That was really good too. Made this for Thanksgiving and not only got requests for the recipe, but have been asked to make it for the family Christmas too. Thanks sooo much for posting!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl November 29, 2002

Excellent recipe. I served the lettuce on the side so the leftovers would keep better; however, there wasn't any left! Absolutely delicious dip. Served it with celery and carrot sticks, pumpernickel bread chunks, and assorted crackers. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tabby September 23, 2002

I skipped the onions and peppers because I was entertaining guests who have heartburn problems. Used garlic powder and onion powder. Everyone loved it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MadCatKim December 09, 2002

Excellent! I served this yesterday at my annual Christmas party, and it disappeared. Even my health and weight conscious friend loved it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny233 December 09, 2002

I didn't want to freak out the health nuts I had coming for dinner and left out the bacon, it was still an amazing dip! Finished it for breakfast the next day.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjie501 September 10, 2002

This is an excellent dip. I don't blame your uncle for eating it with a spoon. I chose to eat it on toast squares. I omitted the green pepper, because of a picky family member, and I omitted the lettuce because I forgot about it. It's too bad, that would have completed my BLT.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misfit December 27, 2002

YUM! Dipped carrots, broccoli, green peppers, and cauliflower plus crackers in this one. It tastes great. Mixed everything except for tomatoes day before and it turned out great, added tomatoes right before serving and forgot to buy lettuce so that was omitted. Great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu January 27, 2003

I made this for our New Year's Day celebration and there was none left. Served it with three types of crackers from Hickory Farm and when they were gone people were putting this dip on nachos. LOL. Makes enough for a large group. I made it the night before so flavors could mix and did't use the lettuce at all. Placed it in hollowed out peppers. Thanks for a quick recipe with a lot of flavor.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M January 02, 2003
Awesome Bacon-Tomato Dip