Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Asian Slaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Asian Slaw

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2010

      YUM! This slaw rocks!!! Made it today to go with fish tacos and it was outstanding. Subbed a tablespoon of sesame oil for one tbsp of vegetable oil to give it a bit more kick. Loved the peanutty dressing, which I think would also taste great on cold noodles. This is a keeper and you are right...perfect for summer barbeques. It makes a lot, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This was excellent! I made the full amount of the dressing, but I ended up only using about half of it because we like our slaw a little drier. Saved the rest for other salads and a stir-fry later in the week. I also used tahini in the dressing, but I forgot to cut back on the oil, so it was slightly greasy but not too bad. I also subbed 1 tbsp. sesame oil and 2 tbsp. chili oil for half of the vegetable oil called for. The chili oil gave it a slight zing without taking away from the nutty flavour. My husband ate 2 large helpings himself, which is unheard of with other traditional slaws! Thanks for the great recipe! I'll be using it often through the summer. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      Amazing recipe. My husband said that this was the most amazing thing I have ever made. He wants me to make the sauce for dipping at least once a week. Warning....this is a lot of slaw.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Definitely the best "asian slaw" recipe I've tried so far! I took Merron's tip and used tahini in place of the peanut butter and omitted the oil. I also used only 1.5 tbsp of a very dark soy sauce. To serve, I used this as the topping for a rice bowl (with brown rice). Next time I'll make some grilled tofu slices to accompany it, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      This really was awesome! Loved it. I added about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes because we like spicy. I used tamari soy sauce because it has a richer taste, and used crunchy peanut butter because we like the crunch of the peanuts for added texture. This was excellent! Very balanced flavors.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      This is very yummy. An easy alternative, I used a bag of brocolli slaw instead of chopping all those veggies! Still used fresh cilantro and added 2 chopped apples which really makes this AWESOME!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      I hate measuring but I follow the dressing recipe to a T every time! It's perfect. A hit every time i make it. Sometimes I cut my own veg, sometimes i just toss a bag in. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

    • on October 25, 2012

      Yum! I halved the dressing recipe and had enough for half a head of green cabbage (all I had in the house) plus a small lunch sized container of dressing left over. I also was devastated to realize I only had teriyaki and a tiny bit of soy sauce. I substituted the teriyaki for the soy I didn't have and it was fine. I also used canola oil instead of sesame since that was what I had. Again, it was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2012

      Delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      Can't believe I haven't reviewed this since I have already made it three times! We have replaced our usual mayo based cole slaw with this one. Everyone who tries it raves. Only change I make is to add some sesame seeds to it for crunch. Excellent! Realized I forgot to add the stars-5 all the way!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Super delicious! Even the pickiest eater ever (my 4yr old) is wanting more. We used only green cabbage and 1/2 the amount of green onion. (I don't usually care for green onion) My husband keeps taking it back out of the fridge for "one more bite." Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Oh, this IS yummy! I ended up making some substitutions, and it held up to my carefree ways splendidly! Laziness prompted substitutions of bagged slaw and ground ginger, and a food allergy prompted the use of sunflower butter instead of peanut in the sauce. It was delicious last night at a get together, and the leftovers are still yummy (albeit a bit runny) today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Quick, easy, and delicious! I followed another member's suggestion and used tahini instead of peanut butter. Great side for any asian dish, use any combo of veggies (I like to add a peeled, seeded, sliced cucumber and some bean sprouts). The cilantro is a must! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      This was a nice recipe. I served it with orange segments and honey roasted peanuts on top of butter lettus. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      This was so awesome. I served it with fish which was so good because the fish was light and this was more rich. It complimented it nicely and got RAVE reviews. Next time I might add some actual peanuts to the sauce for a bit of crunch. -- For the slaw I used bagged coleslaw and bagged broccoli slaw and then added some red pepper and green onion. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      We had this with the Asian Grilled Pork Chops (#137142) this weekend and it was amazing. I agree with AlwaysHungry that it is a lot of chopping, but worth it. Thanks, Normaone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Awesome recipes! It takes some time to chop all the veggies, but it's worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Great recipe! Served with noodles seasoned with sesame oil and some chicken breast. We'll see how the leftovers fare for lunch tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      My son summed this into one word (sorta) Bomb-dig-ity!!!!!!! The dressing made ordinary veggies turn into something wonderful and unique. Great recipe...thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Asian Slaw

    Serving Size: 1 (170 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.7
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    64%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 451.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes