Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Apple Crisp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Apple Crisp

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2007

      This is my favorite apple crisp recipe, but I had to modify it some. The thought of 1 whole cup of sugar for the fruit filling seemed very excessive. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup splenda and none were the wiser! I used 1/4 cup of water too, it kept it a nice gooey consistency with the thickening agent of the flour. I know that red delicious apples aren't recommended for baking, but I used 8 large apples (1/2 peeled, 1/2 unpeeled) and everyone just raved about it! People at the potluck choose this over carrot cake and pumpkin cake! The lemon juice is also a must. I recommend tossing the flour, cinnamon, lemon juice and 1/4 cup water in the apples and then aligning them down in the 9x13 baking dish. It worked out really well. The crumble topping was to die for, like an oatmeal cookie! Thank you for this recipe, it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Very good! Perfect in the oven, but this summer when I was craving apple crisp but didn't want to heat up the oven, I even made it in a Dutch oven on the grill. Best when the water is omitted, otherwise it's too soupy for my tastes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      This was terrific! I think next time I'll make a little more topping because it didn't completely cover the fruit with the thickness I prefer, but otherwise it was simple to make and delicious. Topping was chewy, and fruit was gooey, al dente and not too sweet. I added a package of fresh cranberries for the holiday season. It was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      Fantastic! I did not add the water though. I always cook with Macintosh apples and they are very juicy and tender. Adding water would have turned this too mushy . Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I found this recipe at allrecipes.com and I have been using it ever since. I like to halve the apple filling and keep the amount of topping the same. Thanks for writing it out here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      This recipe was "awesome"!!!! I was afarid this recipe wouldn't be sweet enough as I used my apples from the tree in my backyard and they are very sour. But this recipe with the amount of sugar was fantastic! Not at all sour!!! Alittle tip for cutting apples is when you are cuting a large amount of apples, put the ones you have already sliced in cold water that way they won't turn brown. Then drain them when you are ready to use them!!! Since I did this step, I only used 1/3 cup water because there was probaly alot of water in the apples already! Thank you so much for this great recipe Rhonda J!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Nothing better than fresh from the oven Apple Crisp with a big spoonful of French Vanilla ice cream. A winner all the way here with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      Excellent recipe. I found it extremely easy, and I found that eliminating the water made it turn out less "soupy." I put the apples in a bowl of water with a squirt of lime juice and they did not turn brown... not that you'd notice anyway once they're baked. An excellent recipe, and pretty much fool-proof.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      This is fantastic. I am the sister who invited Rhonda J to dinner. Ofcourse I knew it would be good....there's nothing we make that isn't. hee hee! :o) Nee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      This was soo easy and sooo good. My 2 Sons loved helping and munching on the apples after they were mixed with cinnomon and sugar. I had everything on hand and would make a good thing for company.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      I made this for Pick a Chef Fall 2005 and I am glad that I did. This is one of the best apple crisp recipes that I have made and it was a real hit with my parents who were over for dinner. I used 8 granny smith apples and it was delicious. Thanks for sharing :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      YUMMY!!!! WOW even! This is great! I used 1/3 cup more sugar in the fruit filling because I used cranberries too, and I was glad that I did, the filling was awesome! The topping when made according to the directions was very wet and not crumbly at all, I had to add about 1/2 cup more of oats and flour. It was still very awesome! This is a awesome dish, very tasty to say the least. This has become my new "take in" dish. Thank you for posting this recipe, it's a true treasure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      My search for the best apple crisp ends here. The topping was perfect. I think the sweetness of the apples should determine how much sugar to use. I used about a third cup with mine and it was just right. Same for the water. I used a quarter cup of water and liked the thick , syrupy filling it made. Awesome warm with vanilla ice cream. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

    • on December 06, 2011

      Made this instead of the traditional apple pie for Thanksgiving. The family raved. Easy and delicious. I will be making it again for Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Awesome! I also used less sugar and omitted the water... and since I was out of cinnamon, I used a little nutmeg instead (I bet it would be even better with cinnamon!). This was a huge hit for our thanksgiving desert. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Great dessert to take to Thanksgiving. I used Macintosh apples and omitted the water (I'm glad I did, because it would have been very soupy with water added). Delicious and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      I used 5 apples, different varieties, halved the remaining filling ingredients, and baked in a pie plate (only 3 of us), using the whole recipe for the topping. I baked it Thanksgiving morning, then heated it up in individual bowls after dinner. Very, very good! I will probably add a little nutmeg and maybe some cloves next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      Great recipe! Used Granny Smith apples and didn't add water. I made this for my six grand children ages 4 - 14. As soon as they walked into the house, they started asked what that good smell was. I knew it was going to be another success. And, it was. This is one more recipe I will add to my cookbook. My four year old grand daughter helped me and was glad to tell the other kids she and grampa made apple chips. That's what she calls it. We used a mandolin to thinly slice the apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      Very yummy! I just finished the rest of the leftovers that I had in the fridge. I gave four stars only because it was a little too sweet and next time I will cut down on the sugar. Otherwise, a great way to use leftover apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Apple Crisp

    Serving Size: 1 (2151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3871.2
     
    Calories from Fat 907
    23%
    Total Fat 100.8 g
    155%
    Saturated Fat 59.7 g
    298%
    Cholesterol 244.0 mg
    81%
    Sodium 1303.2 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 747.0 g
    249%
    Dietary Fiber 43.1 g
    172%
    Sugars 544.2 g
    2176%
    Protein 28.9 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites