48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I poured the batter into 5 mini loaf pans. 2 without nuts and 3 with walnuts. My family loved the ones without the nuts. My 17 year old son loved it, as well as my husband. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbrock4 November 07, 2009

This was wonderful! I made it once as listed (no nuts) and once with half applesauce and half oil. Both times it came out great! Gone before it cools in this house. Neighbors keep asking me to make more. This will definitely be a Christmas gift this year.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2MMCJ October 30, 2009

Will make this again!! Like Bob, I also added rasins. I also thought of maybe adding a mashed banana to it next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggie_brayton September 01, 2009

This bread is Awesome. The whole family loves it and it is very moist and delicious. It has replaced the usual banana bread that I always make. I added 1/2 teaspoon apple pie spice and I have never added nuts to this bread. It is delicious. I also baked the bread at 325 degrees for 60 to 70 minutes. It does freeze very well, I just got a loaf out of the freezer from August, over 4 months ago, and it was just as good as being freshly baked. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Leigh January 08, 2009

Marg- AWESOME, DELECTABLE, as DS said, "best bread I have made in forever!" So if I could give you 10+ stars I would. The house smells wonderful and homey and the taste just quietly explodes in your mouth as you taste all the flavors and the textures. I cut the sugar to 1 1/3 cups for dietary reasons and it came out fabulous. All else was followed as you wrote. I cooked for 95 minutes at 325, (time probably increased due to the -25 degrees outside) The tops were crunchy and the inside was moist and delicious. I can go on and on. Everyone should try this. It is a keeper and will be a regular from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie February 05, 2007

I made this bread today. It was great, I decrease sugar to 1 2/3 cups, and still taste sweet. And add 3 handful of raisins... The only thing that I don't like is every bread/cake that I made with baking soda, it will left bitter taste in my tongue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mimio 13 May 18, 2014

We really loved this bread, both flavor and texture. I wasn't sure if the apples should be peeled so I peeled them. I'm looking forward to making this recipe again, baking in mini bread pans and freezing them to have on hand for a breakfast treat or dessert. Thanks posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview February 10, 2014

Absolutely wonderful flavor and texture. I added a dash or two of nutmeg and baked it at the suggested alternative of 325 for 70 min. Came out perfectly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Owls Head 8 September 30, 2012

Loved this recipe...it was moist and very tasty...added a drizzle rather than the sugar on top...will definitely make this again...thanks for submitting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP August 11, 2011
Awesome Apple Bread