Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome (And Economical) Chai Concentrate Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome (And Economical) Chai Concentrate

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      This is supposed to be refrigerated for 24 hours before using, but you know how it is when you're the Chef...I just couldn't let any of that delectible stuff go to waste. I made up a fresh hot cup of strong black tea and used it to 'rinse' the blender--figured there had to be somewhere between 1/2-2 teaspoons left in there. It was superb and I know it's just going to get better! Rather than use a can of boughten sweetened condensed milk, I mixed up a batch from an excellent copycat recipe I have, then added the rest of this recipe to it. I will definitely be keeping this on hand!!! Thank you for sharing! :-))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      Oh wow! I love chai, but can't always drink it since it's inherently dairy, and I try to avoid dairy, at least on weekdays. This stuff was amazing. I make my own copycat sweetened condensed milk with soymilk powder, and there I had it, non-dairy chai. I'm also not to thrilled with the taste of cloves, so I left those out and added vanilla extract. I made my first cup with some green tea, and I was in heaven. It's been about 4 days now, and I keep experimenting with the different teas that I have. My favorite so far is with an almond tea. Sarah, I'm starting to get addicted to your recipes, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2002

      Thank you, thank you, thank you!! This recipe is soooo easy and very good...I haven't found one that had just the "right" taste..either too strong or you could taste one of the spices more than the others. This one is perfect!! I made this one with the exact ingredients called for, but I am also going to make the next batch with the homemade condensed milk from the Copycat site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2002

      Great stuff! I added a dash of pepper (fresh ground black/white/green mix) and a touch of vanilla. Taste great in tea, coffee and hot cocoa. I put it in one of those shaker cups with the slotted disk in the top (a hidden valley ranch shaker if you must know!)Its not gonna last long enough to freeze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I made this today except instead of the condensed milk, I decided to make my own, so then I thought why can't I make it without using the water and make it a totally dry mix? So that's what I did, substituted 1 cup milk powder and 2/3 c sugar for the sweetened condensed milk. Now I have a dry mix that will keep so I can have a nice cup at work anytime and I don't need to keep anything refridgerated. I put the mix in the blender to make it super fine so that it will disolve easily. I also used a little black pepper in the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2003

      Response to Ejnei: I wanted to reply to your comment to let you know that I did not receive any communication from Recipezaar on your behalf. I emailed Gay and Troy and they noted that sometimes these things do not go through for whatever reason. Nonetheless, I did not want you to think that I wasn't responding to your communication. That said, I want to let you know how I calculated the servings and also respond to your comment about the freezing issue. First, there are about 74 teaspoons in 14 ounces or a generous 5 teaspoons per ounce. Each serving, as I noted it in the recipe, is up to 2 teaspoons or .46 of an ounce. So, if each serving is calculated at the maximum you have 30 generous servings. If each is calculated at the minimum, you have 40 or more. Regarding the freezing issue, it sounds like you filled your ice cube trays full instead of in the individual serving sizes of between 1/2 and 2 tsps per ice cube slot. Also, I use the unsweetened condensed milk for this recipe because I cook for a diabetic who needs to use sugar alternatives. I have not had any problems freezing the unsweetened version. However, I did make a batch with the sweetened condensed milk and I agree with your comment that it doesn't freeze well. To solve the problem for the sweetened version, I brewed 1 serving of tea, added my batch of concentrate and poured the frozen brew into the cube trays with good result. The batch of chai that I made using the tea version of the concentrate required 2 cubes instead of one, but the taste was the same as if made the regular way. I hope that you will try the recipe again. Clearly these things are subject to personal preference and it may be that you like your chai spicer than I do. I would encourage you to experiment with using more concentrate until you get the taste you like. Maybe this recipe will only make 10-15 cups of chai for you.... but I do hope they'll be good ones! Thanks for taking the time to post your review, Sarah

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2003

      We recently became addicted to Oregon Chai Tea Latte, which is kind of expensive. I tried this, and with very few tweaks it tastes just the same!! I am thrilled because I'm not supposed to have caffeine. I used decaf Earl Grey, make this concentrate with the sweetened condensed milk, and then I add a little vanilla and a touch of honey. Not only am I addicted, I will be able to afford my new addiction!! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2003

      "High Five".....This is awesome, fantastic and so quick and easy!!! I used the sweetened condensed milk and this is not going to last long in my frig., therefore, no ice cubes for me!! I couldn't wait 24 hours to try this, I was licking the spatula, oh..so good. Then made a cup of tea, then another. I also made up a dry batch using 1 cup of powdered Coffee-Mate, french vanilla coffee creamer and 2/3 cup of sugar instead of the sweetened condensed milk because I want to bring this to work to have during breaks. I know it's not going to last long when I share it with the girls tomorrow. It came out very good too. I going to bring both batches I made and let them try it both ways. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe, it will be used for Christmas gifts this year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2003

      Yumm...Brilliant way to use those condensed milk tins in the pantry. And a good use for half empty tins after making fudge. Couldn't stop licking my fingers while making this. I tried with hot tea; tea looked slightly curdled, but delicious though. Do you know if it is suited only for iced teas?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2013

      Very good! I left out the cloves, as I don't really care for that flavor and, I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Just like Cindy, I "rinsed" the blender with a fresh cup of black tea. I just couldn't wait to taste, and I look forward to the next cup after the concentrate has been refrigerated. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Very yummy. I made this often throughout the winter and enjoyed it very much. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Made this for after school pickmeup for myself everyone ese drank it. making more

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Very very good! I decided to try this because I was making chai tea every day from scratch and wanted something quicker. I have a fear of weak bland teas so I doubled the spices and kept c. milk the same (I used a zaar recipe). I imagine it's more grainy than the original but it's fantastic. Maybe next time I'll try steeping whole spices in the c. milk and see how that works. Definitely in the save box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      Thanks for this great way to save money and the wasteline! After reading Cindy Lynn's review I found Make Your Own Sweetened Condensed Milk - Homemade, Substitute. Love the combo! Blended the first cup in the blender with the remanant and it came out all frothy. I halfed the nutmeg and cloves since I find those spices tend to overpower and used half tsp of dessicated cardamom. Now I'm playing around with a powdered version: 2 cups powdered milk, 0.5 cup sugar in the raw blended with the above changes to the spices. Unfortunately, needed more sugar in my cup so may have to raise the sugar amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Made this tonight and my daughter had a cup immediately! She says it is 5 out of 5! We will definitely keep this recipe on hand. She made it with Twinings Vanilla Black Tea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I've used other versions of this recipe for the last few years, but lost the recipe for a while and am glad to see it here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      YUM YUM YUM!!!! This was super easy to make, and absolutely delicious!! I didn't worry about the freezing methods, cause it barely lasted past the 24 hour refridgeration :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      this was super easy to make and really tasty. I added a little ground pepper for some extra kick. I used this with some iced yerba mate/orange ceylon tea and tapioca pearls and made some really good bubble tea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      What a great idea! I used a 14 oz. can of evaporated whole milk instead of sweetened condensed milk, so that I could control the sugar level or use honey if I was in the mood. I didn't want to go the ice cube tray route, because I like my tea super hot and I thought the cubes would cool it down too much. So I blended it with a hand blender and then poured it into an empty 16 oz. water bottle and popped it into the fridge. The spices sink to the bottom because it's less dense than the sweetened condensed milk, but it's easy to shake up the bottle before measuring it into the tea. I'm also going to play a little with the recipe next time, possibly adding vanilla or substituting Chinese five spice powder or pumpkin pie spice for some of the spices. You could also add a little canned pumpkin for pumpkin spice lattes! Or malted milk powder would also be yummy. Anyway, so easy, practical, economical and delicious - THANK YOU Sarah for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome (And Economical) Chai Concentrate

    Serving Size: 1 (10 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 46.0
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    24%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 4.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 18.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites