Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Award Winning Texas Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Award Winning Texas Chili

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2013

      I am glad I read MelroseChick's review before attempting this recipe. I agree, the amount of Sazon Goya was a bit confusing in the description. Just 1 packet seemed to do the trick.<br/><br/>As I can not find a light chili powder, or Gebhardt's chili powder in my supermarkets, I substituted "Mexene Chili Powder" for the places where it called for it. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly as described and received a lot of compliments at my workplace competition, even taking 1st among 6 other chilis. The depth of flavor is amazing...and if you want a little less heat, try using ancho pepper (dried poblano) in place of cayene...or just omit the cayene altogether as the flavor and spice is still outstanding.<br/><br/>After making this the first time, I go back to it everytime I have a chili craving. You can't go wrong here. Thank you srooc1!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      I must be really dumb. I read "1 1/4 oz of Goya Sazon seasoning" and then it says 1 packet, but I have never used it before and took the recipe at face value. The smallest Goya Sazon I found was a box, total weight 2.11 ounces, and it contained 12 packets of the seasoning. I figured that half that weight, (6 packets) would be under the 1 1/4 ounces the recipe called for, but I figured a little bit less would not be a problem, and I just used 6 of the packets, which comes to 1.055 ounces, a little less than the recipe calls for. I followed the recipe exactly. The chili smelled and looked wonderful, but by the tasting stage, all the sazon was already in, and that darned chili was so salty that I, who do not like beer, guzzled cold beer as fast as I could just to quench my thirst. The guys, bless their hearts, crumbled loads of corn bread and unsalted crackers into it and ate it anyway, but it was truly a waste of some great meat. After the fact, I talked to a couple of sazon users and they told me that they were pretty sure that I was only supposed to use one of the packets in the first place, not 6 of them. <br/>The recipe was confusing to me, and I am sorta bright in most areas, so I am hoping this note might save somebody else a fiasco like mine.<br/>But you could really tell that there was a terrific taste down there under all that salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      I am wondering if I read this recipe wrong. I followed the recipe to the last detail. I tasted the chili and it was soooo salty. I only put in one packet like the others chefs recommended.<br/>The ratio of spice to liquid was so low that I could feel the gritty texture of the spices on my tongue.<br/>I added 38 oz more tomato sauce then what was called out for in the recipe (8 oz) and it finally tastes good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      Loved all the mix of spices. Made half a recipe, I had one serving and DH finished it off. Don't think it could serve five. Used Homemade Sazon(No, It's Sofrito!) for the saxon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      Award Winning is the appropriate title for this recipe. Throw out all your other recipes for chili and just use this one. I have made this chili many times and always received awesome results and many compliments and people will beg you for this recipe once you make it and they taste it. That being said, here is how I utilized this recipe and tweaked it just a bit to appeal to the masses yearning for a flavorful hearty chili in the cold months in the northern winters: First off, I have a slow cooker/crock pot that I tend to use a lot, and have adapted this recipe slightly to achieve an "Award Winning" chili. The first thing is, when using a slow cooker/crock pot, you need to realize that the liquid you put in remains intact in your final result. Knowing this, I backed off on the chicken and beef broth by about a half. Also, I prefer to use chicken and beef base instead of broth...so in the recipe where it calls for 14 oz beef and 7 oz (half can of 14 oz) chicken broth, I used 2 tsp dry beef base "powder", and 1 tsp dry chicken base "powder" disolved in about 12 oz water. Also, in place of the ground beef I use almost and equal amount (2 lbs) of chicken thighs. I also use a few floaters, a can of Kuner's Southwestern Corn 'N Peppers and a can of Kuner's Southwestern Black Beans with Cumin. Lastly, the only other modification I made was to use 1 can Kuner's Southwestern Tomatoes 'N Jalapenos in place of the tomoto sauce. So this is how I make this chili in a slow cooker/crock pot. First, take the 2 lbs of chicken thighs and trim off any excess fat. A little bit can remain, but just try to get the obvious large pockets of fat out. Once trimmed, put these in the crock pot and set on high. Add the dissolved beef and chicken base/water mixture to to crock pot. Next, you add the can of diced tomatoes as mentioned. I usually spin this can of tomatoes in a food processor to break up the chunks, but if you like a chunkier chili then you can just throw them in right from the can. After that, just follow the dumps as the recipe states, but also remember since we are using half the liquid you should use half the dumps...so when it calls for 2 T dark chili powder in the first dump, just use 1 T...basically using the same ingredients and ratios but use half of each. After the first dump, the chicken thighs should be cooked, so just before I add the 2nd dump, I turn the crock pot to low and remove the chicken thighs and shred them with forks and return the chicken thighs to the crock pot and continue on with the dumps and cooking time. After the last dump, I add the can of black beans (including the canning liquid) and also the can of corn (I rinse the corn before adding). After the last dump, you can set the crock pot to low and you are pretty much done and can leave it on low for as long as you need for serving. I hope I didn't lose any of you with my instructions of my tweaks...I know it is better to show than to tell but I know if you try this with my modifications you won't be disappointed. Oh, almost forgot. I also couldn't find the light chili powder (Gebhardt's) as mentioned in this original recipe...but I was able to find Mexene's in my grocery store and used it in place for the light chili...seemed to work out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      Is it allowed to enter a chili cook off contest and then find a recipe? I'm going for it!!! The recipe is very similar to my own, but I was looking for one "different" something as an ingredient to kick it up to winner status. Here in Pennsylvania, I think I am the only one who has Sazon Goya in my pantry, so I'm glad I read the recipe. I'll let you know if I win. Pennsylvania is "weird" in that people here are very afraid of heat. But, as a Texas transplant, I am going to show them that heat is good. If the winner is a bland chili, I"ll be terribly disappointed. Thanks, and look for my update on the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      This chili really rocks. I made a couple alterations. I have no idea what dark or light chili powder is so I improvised and bought a dark one and made my own light. I could have eased up on the cayenne as it left its reminder card but overall, a great chili. My recommendations are to cut the cayenne in half if you aren't used to it, increase the cooking time (though he is pretty much spot on) and mind the serving size. Not having filler you'll waste a lot if you ladle a traditional bean chili size.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This recipe is great! I added some floaters and won a chili competition with my first batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      DH loved this. I served it with fritos, chopped onion, cheddar cheese and sour cream and let everyone add what they wanted. I had some trouble with the ingredients. I could only find chili powder with no distinction btwn dark or light. I also used bouillon for the beef and chickn broth so I didn't add any extra later on in the recipe. I made this the day b4 I needed it and just heated it up for dinner. I think this would be a great chili dog chili. This is the first chili that DH said he really loved. The kids and I like chili with beans and I like the chilies I've made with chocolate. A friend suggested making a bean mixture to add at the table and I think I may try that next time. I think I may also try adding diced tomatoes. The flavor was rich even without the chocolate. Next time I will have to add another pound of ground beef. My bowls must be very big because there is no way I could get 10 servings from this, it was more like 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Award Winning Texas Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.0
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    48%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 73.8 mg
    24%
    Sodium 776.3 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 25.1 g
    50%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sazon goya

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites