11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

yum.I used Trader Joe's frozen organic corn, which is super sweet and tasty, we made this for Christmas, and it was a big hit. Personally I could live on this stuff. Next year I'll try making it in advance, it was quite good reheated.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresacooks January 05, 2003

I made this last night for dinner, and you were right. This IS a great variation of the traditional corn side dish. Very light with a lovely texture, and pretty to serve. Instead of adding onion salt, I minced about 3 Tablespoons of onion to go into the dish. I also sprinkled garlic powder on the crumb topping for a bit of flavor. I can see adding smoked turkey or ham to this for a main dish meal. Hmmmm...

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire de Luna November 26, 2002

I was remembering my mom's corn pie and I'm thrilled to find a recipe that came so close to the original! Having no cracker crumbs I used a pie crust and I jazzed up the recipe a bit with 1 tsp. dried dill, 1 tbsp. onion powder, and a grind or two of fresh pepper. I also topped the pie with buttered bread crumbs and a sprinkling of paprika....the pie was delicious! Thanks so much for bringing back memories with this great recipe, WJKing! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid September 13, 2007

Easy to make, tastes great... even the baby liked it! Definately will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Janet #197014 March 27, 2005

Made for family reunion, as they are always expecting me to show up with something different and GREAT! Everyone loved it. I barely even got a bite. Also, recipe is easily doubled and baked in 2 pie pans.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherrybeth September 09, 2004

Liked this. Will probably make for holidays. Not so much onion salt though. A little overpowering flavor. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom3 #2 September 09, 2004

R U serious?!!! This was sooooo amazing. I never thought corn could taste so great!. I made this for Thanksgiving (sorry it took me so long!) and I will make it every year from now on!....I will also make more when I make it. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bri22 December 15, 2003

I really enjoyed this mild flavored corn pie.I used vegetable flavored crackers and canned corn. I did add a little Greek seasoning as it was a little bland. Thanks for a lovely way to serve corn!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 30, 2003

Got rave reviews all around. I didn't have butter crackers so just used saltines and it was lovely. I also didn't have onion salt so substituted 1/2 t. minced dried onion and 1/2 t. kosher salt (added at step three). Served with a roast, tossed green salad, and rolls. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex December 11, 2002

I was expecting to LOVE this recipe. I love corn, I love casserole type dishes, I love comfort food. I was really disappointed. It as bland and boring and I think I would have liked plain corn better. I will have to continue the search for a 'comfort' food that includes corn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
austinfoodie April 02, 2005
Award-Winning Corn Pie