168 Reviews

I made it with half lean ground beef and half ground turkey. I think what makes this stand out against other chili is the smoked paprika. That is a must add.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LookinForCooking October 07, 2010

This chili is absolutely perfect. Just the right amount of mild and heat. I can see why it won an award! Chili is a Halloween tradition in my house and this never disappoints.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperSam November 08, 2009

Awesome recipe. Thanks. First time I made this was for a 28 entry chili cook-off contest. This recipe (as posted) tied for first place! Later, I tweaked the recipe to 2 pounds ground chuck and cut back to 3 teaspoons Cumin though (personal preference WRT taste). Either way was a hit. Made this recipe dozens of times now and it really brings the kids home.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uncle Eddie August 30, 2009

I used red kidney beans in mine and it came out great! My DH had 3 bowls. After finishing he gave it a big 5 stars and told me it was awesome! I thought so too!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherylsprague68 December 09, 2008

I am a strictly by-the-recipe gal and I really wanted to use venison for this recipe to make for my company chili cook-off. Venison is not easy to come by at the local market but they had 1 pound of ground lamb on sale so I thought I'd try it mixed with turkey to make a double-batch. Against 15 other recipes (some were local award winners), this lamb/turkey combination and the rest of the recipe followed word-for-word (including smoked paprika) won the grand prize! It was much spicier than my sensitive mouth prefers but my husband loved it and apparently the judges did, too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriAnn04 September 17, 2008

I made this chili for a Chili cook-off at work today to raise money for March of Dimes and have a little pre-Super Bowl fun, and out of 7 contestant I WON by a landslide! I was up against some pretty hefty die hard serious chili competitors too! This receipe is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa W. January 31, 2014

Good base recipe, but a few changes are necessary for most people - the most important one being the amount of cayenne. I've made this recipe twice and both times my family and I have agreed it's too hot. The first time, I used the amount of cayenne recommended, and the second time I used less than half. Next time I probably won't add it at all. If you like hot chili, I recommend using half the cayenne. Granted, I used Rotel canned tomatoes as recommended, which had green chilies in them, but I got the mild cans. I never bothered adding the jalapeno - it would have been inedible if I did. If you aren't using canned tomatoes with chilies, more heat might be acceptable.<br/><br/>I added 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder which gave it a better flavor. I wouldn't skip this step. I also added 2 minced garlic cloves, more plain diced tomatoes, and a good amount of black pepper, and it was nearly perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Kate C. January 03, 2014

I have never wrote a review on this site and for the most part never write reviews. But this recipe was great. I did not do what the rest of you did and insult the original cook by adding what was not mentioned "salting the food before it's tasted". It was great and I would not change a this recipe at all. Make sure though that you dont use a type of cheddar that will be really stringy when melted I made that mistake and had to use other cheddar for the leftovers. GREAT RECIPE!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSears November 09, 2011

Made this tonight with Venison and it was off the charts! Didn't change too much except didn't have any rotel on hand so I just used some organic fire roasted tomatoes and squished em in my hands while adding them. Also added some cilantro and some fresh jalapeno to the individual dishes and man it was killer! This is now my go to chili recipe. Thanks KelBel!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef RoboTron October 18, 2011

I was wondering what I could use instead of Ro-Tel. I like it, but it is the salt I cannot have. I use sea salt. Can I use plain can tomatoes and whatever else is in the can (I'm not sure what is in the Ro-Tel)? Any suggestions?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joelle S. October 18, 2011
Award Winning Chili