131 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was award winning for me too. I took it to the ice bowl, which is an annual fund raiser put on by our disc golf club. (www.kcfdc.org) There were 28 entries and I took first place. It was the first time I ever attempted to make chili and it was the best chili I ever tasted too. I only added 2 onions to 1 ½ lbs of venison and 1 lb sausage then followed the recipe as is. I have won this event in the past playing disc golf, but winning the chili competition was much more fulfilling. The first place prize of $125 portable basket was really nice too. Thank You! �

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Disc Golfer February 01, 2010

Don't let the grease from the meat go to waste! Drain it off into a saute pan and add some cornmeal. Brown the cornmeal in the grease and then add it back into your chili. It will thicken your chili as it cooks and will add a hint of corn flavor.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jstaylor62 October 19, 2011

I made this with ground turkey and WOW!! I make mine in the crockpot - just brown the meat then throw in the crockpot on low before I leave for work. Come home and have a wonderful dinner. Made it for a guy friend who told me when I meet the man I want to marry, make him this chili and a proposal is sure to follow!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patrish May 22, 2010

this is roughly the same chili recipe I use, one exception is that I use one cup of BLACK COFFEE in place of the water, it's always a favorite with my family!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minnehonk December 13, 2010

I couldn't believe how close this recipe is to the one I grew up on. I did tweak it a little by not using jalapena, added 1 tsp dried Mexican oregano, 3 cloves minced garlic added to the meat which was beef. I also add an additional tsp of salt and about 1 tsp of black pepper. I did have the smoked paprika which I think helped. I only used 1 T of cumin and upped the chili powder another tbls. Also, I used beef stock instead of water, used onl 1 onion and lastly I added about 1 tsp of cocoa which intensifies the overall chili flavor. This is really a very good base to tweak to your taste. This is award winning for my taste now with the changes and to the judges for my friends job at the airport where it was submitted with 24 other entries. She gave me the check for $250.00 and she kept the trophy. I think I should have gotten that too, but that's life.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizjmassie August 04, 2011

It's a good bowl of chili. Fantastic with the toppings. I improvised a little my boiling dry beans instead of getting them out of a can. I added a tsp of sugar and used vegetable broth instead of water. Oh yeah and I used ground turkey thigh. Everyone seemed to love it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan from Chicago March 16, 2010

It's good recipe if you leave out the beans. People who put beans in chili know beans about chili. I live in Dallas, Tx. and lived in San Antonio, Tx. Both of which are the originators of chili in the USA. The original chili not only did not have beans in it but had no tomatoes in it either. It was called brick chili. Thus endith the lesson. LOL. Signed the (the Chili snob)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delanos53 October 06, 2010

Really delicious chili! I did make a few changes: I substituted TVP for the meat since my family is vegetarian (except me!), omitted the jalapeno, added several garlic cloves plus powder, decreased the cumin, increased the sauce, substituted beef stock for the water to give the meat flavor, and added pinto beans. As I said, really delicious! Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyW #2 February 07, 2010

Great recipe. I made some changes that made it a 10 star, I added 2 TBLS minced garlic, 1/2 lbs bacon - cooked these in the pot first. We doubled the recipe using 2 lbs of deer and 1 of hamburger -- everything else was doubled. It is not only the best but prettiest chili I have made.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb8rcoach January 18, 2010

I made this chili for my family last evening. I made it with turkey meat as my daughter will not eat beef or pork. It was a hit. I did add 2 cloves of garlic as suggested in the other reviews. Everyting else was per recipe. I was afraid it would be too spicy but followed the recipe anyway. It turned just spicy enough. Everyone said to make it again. I will try beef and pork next time just to compare. Also, I did not add the cup of water. I like a thicker chili. The consistancy without the additional cup of water was perfect. Great chili recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nonno Select October 21, 2010
Award Winning Chili