Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Award Winning Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Award Winning Chili

    Average Rating:

    125 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 125

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2010

      This recipe was award winning for me too. I took it to the ice bowl, which is an annual fund raiser put on by our disc golf club. (www.kcfdc.org) There were 28 entries and I took first place. It was the first time I ever attempted to make chili and it was the best chili I ever tasted too. I only added 2 onions to 1 ½ lbs of venison and 1 lb sausage then followed the recipe as is. I have won this event in the past playing disc golf, but winning the chili competition was much more fulfilling. The first place prize of $125 portable basket was really nice too. Thank You! �

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Don't let the grease from the meat go to waste! Drain it off into a saute pan and add some cornmeal. Brown the cornmeal in the grease and then add it back into your chili. It will thicken your chili as it cooks and will add a hint of corn flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I made this with ground turkey and WOW!! I make mine in the crockpot - just brown the meat then throw in the crockpot on low before I leave for work. Come home and have a wonderful dinner. Made it for a guy friend who told me when I meet the man I want to marry, make him this chili and a proposal is sure to follow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      this is roughly the same chili recipe I use, one exception is that I use one cup of BLACK COFFEE in place of the water, it's always a favorite with my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      I couldn't believe how close this recipe is to the one I grew up on. I did tweak it a little by not using jalapena, added 1 tsp dried Mexican oregano, 3 cloves minced garlic added to the meat which was beef. I also add an additional tsp of salt and about 1 tsp of black pepper. I did have the smoked paprika which I think helped. I only used 1 T of cumin and upped the chili powder another tbls. Also, I used beef stock instead of water, used onl 1 onion and lastly I added about 1 tsp of cocoa which intensifies the overall chili flavor. This is really a very good base to tweak to your taste. This is award winning for my taste now with the changes and to the judges for my friends job at the airport where it was submitted with 24 other entries. She gave me the check for $250.00 and she kept the trophy. I think I should have gotten that too, but that's life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      It's a good bowl of chili. Fantastic with the toppings. I improvised a little my boiling dry beans instead of getting them out of a can. I added a tsp of sugar and used vegetable broth instead of water. Oh yeah and I used ground turkey thigh. Everyone seemed to love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Really delicious chili! I did make a few changes: I substituted TVP for the meat since my family is vegetarian (except me!), omitted the jalapeno, added several garlic cloves plus powder, decreased the cumin, increased the sauce, substituted beef stock for the water to give the meat flavor, and added pinto beans. As I said, really delicious! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Great recipe. I made some changes that made it a 10 star, I added 2 TBLS minced garlic, 1/2 lbs bacon - cooked these in the pot first. We doubled the recipe using 2 lbs of deer and 1 of hamburger -- everything else was doubled. It is not only the best but prettiest chili I have made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I made this chili for my family last evening. I made it with turkey meat as my daughter will not eat beef or pork. It was a hit. I did add 2 cloves of garlic as suggested in the other reviews. Everyting else was per recipe. I was afraid it would be too spicy but followed the recipe anyway. It turned just spicy enough. Everyone said to make it again. I will try beef and pork next time just to compare. Also, I did not add the cup of water. I like a thicker chili. The consistancy without the additional cup of water was perfect. Great chili recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      It's good recipe if you leave out the beans. People who put beans in chili know beans about chili. I live in Dallas, Tx. and lived in San Antonio, Tx. Both of which are the originators of chili in the USA. The original chili not only did not have beans in it but had no tomatoes in it either. It was called brick chili. Thus endith the lesson. LOL. Signed the (the Chili snob)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Best chili I've ever made. I added about 2 tablespoons of garlic while browning the venison (as per another reviewer), but otherwise made not changes. It was fantastic. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      This recipe won me the Chili Cook-off at my church! Awesome. The only changes I made were I used only 1 onion and added 1/2 lb sausage. I used 1 lb beef. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Absolutely award winning chilli, and one taste you will realize it too! Couldn't of been easier, and perfect balance of flavors. I used a fresh medium sized jalapeno pepper, but other then that, followed this exactly. No need to add or subtract here, just add a piece of cornbread or two. I only had black beans so I used this. How wonderful! Thank you KelBel! January 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      I used all red kidney beans but other than that made like the recipe says, and it was well received by my whole family! The guys went back for 3rds!!! I used mild Rotel tomatoes, and it gave it lots of nice flavor without adding to the heat, so some of us that don't like real hot food. We will have this again and soon according to the tribe! Into my favorites it's going so I know right where it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      My kids were begging for more! I followed the recipe to a tee, except for the jalapeno....didn't want crying kids. The Rotel tomatoes gave this dish the right amout of kick. I plan on making this for my brother, who thinks HIS chili is tops....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      AMAZING! I made this last night and it turned out so good. It was the first time I made chili and I couldn't believe how easy it was. I actually challenged my dad in a chili cook off this Christmas :) I added some garlic like some other reviews said and didn't add in the cayenne pepper and it was great. I forgot to add in the cocoa, but I won't forget next time. Thanks so much for this recipe; it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      just made this ~but i tripled the recipe used ground beef as meat and added 3 cups tomato juice (cuz i like it a little soupier) add 1 cube and a half of knorr beef bouillon and 2 teeth garlic and a tablespoon of baking cocoa ~and i have to say it is awesome *great flavor~ thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      This recipe really lives up to it's name! It is delicious. The only change was to add garlic. I add garlic to almost everything! The chili simmered for 1 hour before serving. It seemed a bit thick so I added in about 1/2 cup of water. It was served topped with green onions and homemade green tomato salsa. It is a delicious and warming meal for a cold winter night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      It was too spicy for our tastes, and we normally like stuff with just a little kick. Also, I added garlic powder, Knorr beef bouillon, and other spices to give it more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      My husband made this for a chili pot-luck at work (and I got a couple of spoonfuls to taste). We used 2 lbs of ground beef and followed the rest of the recipe as written. We used Rotel with habanero peppers to kick up the spice. This was an easy, delicious recipe. It was a little thin for my preference (I'll just reduce the amount of water next time) but the taste was steller! I wish I had gotten to have a bowl, but my husband's co-workers practially licked the crockpot bowl clean, so I guess I'll have to make some for myself. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Award Winning Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (435 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.5
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    21%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 60.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1355.6 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 11.0 g
    44%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 26.9 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites