Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Award-Winning Butter Tarts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Award-Winning Butter Tarts

    Average Rating:

    121 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 121

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2006

      Used pre-made graham cracker crusts, and they came out great. Added some pecans on top, too. Yum. I'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      These were wonderful. I topped some of them with pecans and put raisins in the rest. I made a double batch to fill 30 frozen tart shells.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      This was my first attempt at making butter tarts and this is the only recipe I will make from now on. These were so delicious, and incredibly easy, I didn't change a thing. Everybody who tried them absolutely loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      So rich!!! So Good! I baked mine just under 15 minutes and they were so gooey and sticky- my two favorite textures! I have never had a butter tart and am really looking forward to trying them cold out of the fridge...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      For the record, being American, I've never had a butter tart before. I made these today and I didn't want to stop eating. I added toasted walnuts to the raisins. I also replaced half the corn syrup with honey. Sooooo good! I will be making these on a regular basis. I never knew what I was missing out on!!! Oh Canada! =D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      This is an excellent recipe. I made these for a "winter olympics" party that I hosted, and everyone loved them. I used store-bought refrigerated pie crust, and made half with raisins and half without, and they turned out great. Nobody had ever had, or even heard of, butter tarts before, and we were definitely pleased with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      This is a very forgiving recipe, as I realised after I started it that I was out of brown sugar, vanilla, and raisins, and the tarts are still delicious! I subbed some honey, a bit of molasses, and some white sugar for the brown sugar, used a little less corn syrup, and some butterscotch schnapps to replace the vanilla. I filled the bottom of each pastry cup with chopped almonds and then a spoonful of the filling - made 12 muffin-sized tarts plus a mini-loaf pan (I used a double-crust pastry recipe). I'll make the real recipe soon, but my non-authentic ones are lovely (though dangerous!). Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      I made these for a church function. By the end of the event people were telling me I should open my own bakery. Great Recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      "OH CANADA!!!!!" I AM PROUD TO BE CANADAIN THIS RECIPE IS KILLER MADE some with only toasted pecans and some with raisens KILLER GooD! I DARE ANYONE TO SAY THEIRS ARE BETTER...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Award winning? I'll say!!! These are the best butter tarts I have ever had. I brought them to a get together and they were gone in a flash! Thanks Lennie, for posting a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      Without question, the best butter tarts I have ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      First tarts I ever made...perfect. I followed recipe with a few time-savers from comments. Used pre-made frozen tart shells (Tenderflake). Nuked the raisins for 80 seconds;added a few drops of lemon juice to them while cooling. Also, mine were ready in 14 mins, probably because of the tin foil tart tins. Now I am a baker:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      The recipe was easy, and I am sure it turned out how it was supposed to, but I couldn't find anyone who liked it....sorry. for all of Us who never had a butter tart- It is like a too-sweet, undercooked pecan pie with raisins instead of pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      I recommend this recipe highly. It is the almost the same recipe my mother in law has used for years that was passed down through the family. The only difference in the two is that she soaks her rasins in boiling water and drains. Also in her ingredients she has a few drops of lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      My own buttertart recipe doesn't have corn syrup, so I thought I would try this. Very, very good ... Very, very bad for the hips, thanks for the great recipe, didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      Lennie these are fantastic. I used some frozen tart shells that I had in the freezer that needed to be used up. I microwaved the raisins in hot water for 1 1/2 minutes and drained them. I baked them for 15 minutes. I like 'em runny. The best butter tarts I have ever had. Thanks Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      Lennie, these were the best butter tarts that I have ever made or tasted! I used Butter Tarts to make the pastry for the tart shells. Thank you again for this fabulous recipe. Katherine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

    • on January 02, 2005

      Yummy, yummy, yummy! Made these for a New Years Day party and they were devoured by all! Used my own pastry recipe and made a slight change - as I hate raisins & nuts but remembered years ago being able to buy chocolate chip butter tarts - I decided to add milk chocolate chips and then I found 1/2 a bag of skor bits in my pantry so I thought what the heck - I tossed them in too - talk about heaven!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2004

      I am from the Northern Ontario area and have tried many different butter tarts over the years in different bakeries and this recipe tops them all ... recipe was easy to follow ... the 2 dozen I made went instantly !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Award-Winning Butter Tarts

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.1
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    34%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 41.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites