Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Award-Winning Butter Tarts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Award-Winning Butter Tarts

    Average Rating:

    121 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 121

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2007

      OMG soooo good, i think they even top my grandmas..shhh! ;) i also added a walnut on top for an extra garnish to some. should be a hit this xmas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      My husband is an American and he discovered butter tarts and has tried various store bought and he finds this recipe delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This is an awesome Butter Tart recipe. I did not change anything! Thanks very much Lennie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Wow thease are wonderful. This was my first time on making btter tarts. My husband loved them and so did every one that tried them. My mother in-law said they are as good as her great grandmothers from the 1930's. I will make thease again and again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Great recipe! the yield was bang-on - exactly 16 tarts. Thanks so much for this recipe... I'd say it wouldn't be Christmas without these - but we tend to eat them year round. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      These are the easiest yummiest tatrs ever!!! We whipped them up in no time! We baked them for 17 minutes and the consistency of the filling was perfect...not too runny and not too hard. Thanks for the delicious recipe Lennie, I will definetly be uses this one for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      These got the Grand Prize vote from my entire extended family over Thanksgiving!! I left out raisins per personal preference & made several varieties: walnuts only, pecans only, chocolate chip, & choc chip-pecan. The tarts with chocolate chip were a little too rich & sweet but the nuts only tarts were so delicious we couldn't stop! I used pillsbury rollout pie crusts & baked for 16 mins..they came out deliciously runny & irrestible!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      The best by far!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Yum! I baked them the full 20 min. as I don't like mine runny. The recipe only yielded 10 tarts for me. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      My new fave dessert! I thought the filling was a little stingy, though, so I only filled 9 instead of 16 shells.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Yummy....my daughters and husband love butter tarts...and these fit the bill wonderfully! I baked them for 15 minutes and they were wonderfully gooey..mmmm Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      Outstanding. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      These were great butter tarts!!! I havn't made butter tarts in years and decided to make these for the 4th of July picinic. The Americans LOVED them. Thanks for brining back an old favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      These were great! We can't get any butter tarts in Asia, as far as I know, and I have heard a lot about them. I can definitely say that I will be making these very often. Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Super delish! Just like my mom makes. I made it with the pie crust you shake and it was so flaky and syrupie. Definitely soak your raisins or currants in hot water to make them plump and juicy. It works wonders for any recipe that calls for raisins. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      I get requests for these all of the time. Exactly like the butter tarts I used to eat in my "homeland". Hehe! I prefer to roll out my dough quite thin and I double the filling and make only 24 tarts (I can't get 16 with the filling and my deep tins). Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      wonderful and easy to put together...Never made butter tarts before but I will make this recipe again. Had to put the baked tarts back in the oven for 5 more mins, filling was great but pastry was a little under cooked. I need to tweak the time a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      I was out of raisins so made one batch with pecans and one with no additions to the filling. Being lazy I used frozen pre-made tart shells. Not overly sweet (I guess you have to know butter tarts to know if one is TOO sweet LOL), nice and buttery. I baked them firm because we would be wearing "good" clothes, but love the option to make them runny! It has been requested that next time I make a batch with raisins, one with pecans, and another plain. Notice, there was no question they would be made again! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Everyone loved this!!!! BEST dessert after christmas lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      Awesome! I served these at a Christmas Party and they were delish! I love that they can be made ahead of time and frozen. Thanks for posting this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Award-Winning Butter Tarts

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.1
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    34%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 41.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes