Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Award-Winning Butter Tarts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Award-Winning Butter Tarts

    Average Rating:

    121 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 121

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2010

      I have been making butter tarts for over 35 years and am never happy with the results. My pastry is awsome, however the butter tart filling has been rather bland, and have tried several recipes, all disappointing. Well, yesterday I found this one, OMG, it is wonderful!!! With my terrific pastry recipe, what a winning combination! Made them for my family Thanksgiving Celebration and had rave reviews! Thank you Lennie, you are the best. Seriously, my daughter told me they were the best butter tarts she ever tasted in her life!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      oh my word!!! we doubled this recipe last Saturday night, and filled 6 huge muffin/tart shells! THE BEST BUTTER TART WE'VE EVEREXPERIENCED!!!!! We added 10 minutes to the cooking time to allow for the large size. Thank you so much. We now call them McNeerwick Tarts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Great. Kids loved it. Made some with and without the raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      I was disappointed in the taste of these. I let them sit overnight to enhance the flavor, as someone suggested here, but they were kind of bland. There was no WOW factor for sure. I may try them again without the corn syrup and more brown sugar. Too bad....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      At first try, I wasn't impressed, but if you wait a day and put in fridge to ripen, what a difference a day makes. They are 10 x better. Just don't eat them the same day you make them. They show their true taste a day or 2 later. Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This is so great! I have lived in Orillia and made it a tradition to visit the farmers market on Saturdays just for the fresh tarts from Wilkies! Since I've moved I haven't been able to find a tart as good. Thank you so much for posting this! I used pecans in place of raisins and left some plain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      After moving to the US 8 months ago I was surprised to find that butter tarts simply don't exist here! I finally decided to make my own and happened across this recipe for my first attempt. They turned out absolutely perfect! The filling is sweet and gooey and rich and smooth just as it should be. My husband and his cousin both thought they were delicious, and cursed us sneaky Canadians for holding out on them. I even liked these better than my mother's. Sorry Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Ridiculously good. If you do not want to hide in the pantry and scarf down 16 butter tarts by yourself DO NOT MAKE THIS RECIPE! Being a good Canadian I decided to make these even MORE canadian by exchanging maple syrup for the corn syrup. A wonderful twist on an already great recipe. Now that you have been warned, go ahead and enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Today will be my 4th time making these. These are a big hit with my boyfriend and his fishing buddies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This was my first attempt at butter tarts and the flavor was spot on! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I make these on a regular basis, my hubby loves them and everyone I give them to tells me they are the best they've ever had. Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

    • on March 23, 2009

      EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!These were great, Hubby loved these. I added peacans to mine fantastic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      excellent! just made for a girls night tonight and am very happy! i went the whole 20 min and may add on a few more next time as i like mine firm. great recipe! -a very happy pregnant woman~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I LOVED these... wow, thank you so much!! I used Kittencal's No-Fail Buttery Flakey Pie Pastry/Crust Kittencal's No-Fail Buttery Flaky Pie Pastry/Crust for the pastry and they were the perfect butter tarts, I may try making them into bars one day Mmmmm...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      excellent taste. i used honey instead of cornstarch and it made them that much more tasty! i had tons of people ask for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Awesome tasting and easy to make, I love this recipe and added a tsp of sour cream to smooth it out although it is awesome without it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This is just the BEST recipe, and so easy too.... I use frozen mini tart shells, currants and walnuts. They are just a complete winner...I've made them at least 15 times!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      these are the best butter tarts ever... I only get 12 though. I made my own dough and I added chopped toasted pecan's as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Great recipe :) I did find that there wasn't enough for 16 tarts though? maybe mine are too deep. I filled around 10 or less tarts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Award-Winning Butter Tarts

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.1
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    34%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 41.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites