Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Award-Winning Butter Tarts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Award-Winning Butter Tarts

    Average Rating:

    119 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 119

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2013

      Excellent butter tarts. Made these for a birthday party and it was enjoyed by many. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      Absolutely delicious!! I agree with everyone else....these are the best ever! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      Best butter tart recipe EVER, I swear! I bought 24 ready made tart shells. Doubled the recipe and was able to make a perfect 24 tarts (6 raisins and a few pecan pieces in the bottom of each shell.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      Exceptional tarts ! I have never made butter tarts before but I have had many of them over the course of my life and find these to be the kind that I remember from my childhood. I have to admit that I cheated and used frozen mini tart shells (18) and this recipe filled them exactly. Hubby has been barred from the kitchen because of these.....now I have to find a hiding place for the rest of them ! Thanks so much for taking me back in time!! Will be making these again and again !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      AH-MAZE-ING! Living in Australia, I had a craving for one of my favourite desserts from home and decided to give these a go. I substituted corn syrup - due to lack of availability in Australia - with golden syrup and the results were terrific! I impressed a couple of friends and have now unwittingly been volunteered to make these again. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      This is by far the BEST butter tart filling!!! and knowing that you're from Orillia as I am now too for the past five years makes it even better!!! Thank you for sharing :) blessings to you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      Worse butter tarts I have ever made...I should of stuck to my recipe, but thought i would try something new big mistake......they where hard boiled all over horrible horrible

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      i wanna make this can you send me the recipe for the pie crust it looks so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      Very Nice, thank you! I love the syrupy type

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      My Husband and Daughter loved then. I made some plain, raisins, pecans some with with chocolate. They were The Best ! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      These are spectacular. And I'm picky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      These are truly Canadian and truly delish! I grew up stopping in at Wilkie's Bakery on my way to and from the lake to visit my grandparents. Though I don't believe I ever bought a butter tart there, these delicious tarts have always been part of my family's Christmas tradition. My grandparents are no longer with us and I now live far away, so I love that these remind me of happy summer memories and many family Christmases.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      These are interesting little things, while not exactly what I was looking for for my Christmas cookie boxes that I send to family these were quite rich and tasty. I used a recipe for the crust from this site #51537 from Laurie, it was a no roll crust that you pat in and it was incredibly rich and flaky and went with these tarts very well. I also made these in mini muffin tins and they came out wonderfully (as long as I didnt over fill them). I made a recipe for 2 crusts and that was perfect for a double batch of the filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      Great! And very easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      These butter tarts are absolutely delicious. I made them for British visitors as something uniquely Canadian and they were a huge hit. I used Kittencal's No Fail Buttery Flaky Pie/Pastry Crust (#66929)
      with a 15 minute bake time (convection). The filling was perfect.
      I doubled the recipe, as I knew they would be winners. Thank goodness I did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      This was very good. It was even better the second day. I didn't like the look of the raisins after soaking them so I used dried cranberries and chopped pecans. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Oh, my, my! These are so wonderful and easy. My family loves me right now. You have got to try these.
      My family doesn't care for raisins, so I peeled and chopped up apples instead. I also added a pinch of cinnamon. I used a Pillsbury® Refrigerated Pie Crust. I didn't have enough filling for 16 tarts-- only enough for 12. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Not the best Butter Tarts I've had, but very good! There is a huge difference in the taste of these tarts a day later. Fresh I really didn't like them at all and actually ended up making another huge double batch of tarts using the filling I usually use for Butter Tart Squares, because I liked them so little I didn't want to put them out for Christmas. My usual recipe for the squares made a great tart, but I tasted one of these tarts again the next day and while I still think my usual recipe is better, these tasted totally different than the night before when they were fresh. The one plus to these tarts is that they are not nearly as sweet as my usual recipe and others I've had, which if you're having multiple other sweets can be a good thing.

      I might make this recipe again, I will just make sure I make them at least a day before I need them. Not sure why it makes a difference but it really did make a huge difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      I have been making butter tarts for over 35 years and am never happy with the results. My pastry is awsome, however the butter tart filling has been rather bland, and have tried several recipes, all disappointing. Well, yesterday I found this one, OMG, it is wonderful!!! With my terrific pastry recipe, what a winning combination! Made them for my family Thanksgiving Celebration and had rave reviews! Thank you Lennie, you are the best. Seriously, my daughter told me they were the best butter tarts she ever tasted in her life!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      oh my word!!! we doubled this recipe last Saturday night, and filled 6 huge muffin/tart shells! THE BEST BUTTER TART WE'VE EVEREXPERIENCED!!!!! We added 10 minutes to the cooking time to allow for the large size. Thank you so much. We now call them McNeerwick Tarts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Award-Winning Butter Tarts

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.1
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    34%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 41.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites