Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Award-Winning Butter Tarts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Award-Winning Butter Tarts

    Average Rating:

    121 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 121

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2006

      Yummmmmmm! This is the second time I've made butter tarts, but the first with this recipe. I baked them for 15 minutes, and the result was a sweet, buttery, gooey tart that was so rich, I had stuff dribblin' off my chin as I ate one. (That's half the fun!) Lennie, thanks for sharing these Canadian treats with us poor deprived Americans! We missed soooo much when we were youngsters! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2002

      Im from Orillia Ont. and Yes these are the best Butter Tarts evr made!!! I go to the Bakery on Mississauga street about once a month to buy them for my father in law and Chiropractor.Dad rates everyones butter tarts onascale of 1- 10 and Wilkies gets a 10! EVERY TIME!!!! I, his favorite daughter-in- law USED to get only a 7-1/2, for mine but now that I see the "secret" recipe here I will soon be getting a '#10' for mine...........I dare him to tell me different!! Bonnie Lacey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      These are so very tasty! I cooked mine for 15 minutes - I too like them runny! I also used Golden Raisins for mine and added some toasted pecans to half of the tarts. As a side note - I used pre-made butter tart shells (Tenderflake) and they turned out great!! A little tip to help some of you save time. Thanks for posting this Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      I made these just for fun today--I bought these really cute little tart pans and I was looking for a way to use them! Lennie, these were great! I just ate a hot one right from the oven. I'd never even heard of butter tarts before, but this was certainly an auspicious introduction!! Thanks!! (I made these with PetitFour's Tart Dough (Sweet) #27695--also heavenly!) Just an update-- I made these again (actually two more times) but last time I didn't have any raisins, so I just left them out. They were wonderful that way, too...although I don't know if they would still be very "Canadian" then? Anyway, just wanted to post that variation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2003

      Thank you Lennie for this great recipe. My hubby loves butter tarts, but all the recipes I've used have been more firm tarts, and he likes them runny! I made these today, and I added a few broken walnuts to the raisins! They were awesome! Just the way he likes them. This will be my butter tart recipe from now on

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      I will only say this once and if asked I will deny it. These are the best - better than my Mom and both my Grandma's. Now to put some sort of guard dog on them so my boyfriend doesn't eat them all before I need them this weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      These are the best! I did a butter tart bake off to find the best recipe, these were the winner. I have a chocolate & baking business and my customers can't get enough of these. Perfect taste and texture, not too firm or too gooey, just right, 14 minutes in my oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

      Very addictive! Our Girl Scout troop represented Canada in an event and we made 200 butter tarts to hand out. One member's father is from Canada and didn't realize butter tarts are not common in the US. I also noted when we visited Walt Disney World last fall during the International Food and Wine Festival that Canada's food was Beaver Tails (like US elephant ears). I told them I thought butter tarts seemed more uniquely Canadian, and they seemed surprised. As you can tell, I'm definitely sold on these tasty little gems!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      Super delicious! Daughter made these and added a little toasted pecans on the top. welll....you think you are biting into a pecan tart and then there is the surprise...the raisins!!!! By the way, she used the "Raisin Medley' available at Trader Joes. We really like the combo they have; seedless golden light raisins, flame rasins and jumbo all in one bag! Also, a tip to plump the raisins if you do not have time to wait; put them in water in the micro (she did a minute and 20 seconds ) and they plumped up beautifully! thanks again, Lenny, to one of our favorite contributors(you!) We consistenly make many of your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      These are amazing! I have made these several times now with great results each time. I double the recipe and omit the nuts and raisins. I use Crisco's (2 crust) pie crust recipe. I end up with 18 tarts. I bake mine 25 minutes, and still feel that they are very gooey and slightly runny - delicious! Thank you Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      These are DELICIOUS!!! I had a recipe from a donut shop where I used to work and I thought they were the best ever butter tarts. When I moved I lost my recipe and so i had to find one online. I am so pleased that i found this one! These are the best butter tarts ever! I will use this recipe from now on.... my boyfriend loves these!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      These are REALLY good! I am from Canada but currently living in the states. When I make these for my American friends, I'm always asked for the recipe - this is the one I give them. Thanks for sharing - they're really that good =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      These were incredible. I doubled the batch, used 90 percent sultan raisins and 10 percent dark raisins. I also added two tbs of whipping cream in the mixture..these were heaven. You must make your own pie crust.....it makes huge difference. I have found the most incredible crust recipe that is fool proof....don't be afraid to make your own crust. <br/><br/>5 c flour ( i use 4 1/2 then the extra 1/2 cup is used when i roll out the door to sprinkle on the countertop to prevent sticking)<br/>1 lb lard ( crisco vegetable is best)<br/>1 tsp baking powder<br/>3 tbs brown sugar<br/>1 tbs vinegar<br/>1 egg<br/><br/>Crumble flour and lard, baking powder and brown sugar until crumbly. Beat egg in a 1 cup container and add the 1 tbsp vinegar then add water to the 1 cup mark. Wrap pie crust in fridge and chill for two hours or more before rolling. Your crust will turn out nice and flaky. This pie crust mix is very easy to roll.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      Thank you for a wonderful recipe! These are the BEST! I'm not a pie, or tart maker because I never thought I was good at making homemade pie dough, but tonight I made the Tenderflake recipe that is on the box, and then followed your Butter Tart recipe to a T. Awesome!! Even the pastry dough was perfect ;o)) I used a flattened cupcake paper to trace the circles for a perfect fit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Fantastic! I only used frozen tart shells as this was a last minute thing to make with my 5 yr old on a rainy day. YUMMY! Thanks for sharing eh!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I have been using this recipe for a couple of years now and have yet to rate it. My father the butter tart king will not let me make any others. He swears there are no better. I cheat, I use pre made tart cups. The recipe is still fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      i found this was only enough filling for about 9 tarts. maybe my shells were bigger then yours? i omitted the vanilla as i didn't have any. had to make a second round of the butter/sugar mix. second time around i cheated and mixed everything at once, strangely it turned out a lot more runny that second time around but all the tarts came out the same once baked. next time i might try mixing the raisins right into the thicker filling for ease of filling. these don't turn out as smooth in the center as the commercial ones but they are very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      YUMMY! Love these tarts. Easy to make and extremely tasty. I used pre-made tart shells and these were a big success. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I made these today with my daughter and they were amazing! I like a thicker center to my butter tarts but not firm and these were perfect! I omited the raisins as well (I am not fond of them) and use my hand mixer to mix the batter on low till it was like a whip! Mmmmm, definitely a recipe keeper this is! I added a pic to the result as well! 5*****'s for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      These are truly the BEST butter tarts; as an ex pat living in the States, these are brought to every event. I can't tell you how many people ask if I'm bringing butter tarts now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Award-Winning Butter Tarts

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.1
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    34%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 41.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes