9 Reviews

Awesome! Thanks!! I love avocados but they are spendy, and when they go on sale I can't eat them fast enough! So this is perfect. Have you ever cubed them and tossed with lemon juice to freeze? I wonder how that works...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podgies August 27, 2009

Love this idea! I have 3 avocados that are ripe right now & I know I won't be able to eat all of them. I will update this with my star rating after I have tried them frozen. Thanks for posting Mama :) Update Nov 2015 I do this all the time now with a slight modification. I toss my avocado in the blender with the lemon juice, then I put it in a pastry bag & fill ice cube trays with the mixture. When frozen I pop them out, bag & label & toss back in the freezer. It works great! I just pull out the number of frozen cubes I need, let them thaw a bit & add to my recipe. Thanks again Mama!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demelza November 26, 2015

Wow, excellent! The local Meijer's supermarket has avocado sales every once in a while--like 10 for $5--and I never buy because my husband and I can't possibly eat them all soon enough. Your solution is wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing. ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsK February 21, 2011

This works great and says so much money! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autsayder May 15, 2010

What a money saver! Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 10, 2009

Why didn't I know this?? Great idea! I will be doing this forever, thank you much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RENO911 September 27, 2009

WOW, what a great tip! I have a second job in food retail, sometimes there are over 10 avos a week they will throw away, if I don't take them. I was getting sick of guac. LOL Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie September 21, 2009

Wow I never would have thought you could freeze avocados. I just threw out one I paid $1.99 for here in Texas. Wish I had known about this years ago! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starweaver September 13, 2009

Thanks, I have Avocados ripening as I write. Never knew you could freeze them, great news for me, cause in Florida where i'm from My neihbors have Avocado Trees. Though they are not as good as the Haas they are still tasty.and you cant beat Free. I will freeze them and then write a review. Thanks in advance. Flamom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helenfl August 30, 2009
Avocados - Stock up on Sale and Freeze-Tips OAMC