9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious sandwich! I used cheddar cheese and loved the creaminess the avocado added, the zing the lemon added and the sweetness the tomato added. I think I would just skip the cumin next time. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview April 30, 2013

Delicious sandwich! I love grilled cheese sandwich but the avocado - tomato combo really gilded the lily. I made a few subs, cilantro instead of parsley, lime instead of lemon, I added whole cumin seeds and a little chopped jalapeno. Lovely combination of textures and flavors. Thanks for posting, I will make this often! made and reviewed for the Spain/Portugal Forum, July 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemini08 July 16, 2012

This is a good grilled cheese sandwich. Next time I'll omit cumin as it was too much for my taste. Thanks TasteTester :) Made for I Recommend tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 30, 2012

Yummy sandwich!!! I love the flavors of the avocado-tomato and cheese. I used rye bread and cut the recipe for one sandwich. I will be making this treat again for myself. Thank you TasteTester!!! Made for Let's Party Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom January 08, 2011

Very good sandwich!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsbin December 19, 2010

I too really enjoyed this sandwich!It was full of flavor. I made one sandwich and used cheddar and swiss cheese. Thanks! Made for Everyday is a Holiday game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 31, 2010

What a savory great lunch. I love avocado and tomato. The two together were great. I didn't have any montery jack, but I had swiss and used two slices of that. I cut the recipe down and only used half an avocado, and made one sandwich. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for Recommend it Tag-June 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 June 15, 2010

I had a beautiful ripe avocado and vine ripened tomatoes and some sharp vintage cheddar and fresh wholemeal/wholegrain bread just crying out for this sandwich and did not disappoint. I used 1 small avocado and 1 medium tomatoe and 2 slices of cheese to make 2 sandwiches and the DM and I thoroughly enjoyed. I toasted them in the sandwich press. Thank you Taste Tester, made for 123 Hits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat May 26, 2010

This was the perfect springtime sandwich! I just made it for myself for lunch one day this past week. I love avocados, tomatoes and cheese so this was the perfect combination! I did leave out the cumin though. As for the cheese - I used cheddar. Thanks for sharing a great recipe! Made for the May 2010 Aussie/NZ recipe swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast May 06, 2010
Avocado-Tomato Grilled Cheese Sandwich