13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i did a very simple version of this with just mixed spring greens that included some fresh dill and cubed avocado. the dressing i did just light mayo, lime juice, and cumin. this was lovely and creamy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto February 26, 2011

Perfect accompaniment to my crab cakes for dinner tonight. Can't wait to hear what my regular miercoles dinner party guests think to it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryjane in spain June 30, 2010

Yummy! We loved this. We are cilantro fans, so I threw all ingredients, including cilantro into a mini food processor. I forgot the honey until the very end and am not convinced the dressing needs it. May go without the honey next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke's Kitchen April 01, 2010

Mmm, I loved this salad! The dressing tasted a bit overwhelmingly of olive oil at first, but after sitting in the fridge for 1/2 hour or so, the flavors blended together nicely. I used butter lettuce instead of iceberg, which I thought was fabulous. I think some garlic might make a nice addition. I'm only giving it 4 stars just because DS and DH didn't like it as well--neither cared for the dressing. I think it was the cumin-olive oil blend that put them off, perhaps. I expect I'll make it for just me, though! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve May 25, 2009

Made for I Recommend Tag. I only made the dressing, but it was awesome. Had it on taco salad with guacamole. I recently found out that I will need to make all my own salad dressings and this one will definitely be on my list. Thanks for posting this Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft April 24, 2009

We used the dressing as something different on our green salad with dinner tonight... Delicious! We used an extra light EVOO for a more delicate flavour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt September 23, 2008

I found the dressing to have a strong EVOO taste so I used the juice of 1 whole lime which doubled the amount of lime juice. I only used 1/2 tsp of cumin and found that to be just the right amount. I also enjoyed the slight sweetness the bit of honey added. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janay August 26, 2007

I thought this was soooooo interesting. I really liked it. I only gave it 4 stars because my husband did not go for it at all, so I will not make it again. Thank you for this recipe--it was delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mosma July 05, 2007

Ahhhhh, this is that special salad, that makes the whole meal complete. The blend of lime, honey, and cumin mixed with mayonnaise is delicious! I could of, (ok I did) licked the side of the blender. I added a bit of green onion, but other then that, everything was followed to the tee. Will be making this quite often, Sharon! Thanks! *ZWT3 07*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 20, 2007

Despite the oil and mayo, I found this salad to taste very light and refreshing. I used the sugar not the honey. The salad is simple, but the mild flavors go very well with the cumin and citrus. I was tempted to add sweet onions, but I didn't. It's the simplicity of the salad that makes it great for us avocado lovers. ;) The only thing that I may add to the salad in the future is fresh cilantro, but I do love it as is. Thanx for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* April 27, 2007
Avocado Salad With Cumin Lime Mayo Dressing