Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Avocado Nut Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Avocado Nut Bread

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2010

      This was good. I used half a cup of honey in place of the sugar and added half a teaspoon of vanill and cinnamon. It only needed to cook for 35 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      I love making unique fruit and veggie breads, and this definitely fit the bill. It has a very different flavor that is hard to place, but regardless, this is good stuff! If nothing else, it's a great conversation starter. :) I used whole wheat flour and it turned out a bit darker, but still tasty nonetheless. Do watch the bake time. This yields a smaller bread size than normal and mine was a bit overdone at 40 min. I completely forgot to add the nuts, but I'm thinking I might try poppy seeds next time. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      This is good, quick to make and really moist, I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This was a tasty, unique recipe. I made as is using powdered buttermilk. Very different; have most of it in the freezer to pull out later. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      That was such a tasty suprise. I liked it because it wasn't too sweet I think it would be a perfect compliment to a chicken salad or fruit salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      oh my. I have never thought about using avocado for a bread. it gives a really nice flavor and aroma! love it! however I changed the ingredients measurement a bit. I halved the recipe, used 1/3 cup of mashed avocado, only 1/4 cup sugar, and (1/4cup + 3 tbs) buttermilk because the dough was too dry at first. baked them on muffin pan for 40 minutes and they turned out beautiful. thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Outstanding!! My bread looked exactly like the one in the picture. The crust was crunchy and golden sweet. The inside was a beautiful color. My brother who doesn't like anything i bake loved it! Thanks for sharing this. And it only needs one bowl to make! Saves me the mess. Since i didn't have any buttermilk, i substituted mine with half a cup of 1% and a teaspoon of lemon juice. It still turned out fabulous! I will be making this again because my father loves avovados and bread. to put it in one would be he dream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I made this for Thanksgiving at my aunt's house (I was asked to bring nut breads) and I offered a prize to anyone who could identify the secret ingredient that made the bread slightly green. They guessed everything from zucchini to asparagus to brussel sprouts, but nobody got it. But once I told them, they all said, "Ah, ha! Fantastic bread!" I substituted walnuts for pecans, but otherwise followed the recipe precisely. It yielded a moist, sweet pretty bread. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      I mixed this exactly as the recipe states, minus the nuts. It didn't get all pretty like yamakarasu's picture. It was dry, lacked flavor. I was disappointed. But next time I am going to try a large or extra large Haas avocado and see if that helps. My kids liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      We liked it - I would have loved it if it was even greener!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      This is a great bread. I worried that when I was mixing it up that it would be a bit dry since the batter was a bit thick. Not so! The bread turned out wonderful and moist. I do think next time I am going to toss in some raisins and maybe some coconut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      This is my new favourite bread! I was really pleasantly surprised by how it turned out. My bread came out a wonderful soft green colour and it is just so delicious. I cut the sugar down to 1/2 a cup, and the bread has a nice sweetness to it. I think I could get away with cutting down the sugar even more next time to make it a little more healthy and a tad less sweet. I didn't have buttermilk so I just used skim milk with a bit of vinegar, and upped the milk to 3/4 cup since the dough seemed too thick. I also used chopped walnuts, and 1/4 cup was perfect for me. The bread came out more light with these changes, and it was definitely moist! I baked it for around 40-45 minutes, though I turned the temperature down to 350 for the last 15 minutes or so since the top was getting a bit dark. This will be a regular bread for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      The end result was very good--I love the subtle taste of this bread! But I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of buttermilk, as the batter was way too dry as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      This is a very good bread. I often have over ripe avocados and I know what to do with them now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I had an avocado to get rid of and decided to try this recipe. Pretty interesting looking bread, I think maybe i'll add a bit less sugar or something but otherwise it was pretty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      I love an unusual recipe! Great quick bread with perfect texture and a faint green color. Mine was done in 40 minutes. Not too sweet, this was perfect served in this slices alongside chicken salad and fruit salad for a delightful lunch. Thanks, Minx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      If I didn't know this was avocado, I don't think I would think that was the unique flavor in this bread. However, I do know it is avocado and I can't imagine what else it could be. A lovely color- not really green, but slightly more green-hued than normal baked goods. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose and walnuts instead of pecans, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I was worried that this would be dry when I first made it- the batter was slightly thick (it actually took a little muscle to mix all the ingredients together) and the crust turned a lovely golden color, but it looked like the bread might be dry. But it is delightfully moist. I think that if you (like me) don't like your quick breads to be very sweet, you could cut down the sugar a bit- I think 1/2 cup would be just fine. I do like it very much as-is. It has a very dense and moist sort of pound cake-like texture. I love unique recipes and this one is a winner. Thanks Minx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Avocado Nut Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.4
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    30%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 21.6 mg
    7%
    Sodium 255.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites