Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Avocado Mask for All Skin Types Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Avocado Mask for All Skin Types

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2002

      ****UPDATE***** Well it has been well over a month and I have STILL been using this recipe for a mask - and guess what - my skin is now PERFECT!!!!!!! For the very first time in my life!!!!!!! When I'm not getting complements on how great my skin looks, and how FIRM my skin is, people ask if I've had a chemical peel (like I could afford that on a nanny's salary) or if I had botox injextions. And I tell them "No." The only difference I made is I made it with Saflower oil, because that was the only oil my host mother had in the house at the time. (She needs Saflower oil for some health reason, that I don't understand because English is my second language. For some reason any other oil doesn't work for her. I have to buy it with my own money if I need it for cooking.) FYI - Saflower oil also is infused with Vitamin E, (It says so on the lable. "Hollywood" brand) so it just adds to the benefit. There must be something with the vitamin E that is in the avacado that fixes your skin and or hormones. And I tried everything.... mayo, cucumber, egg yolk, expensive Clinique, Chanel, Lancome, L'Oreal, Roc, Oil of Olay, etc... No benefits at all. This avacado mask is a miracle! I guess whatever nutrient your body is lacking is found in this miracle fruit. I also eat 1/4 an avacodo as well, so my skin gets the nutuients from both directions - internal and external. I think the American diet is based on a "rush-rush" lifestyle, that I think people jere forget that sometime nature is the best cure. I hope everyone reads this and stops wasting $15-30 up to $100 on clinique/lancome/l'oreal/Chanel - because it doesn't work. THANK YOU SO MUCH MY DEAR!!!!!!! My skin has never looked this great. Even the blackheads I've had since I was a teenie are gone. And they were there since I was 10! My dermo. can't believe it. After he gave me retin a, which did nothing but peal my skin, make it red and nothing else - your mask has worked miracles. I will remain ever greatful! Yours truly, Mimi Because that is what I was doing. This mask is a cure all for everything - NO JOKE! It cured my acne cysts (which costs a fortune to go to a dermo. for a prescip. for accutane or retina or a shot of cortosone) Now that we have the harsh winter, my skin feels like silk. I had a hard time not touching my face because me skin feels so good. After a month of using this, I now have the firm, perfect, line-free and wrinlke free skin of a 15 year old with out the acne. My skin is 100% perfect. All my acne scars have healed, and this is after the dermo told me I'd have to pay thousands to have collegen injections to fix the scars! Including the deep pit scars and the red dots that won't go away. My usual peeling skin from winter weather is GONE! And guess what else is gone........ the lines of my face from years of smoking and sunbathing!!!!! GONE!!!!! My diagnosis: After using this for one month - forget whatever Lancome or Chanel wants to sell you. This ingrediants for this can be bought - 3 avacodos for one dollar. As aposed to $45 American Dollars for a vat of cream from a designer. Not Kidding. try this for a month. Regardless if you had oil or dry or normal skin. I promise you will never shell out $20 USD for face cream again! Trust me - I've been using this for over a month and my face look perfect - and that is hard for me to admit because I am humble. PLEASE TRY before you shell out big bucks for expensive face cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      oh Char...I was so stressed due to my oven not working well, it was causing me a breakout. I tried out your mask, and my skin glowed...it made me feel so much better! thank you thank you thank you!!! No more $40 mask for me, I think i shall make a batch for my trip to bali next week. The sun might cause another batch of breakouts! I did substitute the sunflower oil for olive oil, only thing I had at home. :) Thanks again Char!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      This mask is wonderful. It made my skin feel so soft. I would highly recommend it to anyone. It was easy to make and I will use it again soon. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

      I have never experienced a facial quite like this. I used to buy the expensive ones, go to the salon and have it done and now I can save so much money. My husband is going to love you for this. I was paying about $45 every other month for something similar to this. My girlfriends and I are thinking of doing a beauty night, kick the husbands out and make them take the kids and just all of us get slathered up. I have combo skin and very, very, very sensitive skin, I touch my face it breaks out. Well this stuff was magic. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      I am so amazed with this avocado mask. I have only been using it for the past 3 nights and I can honestly say I see and feel the difference in my skin. Even my husband has noticed and commented on it too. My make-up goes on so smoothly and when I touch my face it's so soft. I am truly amazed at the results in just only 3 days. Thank you so much for posting this wonderful beauty secret!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      Absolutely loved it. I can't even begin to describe how great my skin felt and looked after using this. Thanks Char

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      After reading another chef's review I had to try this. Have been fighting dryness on my face all winter and NOTHING I did would help... ONE try with this mask and what a difference. THANK YOU Char, for a great facial!! I'm going to do it again, but only every other night, not sure my skin can take the oil every night. I'd give you 100 stars if they were available.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      I really liked this mask! My skin is really dry and this made my skin feel great. How often are you suppose to use it?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      Loved it! I too used safflower oil and it was terrific. I will definitely continue using this mask. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      I found this face treatment very easy to apply and prepare. It is very inexpensive too. I too used olive oil as it was the only oil I have on hand. I prepared this recipe in my food processor with a dab of lemon to keep the avacado from browning. My skin feels so nice and it has cleared up my face too. I plan to continue to use this treatment on a weekly basis. My skin felt the way it used to when I used Estee Lauder's Fruitition which is around $50.00 for a small bottle. Thank you Char for posting this handy and affordable treatment.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2003

    • on April 21, 2003

      After reading all the glowing reviews of this simple mask, I was excited to give it a try and start being beautiful too! My skin did feel smooth & soft right afterwards. But the next day I woke up with a large blemish. My make-up didn't stay on well at all, and by bedtime I had 2 more "friends" on my face. I'm so glad (and envious) that this is working for others, but for my sensitive, combination acne-prone skin, it's not a good match. Sorry! I'm glad I tried it though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I used a large avocado with one tablespoon of jojoba oil and had enough for my face, dry hair, and dry feet and hands. It washed outta my hair much easier than those banana masks, although it didn't do as much good as a simpler deep conditioning would. My face, hands and feet feel moisturized and much smoother, though I have chronic acne and most of the homemade stuff I've tried has made me break out more. I'm looking forward to seeing if this one helps, or at least doesn't make things worse.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      I just used this mask about an hour ago and I guess I'm a little allergic to avocados. My face started to feel like it was burning a few minutes after I put the mask on, so I washed it off and my skin was really red like it had been burned. I started to get nervous, but it actually started to go away within 15 minutes, and by 30 minutes the redness was completely gone. I've always had horrible skin and I can already tell a difference in it. My skin feels very smooth and looks better than it did before. I'm still going to use this mask even though it made my face red. Maybe eventually my skin will get used to it and stop turning red.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I just made this mask and can't love it anymore! My skin feels so good! I can't wait to share with my friends. My favorite part is that the recipe made enough for me to put in the fridge for tomorrow! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      This mask is great. It was so simple. I used olive oil, because I don't have any sunflower oil. I have only used it once, but already my skin is feeling great, soft and mosturized. I plan on using this mask often! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      Wow, this stuff is really fabulous. My husband bought a juicer and I was drinking avocado juice to get the benefits but this is much easier & works quicker. I did use olive oil because I didn't have safflower or sunflower oil. Works great! Oddly enough, I was able to use put Bare Escentuals makeup on without itching or turning bright red. I don't know what is in avocadoes but it works. It really firmed up the eye area. I refuse to buy another cream. I hope after 1 month's use to see even greater results. I still can't believe it but I am going to the store weekly to get enough avocadoes for my morning facial. Amazing! Must try for all women!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      I'm a HUGE fan of natural masks, I love to smother my face with strawberries, bananas etc. This mask by far is the best. It left my skin as smooth as the baby's bum. Thank you for posting it! I used olive oil and a few drops of lemon juice for an extra vit c

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      I think I spent 25 cents on the avocado for this. I didn't add oil, as the avocado itself, mushed, was a good consistancy, but I did add a tiny bit of lime juice, which doesn't matter if you decide to turn off the lights in the bathroom and get in the tub with a lit candle. Next time, I would just mush the avocado. It made a lot, and was a little avocado, but perfectly ripe. I put it all over my face and neck, and there was plenty more, so I put it all over the top of me, and hands. I let it sit for 12 minutes in the steamy bathtub. Then it rinsed off better than I thought it would, and wasn't a problem to get out of the tub either, considering, really, that it was pretty much guacamole. Spreading it on, it felt like I was using big handfuls of fancy cream, although, yes, it smelled like guacamole. The texture was perfect, although there were still lumps I didn't manage to get out. No problem. I offered half to DH, who refused. But, then, I just recently got him to use regular moisturizer for men, so this represented too much of a step for him. I'm reflecting on my hands, which are obviously softer and nicer after one time. I did wipe off my face with some rose water, not the cooking kind, the distilled skin kind, as I didn't want to let any oil sit on it for too long, but I have difficult skin. My hands, I left alone. I think this is a winner, dirt cheap, earthy andmakes you feel virtuous. If I had gone to the Insitute de beauté, this would have cost a fortune. I do go, sometimes, and have picked up from them to always do your neck, shoulders, all the way down your ahem, breasts, and hands, if you are going to do anything. I had a tendancy to just stop with my face. So, just smear it all in, and take advantage!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      This is the second time I'm using this recipe but this time, I used it on my body as well! I spend on average 23.5 hrs per working day in airconditioning which is very drying. Added Sweet Almond Oil to one pureed Avocado. I think the Avocado I used was a little unripe and would use an old Avocado in my next session. I used slightly less than half the puree on my body and face and waited 10 minutes. I'm glad my husband was too engrossed with football on the telly to notice that his wife had taken on a tinge of green. My skin feels nice and smooth now. I will continue to use this recipe instead of using expensive bottled moisturisers. I must warn you though, you might smell like a terrapin (that's what my hubby said I smelt like when he came into the bathroom whilst I washing off).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Avocado Mask for All Skin Types

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.8
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    86%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes