11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 star yummy !!

I've made this soup recipe for years, and it always turns out perfectly. The only adjustments I've made are to use light sour cream instead of yogurt, and depending on the "guest list", I'll add some (home-jarred) jalapeno slices to kick it up a bit. The jalapenos go into the blender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ezgourmand November 04, 2011

I made this for dinner and i feel like it is a pretty good soup for what is put into it. I used just under a cup of light sour cream instead of yogurt, 1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice with some of the zest, and fresh lump crab meat that i added into the blender. I recommend this for an easy weekday dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethanyb1326 December 30, 2014

Just made this for lunch andwas disappointed in it. I followed the recipe excatly and found the soup to have a slightly bitter taste. I will make it again and try cutting the lemon juice down, and replacing the yogurt with sour cream. Did like how easy it was to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Memortree January 16, 2008

I just started liking avocado and only had it in my salad or some type of dip. I made this for my husband and i try to something different. He loves avocado and i love crabmeat. i used imitation crabmeat for this recipe. i did not like it. It may work for some but it did not work for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dyoung0184 August 29, 2007

Oh, I just loved this recipe! I wish that I could give it 10 stars! I used imitation crab meat and nonfat yogurt, and it was really wonderful, so creamy and delicious. I'm excited that I get to enjoy this for lunch all week:) Thanks PaulaG!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poo235 June 04, 2007

I absolutely love avocado, and will eat anything with crab in it, so I was excited about this soup. But, these flavors really didn't go together well for me. I followed the recipe exactly. I think this is just one of those flavors you either like or don't. I also found that it would have benefited from the yogurt being added before it went into the blender. I ended up with small chunks of yogurt that just didn't smooth out through stirring while it reheated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 January 20, 2007

DELICIOUS!! The crab I used was frozen imitation from Costco : "Crab Classics" (a blend of King Crab and Alaskan Pollock). And I added maybe 1 tsp more of lemon juice. The soup was delicious, a bit lemony , and the crab was SWEET- a NICE compliment to the lemony avocado!! However, leftovers had a strange taste. Thanks you SO much for posting this, I think it makes a GREAT sauce too!! Now I'm off to experiment with adding some herbs and/or spices; will post my findings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DarlaDoom October 03, 2006

Very good. I served this cold! Using 1 1/2 cups cold water in place of the chicken broth. Blended it all into a very yummy,healthy, refreshing, summer soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ July 14, 2006

The soup would have been good without the crab. The avocado had a good flavor. With the crab it was very fishy. We didn't like it and it isn't a recipe I would make again. I don't know if using fresh crab instead of canned crab would have helped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
packeyes April 08, 2006

We had this with our grilled fish dinner and it was very different than anything my husband and I have tried. It was very easy to make, but DH just could not get over the color of the soup. He has never had green soup before.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ December 08, 2004
Avocado-Crab Soup