12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful salad!!! I made it exactly as you stated and I wouldn't change a thing. I am going to make it again this weekend when I have guests over. Thank you Quantumgirl for sharing this amazing salad.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot June 06, 2003

Lovely, lovely, lovely. I can't say a bad thing about this salad. I made the dressing with fresh basil and used about 4 tsp olive oil and 2 tsp vinegar. It didn't exactly "drizzle" but it was tasty nonetheless and I liked how it turned out thick and almost creamy.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville June 11, 2003

This is a great new dish for those of us who low-carb it. (Monotony being the problem with a low-carb plan). I made it per recipe directions - I didn't have lime juice on hand and so I used lemon juice instead. Even my DH liked it! I looked up carb values for the tomatoes and avocado - it looks like this salad has about 8-9 grams of carb per serving. I'll be making this again and again. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy1996 June 13, 2003

This was very good. I subbed turkey bacon for the bacon. I also added feta cheese. I loved the the tanginess of the dressing. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunny bunny July 08, 2008

D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!! I am a BLT and avocado lover so how could this salad have been any better? My ONLY complaint was it took a LOT more liquid to get the dressing to a "liquidy enough" consistency than I expected, but oh how yummy it was when I finished!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2Summer&Gibson July 01, 2007

Hmmm...This received an "ok" from both my hubby and me. It wasn't bad - but we didn't think it was great either. Kind of "ok"...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker November 04, 2005

What a great treat,this is the best tasting dressing I have EVER eaten.My gosh it was Sooooo good.I liked it being thick and creamy. That Dressing just makes this a fabulous salad. Thank You, Darlene

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers September 16, 2005

Wonderful! As others have noted, I didn't exactly get the dressing to 'drizzle,' either, even with about 3 Tbsp of olive oil. I think next time I might increase it even a bit more (perhaps an olive/canola oil combination), but it tasted superb this way too. I used all baby spinach leaves, which worked well, and went back to add a bit of finely chopped red onion for extra color and flavor. Definitely a special treat, especially in a salad. Thanks so much for sharing! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki February 11, 2005

What a great salad. I used turkey bacon. I also added a touch of honey and a splash of orange juice to the dressing and dare I say it was the best salad dressing EVER.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrabell September 16, 2003
Avocado B.L.T. Salad