36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I came on looking for an easy recipe to use an avocado, since ours was at the far end of ripe. This recipe is *awesome*! We upped it to 3 eggs, and (garlic lover though I am) I would still halve the garlic in the future, but the combination of flavors is fantastic! Perfect as sandwich filling on whole wheat bread.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katymae16 February 12, 2010

looks gross...tastes good. i used 4 eggs with 1 avocado...left everything else the same, except subbing greek yogurt for the mayo (since i never use mayo). yummy...and different egg salad sandwich. thanks for posting

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ September 18, 2010

I doubled the recipe, except for the garlic powder, added 3oz of smoked salmon & 1T of sour cream, as another reviewer suggested. Served on whole wheat toast...flavorful delightful goodness. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MiaSumitra July 01, 2009

"EGG"ceptional!! I am almost ashamed to admit it but it has only been in the last few years that I have discovered and become nearly obsessed with the amazing avocado. Not only did it give boring egg salad a huge flavor boost but it gave it that creaminess that I like in an egg salad - without having to use too much mayo! Can't go wrong with more flavor, less fat and an outstanding texture! Thanks for this great recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae March 31, 2009

This was so good! It tastes like a hybrid of guacamole and egg salad. I, like some other reviewers, changed the egg/avocado ratio a bit (I used 3/4 of an avocado per egg), and I used lime juice instead of lemon. Next time I might reduce the garlic powder a bit. Thanks so much for sharing this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie June 09, 2008

Wonderful. Used dijon mustard. Sprouts, tomatoes, lettuce, cukes...delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear February 22, 2012

I have had this recipe saved for SUCH a long time and today I finally made it for lunch. YUM! Avocados are my favorite and they went great in this egg salad. A nice twist on a classic. I would definitely decrease the garlic powder next time but that is all. I also did not add parsley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 February 10, 2012

I've always been curious about egg salad but fairly wary. Mayo as a binder makes me uneasy. I'm glad I pushed that aside to try this recipe though. I like to fry some bacon up and mix it in. Even my husband who is suspicious of hard boiled eggs and avocado said if I made this again he would gladly eat it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes August 05, 2011

WOW. I think my husband would like this too. He isn't big on Avocado alone, but mixed in with the eggs and the seasons. You can get hints instead of a full blown taste. Very fast and easy to make very filling. Some things I might do differently is real garlic and not to much of it and adding onion to it. I plan on making this again and snapping some photos of it. thank you so much for sharing this it's wonderful. my new fav lunch too!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pril February 17, 2011

Yummy! Ditto reducing the garlic powder --other than that--fantastic! i really enjoyed this and can see lots of possible adaptations. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
socholy August 08, 2010
Avocado and Egg Salad