Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Avanti's Sweet Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Avanti's Sweet Bread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2009

      This recipe is excellent. One small suggestion is to cut into the flour about a Tbl of butter flavored Crisco. Otherwise the bread can be very dry. Once we did this it has been very moist and delicious everytime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      This is a favorite in our family. Love the slight sweetness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      For those that haven't tried Avanti's Sweet Bread in Bloomington, IL and enjoy breads, do yourself a flavor and stop into Avanti's if you're in their vicinity when you travel. For bread connoisseurs it is certainly worth your visit. This recipe is very similar to their homemade sweet bread. Thank you, Marie for sharing such a great recipe. Your hours of tinkering in your kitchen will certainly make allot of people happy with this recipe post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      We have an Avanti's here, but we haven't gone very often in the past 2 years, so I can't remember how the bread there tastes. Regardless, this bread is yummy. I have only made it twice and need to work on it more. I don't know how to roll out the dough, but I'm getting better! Friends from church brought this over when we had our last baby, and his bread was phenomenal! He suggested using the KitchenAid stand mixer to knead the dough, and that made it even easier. I will keep working on this until it's as good as the bread that was first given to us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      Love it...love it...I love the Avanti's bread recipe and this tastes just like it. Thanks Marie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I can't compare this bread with Avanti's as I have never had there bread but this sure is a great bread, I made this using all purpose flour and kept all ingredients and the amounts as stated which produced two of the most wonderful tasting baguette-like breads, thanks for posting this great recipe Marie!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      Good gracious, I haven't thought about Avanti's in years! I went to Normal Community HS in the late 70's. We were in there all the time. The best damn subs in the world! I even called them today to see if they would ship overnight to us in CA. They can't ship the sandwiches, but they can ship the bread. Now that I see this recipe I might try to recapture this great flavor myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      I have never eaten at Avanti's so I don't know if this tastes authentic, but it is a lovely, tender bread. Although I tend to lean toward dense, hearty, crusty loaves, there are certain meals that scream for this type of sweet loaf. Definitely will have a place in my bread repertoire--thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2004

      Yes!! This turned out very similar to the Avanti's bread. With a slight dusting of flour afterwards it was very, very similar. Living in Arizona, it's great to have the comforts of home duplicated, so I used bottled floridated water. Arizona water is too harsh for proper yeast growth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Avanti's Sweet Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 471.5
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    43%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 312.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.3 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 25.2 g
    101%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites