Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Autumn Pear / Apple Pudding Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Autumn Pear / Apple Pudding Cake

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2010

      This cake is awesome! The only thing I changed was instead of hot water I used hot apple cider. Definitely a do-over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      This was the first pudding cake I had ever made and it turned out great. The instructions are spot on. Since I have a baking dish with a divider down the center, I made it with both apples and pears. I also added an ounce of brandy to the water for extra flavor. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      This was absolutely fabulous with fresh pears and ginger! The ginger really gave it a special zing. My son loves fruit desserts, and boy, we gobbled this one down. If you're not familiar with pudding cake, when baked, the cake layer comes to the top and a saucy layer remains on the bottom. With pears in this version, the fruit remains on the bottom too, similar to a cakey cobbler. Easy and quick to prepare as well. Scouter, I'd give you more than 5 stars if I could! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Made this with the pear and ginger, but added cocoa powder to the batter for a chocolate cake. It was extremely popular and the children had the (minimal) leftovers in tubs for their lunchboxes today. Even my husband, who doesn't like pears, loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Incredible!!! I made the apple variation and it turned out just stunning. The top hardened into sugar shell like on a crème brulé, so it looked really quite lovely and tasted heavenly! Definitely fancy enough to serve to evening guests. Fairly easy to make, too. The only change I made was to throw in a handful of raisins. A keeper. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This was pretty good. As I was pouring the water on top I was wondering if I was actually making it right 'cause it wasn't looking too appetizing. But it turned out great! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      We loved loved loved this dessert! I made it with the pears and ginger and used a heaping teaspoon of the ginger - next time I would like to try it with freshly grated ginger. This was simple to make and didn't make an overwhelming amount - a problem we have in our two person household normally. Thanks so much for posting a recipe I will definitely be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2013

      This... my friends is a true five star recipe. I doubled it because I am dealing with 100 pounds of pears and I thought I would freeze for ready made treats. I cut down on the sugar because we don't like things as sweet as most recipes call for. It was absolutely awesome. I went in this morning with my freezer containers to portion out and put away and... SURPRISE! - there was only one piece left in the pan! Now I see a sink full of empty bowls and spoons - Ah HA!<br/>My family just scarfed it gone. The vote is in.<br/>I served it with a drizzle of 1/2 & 1/2 and whipped cream and a spoonful of my pear butter and it was just exquisite bliss from head to toe1 I am eyeballing the last 40 pears and thinking... Hmmm...<br/>Cudos on a great recipe. It is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      Oh yum yum! This is my new favourite cake! I was overwhelmed with the number of apple cake recipes out there, but this one definitely caught my eye. I've never made a pudding cake before and it turned out wonderfully! The only change I made was to cut the 3/4 cup of sugar (used for the topping) down to maybe around 1/4 as my family doesn't like things too sweet. Plus our apples were already pretty sweet and this turned out perfect for us. I almost didn't believe that it would turn out the way all the reviews describe it, but it totally did, and it was perfect with a scoop (or 3!) of ice cream on top. Definitely have this cake warm - or if you're like me, scorching hot, straight out of the oven. No regrets! Yum! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      I made the apple version and it was so good. I will use more apple next time, I had 6 small apples from the neighbors tree, probably should have use 8 or more. Will cook a little less on the time next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      mmmm yummy as cake... me n kids loved it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Made with pears. Was good but not great. Cake part seemed a bit dry. But it was a nice, not overly sweet addition to a dessert buffet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      I made the pear version and I really liked it! I ate it without ice cream, but added it for my friends who loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      Awesome cake, I made 2 of them with a bag of frozen pears I found stashed away in the freezer. I took one to a work potluck and one stayed at home. Only changes I made is the pudding part I used ginger and cinnamon because I was worried about too much ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      We made this with apples and cinnamon - it was a real treat! Love the caramel like topping with the soft cake underneath. At first it seemed a little sweet by itself (according to my standards) but was PERFECT with some vanilla ice cream! I will definately be making this again and again! Can't wait to try it with pears (:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I wanted a different dessert to celebrate the arrival of autumn and apples, not pie or crisp. This was perfect. I used Golden Delicious apples and didn't bother with peeling them. They were tender without breaking down too much, and very appley tasting. We ate it with vanilla ice cream and it was marvelous. It did overflow my 9" round pan a bit, but nonetheless this delicious pudding cake will become a seasonal regular at our house. Thanks Pa. Hiker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      My husband made this last night for dessert. We used the pears, this was so yummy! We topped it with vanilla ice cream, I never had pears in a dessert before and this was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Surprise, surprise...it felt like Thanksgiving smack dab in the middle of summer! I used the apple recipe and instead of 3/4 cups sugar for the topping, I used 1/2 cup and sprinkled the remaining 1/4 cup over the top giving it a crusty crunch. Made for Alphabet Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      This was excellent. I used pears, ginger in the cake, cinnamon in the topping. I also used 1/2 cup of regular flour and 1/2 cup of wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I had a bag of badly abused Asian pears that I needed to use up, so I found this recipe. I had no ginger so I used the cinnamon with the pears, and it was perfect. So tasty, and so easy! I made it for breakfast and ate it with cream. Clearly I'm a health nut, right? Anyway thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Autumn Pear / Apple Pudding Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 291.7
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    22%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 246.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 37.8 g
    151%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes