31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake is awesome! The only thing I changed was instead of hot water I used hot apple cider. Definitely a do-over!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lake Effect October 18, 2010

This was the first pudding cake I had ever made and it turned out great. The instructions are spot on. Since I have a baking dish with a divider down the center, I made it with both apples and pears. I also added an ounce of brandy to the water for extra flavor. Thanks for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oparu July 04, 2009

This was absolutely fabulous with fresh pears and ginger! The ginger really gave it a special zing. My son loves fruit desserts, and boy, we gobbled this one down. If you're not familiar with pudding cake, when baked, the cake layer comes to the top and a saucy layer remains on the bottom. With pears in this version, the fruit remains on the bottom too, similar to a cakey cobbler. Easy and quick to prepare as well. Scouter, I'd give you more than 5 stars if I could! Thanks for a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama March 02, 2005

Made this with the pear and ginger, but added cocoa powder to the batter for a chocolate cake. It was extremely popular and the children had the (minimal) leftovers in tubs for their lunchboxes today. Even my husband, who doesn't like pears, loved it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amarczyk September 10, 2009

Incredible!!! I made the apple variation and it turned out just stunning. The top hardened into sugar shell like on a crème brulé, so it looked really quite lovely and tasted heavenly! Definitely fancy enough to serve to evening guests. Fairly easy to make, too. The only change I made was to throw in a handful of raisins. A keeper. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lanchik in the city March 01, 2008

This was pretty good. As I was pouring the water on top I was wondering if I was actually making it right 'cause it wasn't looking too appetizing. But it turned out great! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crystal W April 27, 2010

We loved loved loved this dessert! I made it with the pears and ginger and used a heaping teaspoon of the ginger - next time I would like to try it with freshly grated ginger. This was simple to make and didn't make an overwhelming amount - a problem we have in our two person household normally. Thanks so much for posting a recipe I will definitely be making again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos November 03, 2008

Excellent cobbler recipe. I chose the pear/ginger option and also used King Arthur GF Flour. This is totally a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarikat December 31, 2014

This... my friends is a true five star recipe. I doubled it because I am dealing with 100 pounds of pears and I thought I would freeze for ready made treats. I cut down on the sugar because we don't like things as sweet as most recipes call for. It was absolutely awesome. I went in this morning with my freezer containers to portion out and put away and... SURPRISE! - there was only one piece left in the pan! Now I see a sink full of empty bowls and spoons - Ah HA!<br/>My family just scarfed it gone. The vote is in.<br/>I served it with a drizzle of 1/2 & 1/2 and whipped cream and a spoonful of my pear butter and it was just exquisite bliss from head to toe1 I am eyeballing the last 40 pears and thinking... Hmmm...<br/>Cudos on a great recipe. It is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StarFire22 November 14, 2013

Oh yum yum! This is my new favourite cake! I was overwhelmed with the number of apple cake recipes out there, but this one definitely caught my eye. I've never made a pudding cake before and it turned out wonderfully! The only change I made was to cut the 3/4 cup of sugar (used for the topping) down to maybe around 1/4 as my family doesn't like things too sweet. Plus our apples were already pretty sweet and this turned out perfect for us. I almost didn't believe that it would turn out the way all the reviews describe it, but it totally did, and it was perfect with a scoop (or 3!) of ice cream on top. Definitely have this cake warm - or if you're like me, scorching hot, straight out of the oven. No regrets! Yum! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu October 12, 2013
Autumn Pear / Apple Pudding Cake