Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Autumn Chicken and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Autumn Chicken and Rice

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2011

      I really liked thisw crock pot recipe. I shreddde the chicken and mixed with everything else rather then keeping it on the bone. I had a couple sweet potatoes I needed to use up, so I put those in place of the carrots. A little tip, I left it in the crock on low after I ate while waiting for my fiance to get home after working late, and the rice soaked up a ton of liquid. I think it was beter before it soaked all this up. But it is super tasty!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Simply wonderful! Just the right combination of sweet and savory. The bacon added a noticeable, but not overpowering, touch that was perfect. We prefer white meat to dark, so I used 5 small/average-sized chicken breasts, which I cut into thirds before browning in the bacon fat. As for the rice, I used an unseasoned basmati-wild rice blend, which worked great except that I had to guess a little on the amount -- I had a partial 16 oz bag, so I gave a rough estimate on what 8 oz would be... clearly I could have added more, since there was still some liquid in the pot at the end of the cooking time. No biggie, though. It was still eagerly devoured. :) My fiance has already asked me to make this again! Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      Loved this dish, flavors worked well together. Loved the addition of apple cider. Already have shared recipes with relatives. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Congratulations on winnning the contest! The apples were terrific in this and what took it from a basic recipe to something special. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to use the seasoning packet that came with the rice so I did, which added most of the flavor. There was a lot of liquid so next time I would reduce it to one or two cups total instead of three. My chicken was done a lot earlier than four hours because my crockpot cooks hot. Way to go winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I really enjoyed this. The wild rice blend added a lot of texture. I didn't have any poultry seasoning on hand so I used a pinch of basil, a pinch of thyme and some herbed sea salt blend. Also added a little squirt of Frank's hot sauce (because I personally like a little heat in most any soup or stew-like mixture). I know I will make this again. Next time I will de-bone the chicken thighs before serving to make it easier to eat. Thanks for posting and congrats on coming up with a winner!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This smelled awesome when it was cooking. I did have a little trouble getting my rice done, but that could have been because I used a rice blend instead of the wild rice mix that doesn't work because of food allergies. The flavor of this was excellent and I would most definitely make this again because its a great fall dish and very comforting. However, the six servings are not very large.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I added a parsnip which I had for the contest and I do love so in it went! A leek would have been fabulous in this as well! Being one of the ingredients. I skipped the bacon and glad I did because the chicken released a good amount of fat and even more flavor! I used 5 chicken legs with thighs which I coated with my version of poultry seasoning, dried sage, thyme, paprika, lavender, and rosemary. Using 2 tablespoons of it. Loaded on the fresh crack black pepper. Apples didn`t come through in this. Some apple Korn liquor drizzled at the end of cooking is yummy! Package long grain and wild rice blend? I do wish a brand was listed. Which Lindberg, Uncle Ben`s,Vigo Long Grain and White Wild Rice,...... Some are just rice and wild rice while others have spices and herbs. I just mixed 4 ounces wild rice and 4 ounces long grain brown rice. And took much longer to cook. At least 1 hour. I did the 4 hour high cooking. I did remove the chicken cooled slightly to remove skin and bones. WE LOVED THIS!!!!! Ok sorry if I did some changes but I cook to what we like. And we liked this! A LOT! Thanks for the comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      4 star The recipe is very easy and tasty but I felt it needed just a bit more punch (That's me not everyone else). The instructions were clear except for saving some of the bacon drippings to brown the chicken. I loved the apple in the recipe and to add it near the end.. Good luck in the contest. I enjoyed my dinner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This is a great recipe. Lots of flavour and very easy to prepare. I did goof up at first. I keep my rice in a large container, so when it came to measure out 8oz, I'd forgotten that that was 'weight', which makes a big difference :). No problem, I just added some more and it all worked out well. I'll make this again for sure. Made for Category Craze-E Contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Autumn Chicken and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (316 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.8
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    56%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 86.8 mg
    28%
    Sodium 300.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 19.9 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    long grain and wild rice blend

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites