17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good! I loved this stuff when I was a kid and the recipe is perfect. Used Trader Joes frozen whipped topping which purports to be a healthier version, if there can be such a thing. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama March 31, 2013

"Just like my Grandma use to make" is what I hear everytime I make this salad.. It is great for big gatherings and light enough to serve on hot summer days.. Sometimes, if I have maraschino cherries, I cut them in half and place on top of the prepared salad.. I personally think chopped pecans go best in this salad.. Just my 2 cents... :) Try it- it's YUMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Jen March 24, 2007

Perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debiburgess November 27, 2014

I love it! I have to make a double or triple batch for family gatherings, everyone loves it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine N. November 24, 2013

We've used this recipe for the past 4 years ... & I have just realized I haven't reviewed! My total BAD to neglect this gem of my youth! You have it just right - my Mom had a friend who lived that The Watergate & sometimes we'd be invited for lunch - yep, got this every single time. Sooooo good! Thank you for posting - you are truly The Big Cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend November 25, 2010

Couldn't reach my mom to ask her how she makes this so I searched this site for the recipe. This is exactly how my mom makes it although I think she strains some of the juice off and omits the added nuts. I like this recipe as well as my moms. This one is much easier than hers too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone November 28, 2009

Fixed this last night with Salmon With Oregano#315771 and oven roasted potatoes. Delicious... just like my mom made! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf April 19, 2009

This is just like what I remember eating as a kid. Delicious! Just make sure you don't stir the cool whip too much... lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffymoonhair January 19, 2009

I looked at dozens of these recipes, trying to find the one I remember having as a kid, and none sounded quite right. I finally found this one and I think this is it! I was in a hurry and made a lot of boo boos and it was still great. LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MDMama October 10, 2008
Authentic Watergate Salad