Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Watergate Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Watergate Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2013

      Good! I loved this stuff when I was a kid and the recipe is perfect. Used Trader Joes frozen whipped topping which purports to be a healthier version, if there can be such a thing. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      "Just like my Grandma use to make" is what I hear everytime I make this salad.. It is great for big gatherings and light enough to serve on hot summer days.. Sometimes, if I have maraschino cherries, I cut them in half and place on top of the prepared salad.. I personally think chopped pecans go best in this salad.. Just my 2 cents... :) Try it- it's YUMMY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      I love it! I have to make a double or triple batch for family gatherings, everyone loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      We've used this recipe for the past 4 years ... & I have just realized I haven't reviewed! My total BAD to neglect this gem of my youth! You have it just right - my Mom had a friend who lived that The Watergate & sometimes we'd be invited for lunch - yep, got this every single time. Sooooo good! Thank you for posting - you are truly The Big Cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Couldn't reach my mom to ask her how she makes this so I searched this site for the recipe. This is exactly how my mom makes it although I think she strains some of the juice off and omits the added nuts. I like this recipe as well as my moms. This one is much easier than hers too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Fixed this last night with Salmon With Oregano#315771 and oven roasted potatoes. Delicious... just like my mom made! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      This is just like what I remember eating as a kid. Delicious! Just make sure you don't stir the cool whip too much... lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

    • on October 10, 2008

      I looked at dozens of these recipes, trying to find the one I remember having as a kid, and none sounded quite right. I finally found this one and I think this is it! I was in a hurry and made a lot of boo boos and it was still great. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Definitely a classic. Watergate salad is one of the few 'fruit and marshmallow' salads my hubby will eat. We all enjoyed this version. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      What a simple outstanding salad. I made this twice this week. (My friends want to know why I am getting fat) It must be the salad Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      I tried this version since the pineapple isn't drained and it was EXACTLY as I remember it! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2006

      This is the real deal! Easy to make and always a favorite. Perfect for holidays and also for potluck dinners. It's really hard to mess this one up! I sometimes add a 1/4 cup of shredded coconut for a little tropical flair but it's just as good with out it. Perfect for kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      This salad is wonderful. We have always made it this way and there is no need for any additions or subtractions - it is perfect as written!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      This is my daughter's favorite! She insists on having this salad every major holiday. I often wondered why it was named Watergate salad...duh

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      this is how my mom makes this its great dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Watergate Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.4
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    46%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 67.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 18.0 g
    72%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    instant pistachio pudding mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites