Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Tex-Mexican Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Tex-Mexican Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2012

      ok i saw someone ^^^^^^^ say they where not good .. maybe they did not know how to follow directions .. because we are a family of 8. And every one loved them. they where s good i made 40 they all flew. super good .i did have to add more chili powder and salt but that is normal when u are following a home recipe. your directions where right on. thanks for a wonderful dinner ........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      I live near San Antonio and have eaten Los Barrios a number of times. I have made this recipe two or three times. DH and I liked it and the in-laws (living several states away from good tex-mex) really enjoyed it. As another reviewer commented, the enchilada gravy IS bland and isn't intended to stand on it's own. For a spicier, more interesting sauce, I suggest a ranchera. I made the gravy and decided not to use it for a few days. If stored, plan on needing to warm it up and thin it with water. I cooked the chili longer to develop the flavor more. Depending on your tastes, you may want a little less chili powder. If you don't have pico de gallo, you can top this with regular picante sauce, like Pace's, or fresh, chopped tomato. I recommend sour cream and guacamole on the side. Delicioso!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      I'm reserving stars on this one. My husband really liked these but honestly, I did not care for them at all. There is a lot of flour in the gravy which made it much too thick and really put me off. Even with good chili powder, the gravy is very mild. I would reduce the flour and increase the chili powder to fit my tastes. I also thought there was way too much meat in the dish. Omitted the beans and used more like 12 corn tortillas. Made a half recipe of the enchilada gravy and still had too much for a 13x9 pan. I love trying new recipes, though, and appreciate your sharing yours!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      m a born and raised Texan and l love my tex-mex... I thought this was really good but it make WAY too much gravy and mine was really thick right off the bat... I would do these again but reduce the flower and half the gravy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      Delicious! I followed the measurements thinking 'that sure is a lot of rue.' I added a little extra oil since 1:2 ratio was too thick to manage. I cooked it until it was almost as dark as milk chocolate. Then thinned it with chicken stock. By the time I had the right gravy consistency, I had lots more than two quarts - just added more chicken stock until it thinned out. Added more of the dry ingredients in the required ratio but I don't think I actually doubled them. It took a lot longer than 30 minutes, but I was getting things ready a day ahead of time. This is by far the best sauce I've ever made and I'll use it often.<br/><br/>The meat was good too. I tripled the recipe and added 3 roasted pablano peppers. With all that sauce we had cheese enchiladas with and without the meat in the gravy. I also rolled the meat into beef enchiladas to top with gravy and cheese. Thank goodness we all love tex-mex, but next time I'll start with half the rue (I've still got a quart left over).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I made the gravy part for enchiladas last night. I halved the recipe and think I could have used more water to make the gravy thinner. The spices were right on for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      I haven't made the enchilada portion yet, but my family loves the Chili Con Carne! My DH avoids tomatoes, so this really hit the spot for him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Definitely tasted like restaurant enchiladas. Halved the gravy but upped the chili powder and salt. May try broth next time instead of water. Used Co Jack cheese and added chopped onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      I have been looking for this recipe for years, thank you for sharing! I would personally add chopped onions either in or on top of the enchiladas. As well, my secret is to use Land O Lakes American cheese. I've only found it in the deli section, (at Walmart recently), and buy it by the block, grate myself. I live in Austin area, and almost asked people in the grocery store today for a recipe! Thank you, you saved me, and we WILL be having enchiladas this week for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      This was very very good! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      This recipe is so good. My husband loved the gravy sauce. He covered everything on his plate with it and wanted to know where I got it. I will definitely make this again. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef (I try not to eat beef) and for once my husband didn't even notice that the meat was turkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      My husband wanted to give this 3 stars, but he doesn't have a Zaar account, so I win with my 4. I think he was just bitter because he had to help me cook tonight. You know, Friday night after work, all he wanted to do was eBay... Bah! The gravy here was interesting and I was a little worried when I tasted it alone, but with the enchiladas, it worked well. Like another reviewer, it took us a lot longer to put together and I would probably add chopped onions to the cheese inside as well. I used a medium-heat roasted garlic salsa which I recommend to enhance the flavor. Nice recipe which I'll make again with subtle changes. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      I'm not going to rate this recipe as we only made the enchilada gravy and to be completely honest it was awful. Maybe its just our taste buds but i followed the directions exactly and all we tasted was flour and oil. We have a mexican restaurant in town that serves chili gravy so i thought maybe this would be similiar but it was far from it. Sorry but this didn't go over well with anyone in my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      You're an enabler. Thanks to you, I blew my diet again. One day I'm going to diet for 24 hours straight. I cut the sauce in half and we managed to snort all of it up with these awesome enchiladas. I did burn the sauce the first time, so you're right, you gotta be careful. Absolutely delicious beyond words.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      It took me a lot longer to make these enchiladas than the time stated, but the delicious results were well worth it. I halved the gravy sauce ingredient amounts (still ended up with two or three cups extra) and used black beans instead of pintos in the chili con carne. The dish was prepared in advance and refrigerated before baking. My family really enjoyed Los Barrios Mexican Enchiladas. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      This was awesome -- I love the enchilada gravy! I did halve the gravy recipe with no problem. Very easy to put together. Served with rajas con queso and spanish rice. Great dish! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      the reason I didn't review this was i had heart burn for hours after eating this, but otherwise it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Tex-Mexican Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (614 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 740.7
     
    Calories from Fat 454
    61%
    Total Fat 50.4 g
    77%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1955.8 mg
    81%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 21.8 g
    43%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    American cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites