Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Spanish Paella Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Spanish Paella

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2008

      I just made this today, and it was EXCELLENT! My husband said it was some of the best paella he's ever had. I made a few mistakes that I will correct next time. I did mine in in an enameled dutch oven on the stove top. I ended up burning it badly to the bottom of the pan, so next time I will use lower heat and cook longer if necessary. I also might add the green beans later on (I added them towards the beginning). I left out the rabbit and chicken, and I used dried Thyme because fresh wasn't available. I also used bouillon with the added herbs. It still turned out great. It must be even better if you follow the directions exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      FABOULOUS!! This was great even though I modified ALOT, not because I wanted to but because I didnt have all the ingredients...I had to use italian sausage instead of choriza, regular yellow rice by goya, peas instead of green beans, zatarans shrimp boils instead of shrimp, this also added to the spicyness missing from the chorizo, etc....it turned out quite delish!! Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This is the best! I had a wonderful Spanish teacher in high school who made Paella with us. I love it, but never attempted to make it myself. Last week I had a "craving" for it, and decided on this recipe. It tastes just as I remember! The Spanish Saffron is so flavorful. (I usually buy Italian Saffron) Thank you for taking the time to write out the helpful hints throughout the recipe. I enjoyed making and especially eating this dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This was great! I made it for my inlaws and it was a big hit. I subsituted peas for the green beans and added scallops. The saffron gies it a really nice flavor & is worth the extra expense.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Did I not review this??? It was GREAT! I used chicken breast (next time I'll use thigh on the bone or drumsticks), prawns and squid. Soooo yum! Exactly the way I remembered having it in Barcelona. Also loved the beans instead of peas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2014

      Came out perfect, and directions were easy to follow! Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      This is not "authentic" Spanish paella. It's just another rice dish that -resembles- paella, but is not. Never have I seen such an aberrancy to mix seafood with chicken or rabbit. Certainly disgusting. Whoever wrote this never went to Valencia and ate a legitimate paella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      LOVE this recipe, thank you so much parisucks! =) I had to make a few modifications, but all went well. I didn't have tomato paste, and subbed aroborio (?) rice instead, and added green beans and peas on the top the last few minutes. i used linguica sausage, shrimp, and chicken breast. I also cooked my chicken, shrimp, and linguica ahead of time, and added it at the end.<br/>I've cooked this twice, a little different each time, but we serve it in the pan with hunks of bread and the lemon wedges you suggest and it is such a fun dinner.<br/>I hope you blog recipes on a regular basis, your encouraging and upbeat voice is fun to read while cooking =)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      Best paella recipe ever, a little time consuming but well worth the effort. The tip on not stirring after 5 minutes it the truth. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      I substituted chicken for rabbit. This makes A LOT! It fed my family of 6 and we have 7 Tupperware containers left. This was okay. My family doesn't want me to make it again,though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      very good and pretty easy and straight forward to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Excellent Paella recipe. I love the wonder flavors all of the ingredients add to this dish. The instructions were so easy to follow. I used boneless chicken thighs, kielbasa sausage and a can of french cut green beans, other than that followed the recipe. Wonderful! thanks for posting this recipe. Made for September's Tag Game ~ Las Gambas ~ Shrimp"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      Amazing, we use chicken instead of rabbit. Its our favourite meal and has been since the first time we cooked it 3 months ago. Thanks for sharing a fab recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Excellent recipe! Great, detailed instructions. I used white basmati rice with great results and did smoked turkey sausage and boneless skinless chicken thigh meat in place of the seafood because my husband is allergic to shellfish. I also added chopped celery to the vegetables. I look forward to adding green beans next time, as I didn't have any this time around, nor did I have enough fresh tomatoes. But the tomato paste really brought the necessary tomato flavor. Well worth the effort and it makes a lot of food. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I made my own personal modifications based on our taste, but other wise left the recipe as is b/c it's so good. I carmelized my lemons a bit before adding them to the paella, and it gave it a great flavor. Extra Saffron is always a plus too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I made a vegetarian version. Used vegetable stock, artichokes, asparagus, fresh green beans, red and yellow bell peppers, and baby portobella mushrooms sliced. I also used stewed tomatoes and the sauce they were in rather than the paste and plum tomatoes and doubled the saffron! Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      This was a huge hit at our Spanish dinner party last night. The rating is a group rating for all 8 of us! I have never made paella, so I was a little nervous, but there was no need to be! I used whole chicken legs for the rabbit. It couldn't have been easier, and the entire recipe fit into a 12" round, 3" deep stove top pan. It needs to spread out rather than be in a stock pot. Otherwise it would become very sticky. I used Spanish rice (regular grocer!) and made the recipe as written. I don't know much about saffron. It was QUITE expensive, but I did use it. (Don't know whether it was worth it, because I haven't made it without!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      This gets 5 stars, I tried to mark that.I lived in Spain for a while and this is exactly like a true Andoran Paella. This dish explodes with flavor. I lost my recipe from Spain and thanks to you I found it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Loved it! This was a real hit with our guests as it was a group effort to prepare. The taste and presentation were fabulous! A perfect dinner party dish. We used Chicken breasts and thighs instead of Rabbit and replaced the green beans with asparagus. We also used arborio rice... very nice al dente texture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      What a fabulous recipe! I used chicken instead of rabbit and, due to dietary restrictions, left out the tomato & tomato paste. I used a full tablespoon of smoky paprika (the smoky variety was worth looking for). The instructions were very easy to follow & worked perfectly. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Spanish Paella

    Serving Size: 1 (579 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 912.9
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    28%
    Total Fat 28.7 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 149.8 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1183.2 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 101.2 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 58.6 g
    117%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes