27 Reviews

I just made this today, and it was EXCELLENT! My husband said it was some of the best paella he's ever had. I made a few mistakes that I will correct next time. I did mine in in an enameled dutch oven on the stove top. I ended up burning it badly to the bottom of the pan, so next time I will use lower heat and cook longer if necessary. I also might add the green beans later on (I added them towards the beginning). I left out the rabbit and chicken, and I used dried Thyme because fresh wasn't available. I also used bouillon with the added herbs. It still turned out great. It must be even better if you follow the directions exactly.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EasyCookingPlease August 02, 2008

This is not "authentic" Spanish paella. It's just another rice dish that -resembles- paella, but is not. Never have I seen such an aberrancy to mix seafood with chicken or rabbit. Certainly disgusting. Whoever wrote this never went to Valencia and ate a legitimate paella.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ignacio N. December 16, 2013

Sorry Ignacio, but you don't know what you are talking about, Rabbit was often used in Paella to feed the farm workers in the Valencia area, paella would very often have what ever meat was available.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matthew S. May 15, 2016

FABOULOUS!! This was great even though I modified ALOT, not because I wanted to but because I didnt have all the ingredients...I had to use italian sausage instead of choriza, regular yellow rice by goya, peas instead of green beans, zatarans shrimp boils instead of shrimp, this also added to the spicyness missing from the chorizo, etc....it turned out quite delish!! Thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FROMPHILLY April 20, 2008

This is the best! I had a wonderful Spanish teacher in high school who made Paella with us. I love it, but never attempted to make it myself. Last week I had a "craving" for it, and decided on this recipe. It tastes just as I remember! The Spanish Saffron is so flavorful. (I usually buy Italian Saffron) Thank you for taking the time to write out the helpful hints throughout the recipe. I enjoyed making and especially eating this dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl December 10, 2007

This was great! I made it for my inlaws and it was a big hit. I subsituted peas for the green beans and added scallops. The saffron gies it a really nice flavor & is worth the extra expense.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmarie78 November 26, 2007

Did I not review this??? It was GREAT! I used chicken breast (next time I'll use thigh on the bone or drumsticks), prawns and squid. Soooo yum! Exactly the way I remembered having it in Barcelona. Also loved the beans instead of peas!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickee March 26, 2007

If people like Ignacio and Gloria can leave one star reviews w/o making this recipe then I can leave a five star review even though I haven't made it yet. Cooking sites are replete with trolls who jump in saying things like, "This is not "authentic" Spanish paella...etc. Or, just dim things like, "You lost me at the rabbit." Yeah, that's helpful. I'll bet you get lost a lot. Oh, and did you notice neither of those people have left any other reviews or posted any recipes or even saved any recipes on this site? I plan on making this delicious sounding dish sometime soon and if it rates less than five stars. I'll change my rating. But until then my uninformed opinion is worth as much as Ignacio's and Gloria's. And I have reviewed a number of recipes on this site giving high ratings to most because I choose carefully and have only posted one recipe but it's a terrific one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redox July 13, 2016

I've made this 3 times in the past few months, and my family loves it! A couple tips: The cooking time isn't accurate in the header information. Once you have all the meats cooked, veggies sautéed, and everything added back into the pan, there's still 30-45 minutes of cooking and resting to be done. I plan 2+ hours to make this dish, including chopping veggies, but I have small kids under foot, so your time may be shorter. Also, I keep forgetting that shrimp isn't considered mate in this recipe. Don't add the shrimp with the other meats. It cooks at the very end. Our family of 5 eats this entire pan in one sitting. I suggest making 2 pans and having leftovers the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reneeumiami July 06, 2016

Please ignore Ignacio's review. It is VERY authentic to combine meat and seafood. Please see these links: SAVEUR - http://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Paella-Mixta-Recipe. This one is from a Spanish foods web site: https://www.tienda.com/recipes/ultimate-mixed-paella.html Both include meat and seafood. Opinions are opinions...Ignorance is inexcusable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j spain G. June 10, 2016
Authentic Spanish Paella