Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Refried Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Refried Beans

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2010

    • on July 24, 2009

      I tried just to make some dried pinto beans in my pressure cooker for the first time and they came out so squishy that I just blended them all up in my food processor and then cooked them with all your ingredients. I added a little cumin and lime juice and I just can't quit eating it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Perfect refried beans! This was my first time making them and they were much better than canned. I added 1 tsp cumin also. I soaked them overnight and all day and they only had to cook for about 3 hours. I had to add 4 cups of water to boil, no way would 2 be enough. I uncovered the pot for the last 30 minutes and they thickened just enough. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      This is absolutely WONDERFUL! These are great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      DEEEEEEEEE-licious! Cooked in under4 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Awesome recipe. I love refried beans, but I have always despised the canned ones. I have tried making this other ways, but the pan-fry method is too messy and the crock pot method just doesn't cut it for me taste-wise. With this, I could just stick my immersion blender right in and mash them. I didn't have boullion, so I used beer and chicken stock. I seasoned with cayenne, adobo, and added lime juice and sour cream at the end. I cannot wait to eat the left-overs as bean burritos!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Good flavor for Mexican beans. Mine took the full 6 hours to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Had a surprise group of teen boys for dinner tonight so had to quick change what I was making. Teen boys are not wild about cabbage rolls. LOL! Made a taco bake I found on Allrecipes and these beans to go with them. My husband, who really is not fond of refried beans had 2nds. Whoo hoo! The boys did, too. I didn't have any bacon grease, so just left it out. These were so good! If any are left, we can have some bean enchiladas for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for a great very easy recipe that did not use canned beans. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      I've used this recipe many times. It's great tasting and as simple to make as it gets!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      Very good. I browned some chorizo, a few slices of bacon, and then sweated an onion in the pot before adding the beans. I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2004

      Awesome recipe! Superb taste and texture--the best homemade frijoles I've had (and I live in CA). It only took 3.5 hours and by the time they were finished, all the liquid had been absorbed. They got a little dry when I refrigerated them, but adding some water made them nice and creamy again. I used bouillon concentrate paste, which is a bit saltier, so next time I'll reduce it to 2 tablespoons and up the bacon grease a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Refried Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.3
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    64%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 395.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 12.3 g
    49%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 16.9 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes