Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Puerto Rican Rice and Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Puerto Rican Rice and Beans

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-32 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2007

      Really loved this. My DH is from Puerto Rico, and this tastes like "home" ~ My FIL made this quite often and we now can enjoy this once again. Easy, and just delish. I used deli ham cubed, rice from the night before, and only added capers and some minced onion and garlic. Terrific and completely wonderful. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      This recipe was 'ok'. I wish it would have been a bit more flavorful. I think if I go heavier with the spice, the flavor will carry over a little better to the rice. Very good otherwise! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      This was very good. My family enjoyed it.I started with two boneless chops that I diced up and cooked in oil until almost done.I finished cooking in the sauce.After browning meat I added the spices and beans and added 6 oz tomato sauce and a diced potato due to personal preferences. Then I simmerd coverd over low heat 25 min.I have never used the azafran in my beans we liked this. I usually use the y achiote.I doubled all bean ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      This is the same recipe I use and I love it. I grew up with friends that were Puerto Rican so I grew to love the food. The only thing I did different is add a potato, diced. Its the way my friend did it and it just doesn't taste the same without it for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I was told by my Puerto Rican partner's family that this "red beans and rice" recipe was as good as any they had ever tasted. Served it with "Puerto Rican Style Pernil" (roast pork Puerto Rican Style Pernil (Roast Pork))and impressed everybody. Muchas Gracias!! Al

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      This is the way to do it Boricua! Sofrito and adobo, can't go wrong with them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Love this recipe! I have tried to make rice and beans before (tried LOL) this is the first time it tasted RIGHT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2006

    • on April 19, 2005

      Oh man, I've already made this twice! It's quick, it's easy, it makes a great meal! My only change was that I added some cumin because I have a cumin problem, but I actually served this as a main dish with a side veggie. Just the two of us and we didn't have any leftovers, The Beau ate waaay more than I did, kept grabbing the bowl and serving himself some more. I made it again for my lunch, just perfect for 2 lunches for me. It's in my permanent set of recipes now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      very good and easy to make. i also used the pink beans for something different. i served this with pernil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      Wonderful recipe. I made this rice for my Puerto Rican boyfriend and he LOVED it! Very easy to make and so tasty! Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      This was absolutely delicious! It tasted really authentic and it was easy to make. I served it with steak and some sliced avocados and it was a hit!!! I am definitely making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Puerto Rican Rice and Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.0
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    61%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.8 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 10.3 g
    41%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 14.6 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    adobo seasoning

    cooked ham

    sazon con azafran seasoning

    sofrito sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes