Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Puerto Rican Rice and Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Puerto Rican Rice and Beans

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2011

      Very good. The only thing that I did differently with the beans was to add more Canadian bacon that the suggested amount. Also, I I didn't have pink beans but used the small red ones (not kidney). This is actually better after it has sat in the fridge for a couple of days. I also made pork chops to go with it. I fried the 6 pork chops to brown them, sprinkling generously with adobo seasoing. Then I placed them in a lightly greased crockpot and added 1/4 cup water and 6 table. of the solfrito sauce and cooked until the meat was very tender. Served the beans and pork chops with plain white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      My dad was stationed at Ramey AFB many many years ago, and I was hooked on PR Rice and Beans! I have been looking for a recipe for it for many years and none of them sounded like what I remembered. I've noticed a lot of people added potato and tomato sauce, that doesn't sound like what I remember either (I was about 12 or so). When I saw you were from Aguada, I got really excited. We used to go to a place called Pepe's off base. Anyway, I made your recipe, I browned up some pork, added a bit more of the sauce, this was so good, thank you for posting this recipe...it really brought back a lot or memories when we lived in PR. I now have to make this for my brother. I will be making this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      this is almost exactly how I make it and i learned from my Puerto Rico born MIL. you need to add some green olives in the beginning with a little bit of tomato sauce in those tiny cans like 1/2 and make your own sofrito and freeze it. Its easy the jarred stuff tastes gross but thats my opinion once you had real sofrito you wont go back. But these beans will have you addicted you wont make them any other way!!! (you can use deli ham or chunks cut from a left over dinner ham or ham steak anything works.) Very easy just remember to cook your sauce first to bring out the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      I am not going to give a star review because I'm not sure if I did something wrong or what. I've looked over the recipe a dozen times and I can't find anything I did wrong. This turned out so incredibly salty my husband and I couldn't even eat it. Maybe it was the salted pork?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I don't care for beans and rice, but this is darn good stuff. My hubby is Puerto Rican, he says spot on. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      i have never seen this recipe without the tomato sauce. i made it as directed except i put tomato sauce in it as did that other poster. it was good. i always wondered what sazon was until one day i was pouring a sazon packet into my pot and saw it kinda shined. "aha MSG!" i thought. i looked on the packet and sure enough MSG! i can't stop using them though. i guess you can't teach an old dog new tricks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      This was easy and delicious. I made it for a friend who is a really big Puerto Rican food fan and he gave it a big thumbs-up. A five star recipe! Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      I am puerto rican myself, and I must say you really simplified it with this recipe. It was great!!!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      These beans were excellent. My puerto rican roommate, her sister & their boyfriends (also PR) came over and thought these were awesome. I used habichuelas rosadas (pink) instead of coloradas (red). Added an 8 oz can of Goya tomato sauce (spanish style). Muy Bueno!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      Tried this as a side for Puerto Rican Style Pernil (Roast Pork), Puerto Rican Style Pernil,(Roast Pork). My fam. enjoyed it. Thanks for the sharing the recipe boricua_nena!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      I love these beans! So does everyone in my house. Wow super flavorful. Other than doing ham and bacon I followed the instructions to a tee and these are a hit. Oh trust and believe that this is my new go to potluck dish. Nena thank you so much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

    • on December 27, 2010

      Easy & delicious! A nice inexpensive dish to bring to a potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      I made this tonight for my Puerto Rican husband. He was craving so I decided to surprise him (1st timer). I emailed boricua_nena for the 'from scratch' version, but was able to find a recipe on this site for sofrito and a recipe on another site for sazon because I don't want to use pre-packaged msg laden versions. I used turkey bacon in place of the pork (we don't indulge). The end result... dh was very pleased, but it was too salty for my taste (I guess over kill from the sazon and adobo). I will make this again, only gave three stars because dh says it was missing something... tomato paste. I figure it's a matter of personal preference and varying family recipes. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      So so good. I add a small can of Goya Spanish Style Tomato Sauce and two small white chopped potatoes. I also used slow cooking brown rice (to help with the glycemic index issue). It was soooo delicious. Although traditionally a side dish - the full flavors and hearty texture of this dish really makes it the star of the show. I ate it as the main dish with a fresh steamed vegetable. Highly recommend it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      OMG these were soooo good!!! I used just regular bacon sliced up into one inch squares because its what I had on hand and added a handful of green olives and about 1/3 cup of tomato sauce. I made this with pernil and salad with tembleque for dessert and it was a fabulous dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      As noted by others you omited the tomatoe sauce. I also use regular bacon and use the bacon fat as part of the oil. I add garlic and green pepper. This is a great meal and easy to prepare and tastes great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Wonderful! My first try at a Puerto Rican recipe, and it was easy and came out great. Like others, I added a bit of Goya tomato sauce and potato, then simmered it long enough for the potato to soften and the flavors to blend. With yellow rice w. pigeon peas/gandules it made a satisfying meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      You forgot the tomatoe sauce and some potatoes or yellow squash-diced! Mas Rico!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      I tried this for my fiance because he is Puerto Rican, and he loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Puerto Rican Rice and Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.0
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    61%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.8 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 10.3 g
    41%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 14.6 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    adobo seasoning

    cooked ham

    sazon con azafran seasoning

    sofrito sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes