33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. The only thing that I did differently with the beans was to add more Canadian bacon that the suggested amount. Also, I I didn't have pink beans but used the small red ones (not kidney). This is actually better after it has sat in the fridge for a couple of days. I also made pork chops to go with it. I fried the 6 pork chops to brown them, sprinkling generously with adobo seasoing. Then I placed them in a lightly greased crockpot and added 1/4 cup water and 6 table. of the solfrito sauce and cooked until the meat was very tender. Served the beans and pork chops with plain white rice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andtototoo! June 17, 2011

My dad was stationed at Ramey AFB many many years ago, and I was hooked on PR Rice and Beans! I have been looking for a recipe for it for many years and none of them sounded like what I remembered. I've noticed a lot of people added potato and tomato sauce, that doesn't sound like what I remember either (I was about 12 or so). When I saw you were from Aguada, I got really excited. We used to go to a place called Pepe's off base. Anyway, I made your recipe, I browned up some pork, added a bit more of the sauce, this was so good, thank you for posting this recipe...it really brought back a lot or memories when we lived in PR. I now have to make this for my brother. I will be making this again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb, A Westie Mom October 18, 2012

this is almost exactly how I make it and i learned from my Puerto Rico born MIL. you need to add some green olives in the beginning with a little bit of tomato sauce in those tiny cans like 1/2 and make your own sofrito and freeze it. Its easy the jarred stuff tastes gross but thats my opinion once you had real sofrito you wont go back. But these beans will have you addicted you wont make them any other way!!! (you can use deli ham or chunks cut from a left over dinner ham or ham steak anything works.) Very easy just remember to cook your sauce first to bring out the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoenix_Mommy June 13, 2010

I am not going to give a star review because I'm not sure if I did something wrong or what. I've looked over the recipe a dozen times and I can't find anything I did wrong. This turned out so incredibly salty my husband and I couldn't even eat it. Maybe it was the salted pork?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo September 08, 2008

I don't care for beans and rice, but this is darn good stuff. My hubby is Puerto Rican, he says spot on. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petluver Chef March 18, 2007

i have never seen this recipe without the tomato sauce. i made it as directed except i put tomato sauce in it as did that other poster. it was good. i always wondered what sazon was until one day i was pouring a sazon packet into my pot and saw it kinda shined. "aha MSG!" i thought. i looked on the packet and sure enough MSG! i can't stop using them though. i guess you can't teach an old dog new tricks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu February 06, 2006

This was easy and delicious. I made it for a friend who is a really big Puerto Rican food fan and he gave it a big thumbs-up. A five star recipe! Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA in Florida September 22, 2005

I am puerto rican myself, and I must say you really simplified it with this recipe. It was great!!!!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
latinmargarita April 05, 2005

These beans were excellent. My puerto rican roommate, her sister & their boyfriends (also PR) came over and thought these were awesome. I used habichuelas rosadas (pink) instead of coloradas (red). Added an 8 oz can of Goya tomato sauce (spanish style). Muy Bueno!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 January 03, 2005

Very delicious and simple. I just added some tomato sauce, can potatoes, olives and extra ham chunks. This recipe is very flavorful no additional salt needed. I suggest, you don't add any salt to your white rice the beans are well seasoned. My daughter is a picky eater and she went for 2nd plate!! This is just as good as my PR MIL recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 03, 2015
Authentic Puerto Rican Rice and Beans