Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Pork Lo Mein - Chinese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Pork Lo Mein - Chinese

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2009

      super yummy-thanks for the recipe! To the "critic"....lo mein is like meatloaf-no two people make it the same way in China or anywhere else. This woman lives in Hong Kong, not just for two years, I'm guessing she has more "real deal" experience than you. If you didn't like "linda's busy kitchen" post why did you even bother making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      This is my husband's favorite meal at a Chinese restraunt. However, we live in North Dakota now and let's just say Chinese food is hard to come by. I came across this last night, and thought why not. I had everything I needed in the pantry minus the noodles. I boiled my thin spaghetti noodles with baking soda turning the noodles into oriental style noodles... The flavor of this was awesome!!!!! My hubby said he might not ever order it again if he gets the chance, thought this was way better than anything he has ordered in a resteraunt before. Thank you so much Linda for posting this!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      I was having company and decided to do something different than usual, so I went Chinese. This Lo Mein is just delicious, and truly authentic! I had along with General Tso's Chicken (Tso Chung Gai) and it was one meal to remember. I will be making it again and again and the gang can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      i have not yet tried this recipe but i intend to do so. in the meantime, i couldn't help but say of Chef #868046 that while i respect her/his right to express her/his dislike of the recipe, and even to disagree about whether or not it is "authentic," adding that smug and sarcastic "Cheers!" to the end of her/his nastily-toned post was sort of the ironic finishing touch that i think helps define her/him as a rather cheerless person.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      We really enjoyed this a lot! I have had a hard time finding a noodle recipe that wasn't too sweet, and this fit the bill perfectly. I did make a few modifications to make it a little faster/easier for my weeknight meal, and I made it meatless this time. I used two bags of frozen stir fry veggies, then added the sauce once they were cooked through. The sauce still thickened nicely, and then I poured it over the seasoned noodles. Very fast, easy and delicious. Next time I will make it with chicken. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Wow!<br/><br/>I dislike using pre-packaged sauces as i don't know what's in them (really). I didn't think i'd ever find a recipe for something that tasted like this. Delicious!<br/><br/>I had to do a few side steps to compensate for lack of ingredients: i used steam fried noodles as there weren't any of the proper noodles available at my grocery store; no bamboo shoots; doubled up the pepper; no rice wine - subbed rice wine vinegar.<br/><br/>I omitted some of the steps based on these noodles instructions for cooking and did not include the sugar/salt post veggie fry.<br/>Also i made it with chicken and shrimp.<br/><br/>I used a 14oz package of noodles and there was more than enough sauce, meat, and veg to blend in.<br/><br/>Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      This recipe is great! I've made it twice now, and it's a big hit with my husband. I take a shortcut by throwing in a couple of big handfuls of frozen stir fry vegetable mix (but I still use fresh ginger and garlic). I made this for my mom, and since she has a severe shellfish allergy, I used a mushroom-based oyster sauce substitute I found at the Asian grocery up the street. Still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      The flavor of this is is spot-on to what I've tasted in many chinese restaurants, even better than most. It was REALLY good. The only thing I'd change next time is the amount of noodles. The recipe calls for a pound of noodles but it seemed a little too much for the meat and veggies I had, so next time I will probably cook up 3/4 pound of noodles instead of a full pound. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. It's definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Linda your recipe was truly delicious I tried it your way first and switched things around to suit my palette. But it was still really delicious, Thank you for a great recipe!


      Hi 868046,

      I just wanted to say that it's wonderful you have had the opportunity to live in China and experience their wonderful cooking. However the wonderful authentic recipes we get here in America are in fact not authentic to China at all. They're recipes that have been created with Asian influence but to suit our taste over here with the ingredients that are used here in the US. So with that said I get your post but you may want to take a closer look at a recipe to make sure it's really what you're looking for. Instead of judging a recipe based on a title

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Just made this just the way it calls for, I used carrots instead of peppers and this is one of the best lo mein recipes I have ever tasted. Great job Linda and thank you so much for a fantastic recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      YUM YUM YUM! This is exactly what I've been craving. I made this tonight, mine with chow mein noodles and my mum's with rice noodles (she has a gluten free diet) and both came out great! I will keep this recipe for years and make it again and again. Thank goodness for your friend's mum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This is delicious; I've been searching for a great lo mein recipe for years, and this is the best I've found. It makes a beautiful dish with the noodles a rich brown color. So glad I found this--thank you, Linda! Minor changes I made to suit my preferences: 1. Doubled the marinade and instead of pork, substituted 12 oz. of pressed firm tofu, cut into ~1.5 x 1/2 x 1/4" slices. Cooked it on high heat a few minutes on each side in a mix (2 tsp. each) of peanut & sesame oils until brown and crispy. 2. I like the umami flavor enhancement from MSG and thus added 1/2 tsp. Accent (or could use 1 tsp. of Goya Sazon--not the MSG-free type) to each of the two sauces for veggies and noodles; no MSG added to the marinade. 3. Increased veggies to approx. 4 cups (mostly bell peppers plus 1 cup peas), in addition to the onion, which I chopped. It wasn't necessary to increase the amount of vegetable sauce. I did need to add more cornstarch to it for adequate thickening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Outstanding! While the meat was marinating, I cut up the veggies and brought the water for the pasta to boil. The rest was very quick and the flavor is great. DH especially liked the noodles. I will try this with chicken or shrimp some time soon but the pork was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      I wish I could give this 10 stars!!! We absolutely love this dish. The pork turned out very flavorful and "fork-tender". The vegetables came out tender-crisp...just the way we like them. I used waterchestnut instead of the bamboo shoots because I needed to use them up. Also I used the red bell pepper and zuchinni. The sauce is AWESOME and put this dish over the top. I can't wait to make it again using chicken and shrimp. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Linda'sBusyKitchin!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Wow this was excellent! I love Lo Mein and was looking for a recipe that compares to what you get in a good Chinese restaurant and this is it or even better! I had along with General Tso's Chicken (Tso Chung Gai) and Egg Rolls. Great combination for a truly enjoyable Chinese dinner that my family and I both agree on, that we will have again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Absolutely gorgeous!!! Wow what a wonderful flavour, we loved this. I did make with both carrot and red pepper had to use them up and what a great recipe to do that in. The only change I made was to add bean sprouts instead of bamboo shoot never bean a major fan so it was just personal taste. Apart from that minor change I followed the recipe exactly (well maybe I did not measure exact amounts of sauces ect..LOL) But my god Linda you nailed it with this one it was so tastey and so moreish, empty plates by everyone in our house tonight. Thanks for a super recipe that goes in with my make regular recipes!!! Big thumbs up by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      Only 3 stars but that's my fault. It turned out to be kind of a soupy mess. I went to my local Asian grocery store and asked a woman what type of noodles to buy for lo mein. She handed me a package of dried Canton Pancit noodles. They seemed a bit wide but I bought them. Boiled them for only about 2 minutes, rinsed and chilled them. Followed the recipe exactly but the noodles were much wider than I'm used to seeing in restaurant Lo Mein and had no texture. They were soft & mushy and the whole dish was kind of soupy. Flavors were OK but the texture was not right.

      What did I do wrong? With all these positive reviews, I know the problem was me. I just don't know what it was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      Very good flavor but waaaaay to much oil. Everything was swimming in it. I will fix this again but cut the oil in half if not more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      It might be tasty, but it is NOT authentic and I don't like people posting that when it is not true. I lived in China for over two years. They would never marinate lo mein pork. Nor would there be bell peppers anywhere in proper Chinese cooking. Or the multitude of ingredients in the sauce and seasoning. I watched my local dive make it 1,000 times and the sauce was likely nothing more than soy, rice vinegar, msg and a pinch of corn starch. The real deal is quite tasty and I am searching for a recipe from someone who actually knows something about China. Cheers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      Do I have to give this ANY star? Mine came out as a BIG GLUTINOUS MESS. If you are a looking for a lo mein recipe that rivals the local Chinese restaurant THIS IS NOT IT. I am Chinese. I feel ashamed that I thought this much cornstarch would yield anything but starchy results. I just wasted 8 bags of noodles and am kicking myself for trying a new recipe on Chinese New Year- this has ruined the dish my kids were looking forward to. I followed this recipe to the very last drop. I dumped it in the trash. I refuse to eat goopy noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Pork Lo Mein - Chinese

    Serving Size: 1 (412 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1588.2
     
    Calories from Fat 566
    35%
    Total Fat 62.9 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 265.2 mg
    88%
    Sodium 2402.9 mg
    100%
    Total Carbohydrate 191.8 g
    63%
    Dietary Fiber 12.0 g
    48%
    Sugars 15.0 g
    60%
    Protein 64.0 g
    128%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed mushrooms

    rice vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites