Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic No Refrigeration Bakery Frosting/Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic No Refrigeration Bakery Frosting/Icing

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2010

      This is the best frosting recipe ever! It is EXACTLY like the frosting from the bakery, and very simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Great frosting, just made it and turns out really fluffy with my KitchenAid and wire attachment. I added extra almond because I love it...next time lemon...who knows maybe even cherry! I would recommend allowing the creamer to dissolve before tasting...while it's still gritty...not good but it only takes a few minutes to do that. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Does taste just like the bakery! Very easy too! My first homemade frosting and I was proud of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      This icing is so tasty, I just made it for the first time. I replaced one cup of shortening for one cup of butter (now needs refrigeration). Who knew that the non-dairy creamer would work in this. I will definitely use this for my next cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I am going to use it for my daughter's birthday cupcakes. I wanted to take it for a test run this weekend before her birthday party, and I cut the recipe in 1/2 because I didn't need THAT much frosting... I didn't have almond extract, so I added butter extract. I also found that adding just a pinch of salt helped balance the flavor. I mixed in on the (Kitchen Aid) mixer for several minutes on high so I could make sure it was whipped as much as possible to make it lighter. I did end up adding another 1 t of vanilla and 1 T of meringue powder (don't know if that helped any though). I didn't add too much water at first and when I tried piping it out (practice), it was too stiff, so I added more water (probably 1/4c-1/3c total) and then the icing was perfect consistency for piping. I am really looking forward to making her cupcakes for her birthday - this frosting will be the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Absolutely delicious and it holds up wonderfully! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      This was perfect. I sometimes sell cakes and cupcakes at the flea market it holds up very well in hot weather

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I made a beautiful lilac frosting for my daughter's birthday cake. I accidently added too much almond extract but other than that i think it was great. It did unnerve me using all that shortening so I won't make it often, but for special occasions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      OMG! This is the EXACT frosting they use on Costco cakes! I LOVE COSTCO CAKES! I made it because it didn't need refrigerations, but never expected to find such a treasure! I found 1/2 cup of water to be plenty. Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Great frosting. I made it to top White Almond Sour Cream Wedding Cake. I made half a recipe and was perfect for the 15 X 10 inch jelly roll pan. I had French Vanilla coffee creamer and read the extracts incorrectly and put in 1 t. each. Still was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Excellent icing. Not too sweet and is easy to make and spreads well. Will be a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This is an easy recipe and I love that it requires no refrigeration. The only problem that I had was the greasy nature of the texture that made it difficult to clean up and left a coating on the roof of your mouth. Perhaps I am biased towards traditional buttercream, but buttercream cannot survive the temperatures for bake sales like this did. This frosting did very well sitting out on a table for a fund raiser. Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      I loved this recipe! It took no time to whip up and coloured nicely. Thanks so much for posting - this is a keeper for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      I'd have to say what I like best about this frosting...well actually there are a few things...one - it's not so sickeningly sweet as alot of frostings tend to be. Second...that whatever I'm making the frosting for...I don't have to keep it refrigerated. I do have the leftovers in the fridge, but like you said, just pop it out for 1/2 an hour and it's good to go. Great vanilla frosting recipe Kitz. !~ I used this to frost Mom's Sour Cream Chocolate (Sheet) Cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This is one of the best frostings I have used. I made 2 batches this weekend and both turned out great. On the first batch I used the recommended amount of almond extract and it was a little strong, so on the second batch I reduced it to a 1/2 tsp and it was perfect. Great recipe that I will for sure be adding to my recipe box. Thank you for sharing! Happy Holiday's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This is the best frosting that I have ever made hands down. It has great texture and spreads very smooth. I will be using this one for now on. I used butter flavored Crisco sticks. I mixed this up in my 4 1/2 qtr Kitchen Aid mixer and the frosting filled it up about 3/4's of the bowl. So it makes a lot at a time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      03/20/08: EXACTLY what I was looking for! This tastes EXACTLY like birthday cake frosting! But what makes it even better is that you can control your own sweetness by using a touch less or more sugar! Having a frosting that is as delicious as buttercream and needs no refrigeration is a dream come true! I use this to frost Kittencal's Easy One-Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes, and it is truly a winning combination! Kitten, you are a miracle worker! UPDATE: I made this recipe again for my son's 8th birthday. I tinted some of the icing blue and some green, and using a star tip swirled it onto cupcakes for him to take to school. I also frosted a small cake for his home birthday. NO ONE, students or faculty, could believe that this was homemade. This is the perfect bakery frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This is great...especially during the warmer months.Plus it makes alot and stores easily in the fridge so you can frost another cake at some other time. Thanks, as usual your recipes are always winners!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      This is great! I modified it a bit by doing the 1/2 cream cheese and 1/2 shortening thing (I didn't have 2 cups of shortening), and then added some raspberry extract and a tiny bit of red food coloring. They made my cupcakes look beautiful and taste very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Totally awesome! I also did 1/2 shortening, 1/2 cream cheese. I also wanted it kind of thick, so I slowly added the water, and I did not use quite 1/2 cup. It is heavenly, and it going to be perfect to decorate my daughter's birthday cake! Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic No Refrigeration Bakery Frosting/Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (1486 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 927.3
     
    Calories from Fat 479
    51%
    Total Fat 53.3 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 14.7 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 13.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 116.4 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 114.1 g
    456%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites