48 Reviews

I have made this 2 times in the past week. it is my new go-to frosting recipe. I use it for everything from fancy retirement party cakes to simple cupcakes.
I like to use 1 1/2 cups shortening and 1/2 cup butter. This gives a nicer flavor and mouthfeel. I only use vanilla, no almond, and get rave reviews. This holds up very well to piping, spreading and decorating. For chocolate, add 1/4 to 1/2 cup cocoa powder. Thanks!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilsweetie November 09, 2010

I made this frosting, and used it to fill Moist chocolate cupcakes-super easy-budget #287618, they tasted just like a Hostess Suzy Q. this frosting is light and creamy and makes an AWESOME filling!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TnT'smom February 20, 2011

Wonderful recipe. I used it on a "Spyro Castle" cake I made for my son's birthday and took to a waterpark! It withstood the heat like a champ. It was a little hard to decorate with, but I think that is bacause I got the icing a little too soft and didn't want to mess with thicking & messing up the color I had already mixed. Def adding this one to fav's! Thank you for saving the day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefcrystal June 26, 2010

The only thing I wish I had known was to get a super fine creamer. Mine was a bit beady, for lack of a better word, and had a hard time dissolving. I had to add extra water, and then sugar to thicken. It was a great frosting! I also substituted 1/2 cup butter, and added extra vanilla omitting the almond. I'll definitely use this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KJ July 24, 2015

This is a great recipe. Though I am normally a big fan of butter, there is a time and place for shortening based frosting. This one is the best! I used it with a very dark chocolate cake. It was the perfect frosting for my cake. The use of water really improves the mouth feel and texture of the frosting. Thanks Kittencal! Love your recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryandkevinaz May 21, 2015

Great recipe! It's the first time ever I managed to make a buttercream myself after a few years of trials. However, coloring and storing the cream didn't out work for me ((( When I kept it in the fridge for 2 days, there was lot's of water coming out of the buttercream during the decoration. Same situation occured after adding a food coloring, the texture of the cream was broken as the food coloring would not incorporate into the cream easily. What might be a solution here? thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kass May 10, 2015

I have been looking for the perfect all-purpose recipe for quite some time in this is it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracytack April 27, 2015

Outstanding!!! I was hoping to make a chocolate version... Any suggestions??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissy C. March 10, 2015

OK - I know it's a cardinal sin to give a 5 star when you alter a recipe but, I don't care! I was provided a basis for a perfect frosting & it was amazing! As someone else recommended, I subbed 1/2 cup for butter (earth balance). I then I used 1 tsp clear vanilla. Since it didn't appear vanillaie enough for me I added 1/2 tsp regular vanilla. The whole basis of the recipe was awesome! it was enough for me to frost 62 cupcakes. Since I had a bit left over, I measured how much I put on each one and it was approximately 1-1/2 Tbsp (see pic w/cupcakes in box - there are 35 cupcakes in that box!). Thanks for the recipe Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mnbrogers August 16, 2014

Wonderful. Thanks Kittencal. I always look for your recipes because you never disappoint.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biodeb July 30, 2014
Authentic No Refrigeration Bakery Frosting/Icing