10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The best way to eat them is to load them up with lean ground beef, green onions, bacon, lettuce, salsa, and sour cream and cheddar cheese OMG! We sell them at Powwows like that and they are a huge hit!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenBranflake December 21, 2008

I used less baking powder and salt and added less milk but the fry bread was wonderfully cripsy outside and soft inside. The next day I but under broiler for 3min and added city ham egg and cheese for husband. He is in love...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chelea Forbes August 12, 2008

Delicious, just like the Navajo Tacos I had in NM. So much easier than I thought it was going to be. I split the recipe in half, and then only used 2 tsp salt. This made 4, each about 6-7 inch diameter. I learned after the first one to make it really, really thin before tossing into the oil. Decent as leftover but you lose the crispy outside.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissiStroh October 25, 2010

This recipe was so salty it was unedible. I would reduce the salt by at least half.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandyHall01 December 01, 2006

This is awsome, My husband says it reminds him of the fry bread his nana made as a kid. Absolutly wonderful it is. I bet I've made about 7 batches of it since this past Wed when I found and printed it out. If I could you would get 10 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef assig September 03, 2006

I have used this recipe numerous times now. The flavour in the end is great! We keep coming up with new ideas for toppings each time I make it. My personal favourite is simply some corn syrup poured over top. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saturn January 30, 2006

This was really good. Very different from what we are used to. Served with stew and it worked great to sop up the juices. I did find the dough a little difficult to work with but that could very well just have been me. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pines506 September 18, 2005

These tasted wonderful! I cut the salt in half as suggested. I'd never made these before so I wasn't sure how much milk to add and ended up guessing wrong. My soft dough was too soft to pat out, so I fried them up like fritters instead. I'll definitely try again and use a little less than the milk called for rather than a little more. Thanks for sharing Susan! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup May 12, 2008

It came out okay but it was just really salty.I think next time I'll try it with half the salt and half the baking powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss_heyrara August 03, 2006

This recipe was way too salty for my family. I might try it again some time with a lot less salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rcstanley June 10, 2006
Authentic Navajo Indian Fry Bread (Taco Bread)