Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Navajo Indian Fry Bread (Taco Bread) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Navajo Indian Fry Bread (Taco Bread)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2008

      The best way to eat them is to load them up with lean ground beef, green onions, bacon, lettuce, salsa, and sour cream and cheddar cheese OMG! We sell them at Powwows like that and they are a huge hit!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      I used less baking powder and salt and added less milk but the fry bread was wonderfully cripsy outside and soft inside. The next day I but under broiler for 3min and added city ham egg and cheese for husband. He is in love...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Delicious, just like the Navajo Tacos I had in NM. So much easier than I thought it was going to be. I split the recipe in half, and then only used 2 tsp salt. This made 4, each about 6-7 inch diameter. I learned after the first one to make it really, really thin before tossing into the oil. Decent as leftover but you lose the crispy outside.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      This recipe was so salty it was unedible. I would reduce the salt by at least half.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      This is awsome, My husband says it reminds him of the fry bread his nana made as a kid. Absolutly wonderful it is. I bet I've made about 7 batches of it since this past Wed when I found and printed it out. If I could you would get 10 stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      I have used this recipe numerous times now. The flavour in the end is great! We keep coming up with new ideas for toppings each time I make it. My personal favourite is simply some corn syrup poured over top. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      This was really good. Very different from what we are used to. Served with stew and it worked great to sop up the juices. I did find the dough a little difficult to work with but that could very well just have been me. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      These tasted wonderful! I cut the salt in half as suggested. I'd never made these before so I wasn't sure how much milk to add and ended up guessing wrong. My soft dough was too soft to pat out, so I fried them up like fritters instead. I'll definitely try again and use a little less than the milk called for rather than a little more. Thanks for sharing Susan! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      It came out okay but it was just really salty.I think next time I'll try it with half the salt and half the baking powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      This recipe was way too salty for my family. I might try it again some time with a lot less salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Navajo Indian Fry Bread (Taco Bread)

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 380.3
     
    Calories from Fat 260
    68%
    Total Fat 28.9 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 5.3 mg
    1%
    Sodium 1095.5 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites