8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These cookies were so easy to make! If you're looking for a fun baking project for kids, this would be perfect :D I'm giving the recipe 4 stars because I took other reviewers' advice and made a few alterations: I added 1 tsp ginger and 1/2 tsp ground anise, I upped the milk to 1/3 C, and I reduced the molasses to about 3/4C. They're delicious, although I think next time I'll add a touch more spice because the molasses flavor was still quite pronounced. I also might try sprinkling coarse sugar on top after doing the egg wash for some crunch and extra sweetness. I will definitely be using this recipe for gingerbread men come Christmastime! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coolbee July 05, 2011

Great recipe - the taste is unmistakeably 'marranito'! I had a bit of trouble with the texture though. It was way too dry (I didn't judge well while adding the flour) and I had to add more milk and knead and knead to get it to come together. So they were even more dense than usual! But I think some minor tweaking (maybe also some additional baking soda) and this is going to become a family favorite. My husband had never had them and was thoroughly impressed!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sand Holler Farm December 17, 2010

This recipe is great. I grew up eating Marranitos as a child and had a favorite bakery version that included anise seeds. I added 1/2 tsp ground anise seeds, and they were perfect. These were the closest in flavor to the Marranitos I remember. No problem with sticking if you use silicone baking sheets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anitahewes January 28, 2010

These are NOT marranitos but are more like gingersnaps. The recipe also has too much flour and should be lowered to 4 1/2 to 5 cups. The cookies are hard not soft like marranitos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cccats1 March 02, 2013

I love this recipe. I'm so glad I found it. I looked all over the internet and I'm glad I found yours . They came out beautiful and tasted just like the bakery. We didnt have a Pig cookie cutter so we used a huge dino instead but it made no difference. Very easy to make. I highly recommend ! and Ive made them twice for my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yellowmonkey30 January 26, 2010

My husband is hispanic and he LOVED these...he said they tasted just like the ones from the mexican bakeries back home. Definately worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Escamilla06 December 14, 2007

These were terrific and tasted every bit as delicious as what we can get at the Mexican market. Highly recommend

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 October 11, 2007

I'm so glad I found this recipe! I love marranitos and now I can make them myself. These do taste like they are from the bakery. I just made them for a family gathering but since everyone was so full they took them to eat in the morning with coffee so I'm waiting to here what they had to say. There are a few things I would definitely suggest that were not mentioned in the recipe. First, roll the dough to 1/2 thickness and use the egg wash! the first batch came out crunchy with a matte look. I also had to reduce the baking time to about 12 mins. Lastly use parchment paper!! I didn't have any so I used wax paper and had to carefully peel the paper off the cookies. Thanks so much for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yvilla77 June 04, 2007
Authentic Mexican Marranitos (Molasses Gingerbread Pigs)