Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Mexican Marranitos (Molasses Gingerbread Pigs) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Mexican Marranitos (Molasses Gingerbread Pigs)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2011

      These cookies were so easy to make! If you're looking for a fun baking project for kids, this would be perfect :D I'm giving the recipe 4 stars because I took other reviewers' advice and made a few alterations: I added 1 tsp ginger and 1/2 tsp ground anise, I upped the milk to 1/3 C, and I reduced the molasses to about 3/4C. They're delicious, although I think next time I'll add a touch more spice because the molasses flavor was still quite pronounced. I also might try sprinkling coarse sugar on top after doing the egg wash for some crunch and extra sweetness. I will definitely be using this recipe for gingerbread men come Christmastime! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Great recipe - the taste is unmistakeably 'marranito'! I had a bit of trouble with the texture though. It was way too dry (I didn't judge well while adding the flour) and I had to add more milk and knead and knead to get it to come together. So they were even more dense than usual! But I think some minor tweaking (maybe also some additional baking soda) and this is going to become a family favorite. My husband had never had them and was thoroughly impressed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      This recipe is great. I grew up eating Marranitos as a child and had a favorite bakery version that included anise seeds. I added 1/2 tsp ground anise seeds, and they were perfect. These were the closest in flavor to the Marranitos I remember. No problem with sticking if you use silicone baking sheets.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      These are NOT marranitos but are more like gingersnaps. The recipe also has too much flour and should be lowered to 4 1/2 to 5 cups. The cookies are hard not soft like marranitos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I love this recipe. I'm so glad I found it. I looked all over the internet and I'm glad I found yours . They came out beautiful and tasted just like the bakery. We didnt have a Pig cookie cutter so we used a huge dino instead but it made no difference. Very easy to make. I highly recommend ! and Ive made them twice for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      My husband is hispanic and he LOVED these...he said they tasted just like the ones from the mexican bakeries back home. Definately worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      These were terrific and tasted every bit as delicious as what we can get at the Mexican market. Highly recommend

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I'm so glad I found this recipe! I love marranitos and now I can make them myself. These do taste like they are from the bakery. I just made them for a family gathering but since everyone was so full they took them to eat in the morning with coffee so I'm waiting to here what they had to say. There are a few things I would definitely suggest that were not mentioned in the recipe. First, roll the dough to 1/2 thickness and use the egg wash! the first batch came out crunchy with a matte look. I also had to reduce the baking time to about 12 mins. Lastly use parchment paper!! I didn't have any so I used wax paper and had to carefully peel the paper off the cookies. Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Mexican Marranitos (Molasses Gingerbread Pigs)

    Serving Size: 1 (1591 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 361.0
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    11%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 25.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 151.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.4 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 30.4 g
    121%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites