Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Lindy's Famous New York Cheesecake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Lindy's Famous New York Cheesecake

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2008

      I first made this recipe in 1991 after seeing it in the Chicago Tribune. It is by far the best cheesecake I have ever made and my family agrees. It has become a holiday tradition. There are a couple of differences between my recipe and this one: 1) my recipe calls for only 1/4 c. sugar for the crust and 8 T. of butter. 2) The filling calls for 1/4 tsp. of vanilla or a pinch of vanilly bean pulp and only 3 T. of flour. Either way, this recipe is beyond fabulous! Thanks for posting this. I now have the assurance that if I lose my yellowed, creased copy of this recipe, I can find it here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2004

      This cheesecake is fabulous. I must admit I was a little overwhelmed by the amount of citrus, and would probably cut it down a bit next time, but I loved the addition of the citrus. To this cheesecake I added a brownie layer to the bottom using your maida heatter's brownie recipe. Fabulous! Simply fabulous :) Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2014

      Like @Little Tomato my recipe varies from this one. I received it over 20 years ago from a friend who had received it from another friend. In addition to Little Tomato's changes, my version does not include any orange zest. Only 3/4 tsp lemon zest. <br/><br/>I was warned when I was given the recipe that the cooking time is not long enough. I just baked this last night and it took another 40 minutes or so at 200 to get fully baked. I have always extended the baking time like this.<br/><br/>This is a perfect cheesecake, dense but creamy, the flavors are subtle.<br/><br/>My friend who gave me the recipe said she always made a graham cracker crumb instead of the flour crust, but I love the crust; it is delicate and complements the flavors beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      Not only is this the best cheesecake I've ever eaten, but this is a very forgiving recipe as well. I made SO many mistakes (failing to mix the filling completely, using an oven that only goes officially to 500 F, burning the top edge of the crust, and cooking WAY too long because I just couldn't decide how wobbly was too wobbly before taking it out of the oven) that I was sure I'd ruined it, but it still came out delicious! Perfect flavor and texture, and it improves with age in the fridge. This is the only cheesecake recipe I will ever use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      Fantastic cheesecake! Dense and creamy indeed and wonderful with some lemon and orange zest in it. I made half the recipe and baked it 35 minutes after the initial "scorching". Beautiful and perfectly done! I used orange juice in the strawberry sauce, instead of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      This cheesecake was far from creamy and dense. The middle of mine did not cook all the way through and the part that was finished was very fluffy. There was too much batter for my 9 in pan, so that maybe the reason why it was still runny in the middle. Either way it did not taste like the Lindy's cheesecake I remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Lindy's Famous New York Cheesecake

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.8
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    46%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 159.2 mg
    53%
    Sodium 309.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 41.2 g
    165%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    oranges, zest of

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites