9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Don't use 1/2 a cup of allspice. Maybe 6-7 berries should be plenty. 1/2 a cup is too much. This is really good otherwise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 11, 2015

Great Recipe :)<br/>I went on holiday to Jamaica last summer. In the hotel we stayed in they had, what they called "jerk sauce" It was in a large pan and kept on the heat, it was used as pouring sauce, I suppose it was a bit like a thin soup. Does anybody know a recipe for this as it was amazing.<br/><br/>Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jason c. January 28, 2015

I feel kind of silly about this, but I did not realize that pimiento berries are entirely different than pimiento peppers. I went out and got a jar of the peppers, filled up the half-cup, and blended away. I gotta say, the sauce was AMAZING this way, and was definitely a sauce rather than a paste. I also took another reviewer's advice and added the zest and juice of a blood orange. I used 4 habanero peppers as well. Next time I will add actual allspice, but I'm not eliminating the pimiento peppers! It was crazy good and tasted authentic - I had JUST returned from Jamaica the day before and made this. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
holly_wendelin January 27, 2015

This recipe rocks. Whenever summer peaks hits head up, I break out the habaneros. While at first I only used 4 peppers, I have since doubled it. While it is really, really hot, it is a good hot. Full of flavor. Once you try this, you will never go back to that store bought crap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PJ99 March 24, 2014

I didn't have allspice, so I added extra cinnamon and nutmeg. Also used lime juice and ginger. It was still a bit paste-like, but great as a rub/marinade for steaks before grilling. Super delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mas picante October 16, 2013

A good and flavorful recipe but it was more of a paste than a sauce or marinade when I made it using allspice berries and all other ingredients PLUS 2 T water. My yield was about one cup. It could be used as paste on meat directly or used as a marinade or dipping sauce with progressively more water. Nicely done...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doug Mc July 18, 2013

I have made this twice....and it is good, but IMO, too heavy on the allspice. I will cut it back to about 1/2 that amount or a little more. Also, in my second batch, I did something a Jamaican friend of mine told me to do, add some orange juice and some orange zest. That made it even better,not that the original is bad - far from it. Good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa Deuce March 01, 2013

Great sauce, my mom loves jerk chicken and when I made the chicken in this sauce, she swore it tasted just like we flew the chicken in from Jamaca!- Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucki's Cheesecakes August 19, 2006

Now THIS is authentic. However, if you want a truly HOT sauce, substitute Habenero for Scotch Bonnet peppers. Or go medium with Jalapeno.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef guruow January 24, 2006
Authentic Jamaican Jerk Sauce