10 Reviews

This is a great recipe...however I agreed with another reviewer who used less than the 1/2 cup allspice berries. Instead, I used 2 heaping teaspoons of allspice berries and ground them fine before adding to the rest of the ingredients with no other changes to the ingredient amounts. This recipe created enough jerk sauce to marinate overnight 9 large chicken thighs. I prefer the flavor of dark meat and the thighs are uniform in size for even cooking...in the oven first at 350 for about an hour and then to the grill for the finishing touch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steveorr August 23, 2015

Don't use 1/2 a cup of allspice. Maybe 6-7 berries should be plenty. 1/2 a cup is too much. This is really good otherwise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glenn H. April 11, 2015

Great Recipe :)<br/>I went on holiday to Jamaica last summer. In the hotel we stayed in they had, what they called "jerk sauce" It was in a large pan and kept on the heat, it was used as pouring sauce, I suppose it was a bit like a thin soup. Does anybody know a recipe for this as it was amazing.<br/><br/>Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jason c. January 28, 2015

I feel kind of silly about this, but I did not realize that pimiento berries are entirely different than pimiento peppers. I went out and got a jar of the peppers, filled up the half-cup, and blended away. I gotta say, the sauce was AMAZING this way, and was definitely a sauce rather than a paste. I also took another reviewer's advice and added the zest and juice of a blood orange. I used 4 habanero peppers as well. Next time I will add actual allspice, but I'm not eliminating the pimiento peppers! It was crazy good and tasted authentic - I had JUST returned from Jamaica the day before and made this. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
holly_wendelin January 27, 2015

This recipe rocks. Whenever summer peaks hits head up, I break out the habaneros. While at first I only used 4 peppers, I have since doubled it. While it is really, really hot, it is a good hot. Full of flavor. Once you try this, you will never go back to that store bought crap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PJ99 March 24, 2014

I didn't have allspice, so I added extra cinnamon and nutmeg. Also used lime juice and ginger. It was still a bit paste-like, but great as a rub/marinade for steaks before grilling. Super delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mas picante October 16, 2013

A good and flavorful recipe but it was more of a paste than a sauce or marinade when I made it using allspice berries and all other ingredients PLUS 2 T water. My yield was about one cup. It could be used as paste on meat directly or used as a marinade or dipping sauce with progressively more water. Nicely done...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doug Mc July 18, 2013

I have made this twice....and it is good, but IMO, too heavy on the allspice. I will cut it back to about 1/2 that amount or a little more. Also, in my second batch, I did something a Jamaican friend of mine told me to do, add some orange juice and some orange zest. That made it even better,not that the original is bad - far from it. Good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa Deuce March 01, 2013

Great sauce, my mom loves jerk chicken and when I made the chicken in this sauce, she swore it tasted just like we flew the chicken in from Jamaca!- Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucki's Cheesecakes August 19, 2006

Now THIS is authentic. However, if you want a truly HOT sauce, substitute Habenero for Scotch Bonnet peppers. Or go medium with Jalapeno.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef guruow January 24, 2006
Authentic Jamaican Jerk Sauce