Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Italian Tomato Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Italian Tomato Sauce

    Average Rating:

    127 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 127

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2008

      Beware Brits. If you are cooking this then don't do what I did and use the tomato puree as we know it in UK. As I have since found out, the Americans call what we call Pasatta, Tomata Puree. In UK tomoato puree is the thick concentrated stuff that the Americans call tomato paste. It was like wallpaper paste when finished and a bit too tomatoey, but i still ate it, not wasting that many meatballs :). Anyway, since finding this out I have re-tried the recipe with tomata pasatta instead of puree and it is an absolute gem of a recipe. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      I've been eating this sauce forever, AlliePie is my sister. It is perfect. Oregano doesn't make anything "authentically" Italian. Neither of us use it. This is about as authentic as authentic can get. We should know, we are both authentically Italian. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      I had to add one other thing in my review that I forgot to mention: Sautee your onion and garlic in a separate pan, then add to the sauce. I sauteed them in the pot that I was using for the sauce as it calls for, and I could not keep the onion and garlic from sticking to the bottom of the pan. So sautee in separate pan first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2006

      This Paisana loved this sauce. My whole family gave this 5 stars! Even my Italian mother loved it! I loved the flavor, the texture, the simplicity, the smell and the ease of this recipe. I was skeptical about the cloves and I might put in 2 less next time (I'm just not a clove fan in general), but it added a very interesting dimension. I did add 4 more garlic cloves because 2 didn't seem enough for the volume of sauce and I might even put in more next time. I made the sauce with the meatballs simmering in it - so easy! I can't resist weighing in on the oregano issue: my mother (who's Italian family is right off the boat in NYC) agrees that the only good use of oregano is on pizza. It's a very strong and distinct flavor and we don't happen to like it. I guess it's like the cloves, a matter of personal taste. Say NO to oregaNO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      I wanted to add my experience regarding how you saut? the onion and garlic in the same pan and then adding sugar to the recipe. Here is what I%u2019ve learned from my own cooking experience and from reading hundreds of recipes. Many recipes tell you to saut? the onions in the same pan in which you make your sauce as it adds more flavor to the dish. The recipe as posted says to use olive oil and if you have that in the bottom of your pan, you are not likely to burn the onions unless you are saut?ing them at too high a heat. Any sticky bits should then be scraped up as you are adding the other wet ingredients (tomatoes). This only adds flavor, unless you%u2019ve burned them. So cook slowly only until onions soften.
      As for sugar being added to the recipe, I have two things to say. The poster of this recipe, %u2018InMemoryofBrats%u2019, says that this recipe was given to her father from a lady from Italy. Most people from Italy didn%u2019t use canned (from the store) tomatoes; they would have used fresh or something they canned themselves. Tomatoes and the sweetness of those tomatoes vary from season to season and sometimes from fruit to fruit on the same bush. To avoid bitterness that some tomatoes have, you can add sugar to make up for not having a sweet tomato. So, check your sauce and if you feel it%u2019s too bitter, add some sugar, a little at a time. Of course then there are some people that just love a sweeter sauce and for them, the two tablespoons of sugar may be needed. I just wanted to clarify this to new cooks and hope it helps someone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      I found this to be too sweet, and there were too many cloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      Very good sauce. I didn't have whole cloves so used a pinch of ground clove. Also, a good bit of fresh basil instead of dried. Did try Authentic Italian Meatballs for meatballs and was pleasantly surprised that the sauce did not become greasy. Good combination of recipes. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      A very tasty recipe.

      I changed it just a bit, I doubled the garlic and used fresh tomatoes ( about 3-4 cups ) and used 2 cans of 12 oz tomato paste 2 cans of water.

      I also sauteed the onion and garlic in a smaller pan prior to mixing ingredients.

      The kids loved the sauce and the meatballs, so it's a winner in our house and we had enough left over for a 2nd meal later in the week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      I had made some changes while I prepared this sauce. I had fresh tomatoes on hand that I wanted to use up...used 4 garlic instead of 2...and added about 1 T of hot chili paste. The sauce turned out quite thick, so I added water to make a better consistency. The cloves imparted a unique taste that I quite enjoyed. I added a parmesan rind for flavor. To prevent the onions and garlic sticking, I sprayed my Dutch oven with Pam and cooked them at a lower heat and had no problems with burning. Next time, I would probably use fresh basil for a fresher taste. I used your recipe for meatballs and just plopped them in the Dutch oven, let them cook for about 10 minutes, then stirred them around...then simmering them for 3 hours. This is not the "run of the mill" type of sauce and turned out something quite unique. The cloves do make a difference, but you have to like the taste in the first place! This was a very easy recipe to put together, and I would do this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      I am suspicious of any "authentic Italian" claims in a sauce recipe containing sugar. Taking out the sugar would be great. Sugar doesn't improve flavour in my opinion, and I know it does not take away acidity.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Thanks for the great recipe. The best sauce i've made, only used 4 cloves and three cloves of garlic. I also made the meatballs they were also delicious. Will be making both again everything went together so fast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Thank you for sharing such a wonderful receipe. Turned out PEFECT!!! Also, made the meatballs and made my pasta from scratch. Inspired me to look into cooking other types of authentic italian sauces. Will be a permanent receipe in the familly cookbook

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      Delicious, delicious sauce! We followed the recipe exactly, except we couldn't find cloves at our grocery store. We sauteed the onion and garlic in a separate pan, as suggested by another reviewer, and it worked beautifully. Served with the "Authentic Itallian Meatballs"--#92095. This recipe is so good, we saved every last drop of leftover sauce and served with chicken Parmesan a few days later. I've been recommending this sauce, as well as the meatballs, to everyone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      This sauce is absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing. i would never think to add cloves to my tomato sauce recipes before.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      Easy to make and quite tasty! Cooking the coordinating meatball recipe in the sauce definitely added an extra kick (Authentic Italian Meatballs). My husband and I really enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      I love this! It was so easy! This is the first time I had ever made homemade italian sauce, and I nailed it!! thanks...the only extra thing I added was a pinch of baking soda to get rid of the acidity. Thanks!! I also made it with the 92095 meatball recipe! My Italian mother was so impressed! Seriously perfect "sunday dinner" recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Unfortunately despite purchasing imported tomatoes and following the directions to a tee, it tasted a little like Ragu. Too sweet, and I feel that all the sugar and perhaps the onion did too much to mask the flavor of the tomatoes (which, by themselves, tasted great). Also not enough garlic and not enough salt in the original recipe. It wasn't bad - just OK... and I guess for people trying to imitate a Ragu like flavor, this will hit the mark. All in all, not for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This was hands-down, by FAR the best tomato sauce I've ever had. Cooked it for about two and a half hours with some Italian sausages cooking in it too... We kept going back to the stove to taste it every few minutes, it was so good! I could eat it like soup! My father (pure Italian) absolutely LOVED it too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      This sauce is just delicious. I used crushed tomatoes, tomato puree and tomato sauce as they were in the pantry. Added two more large cloves of garlic and used fresh basil, but that's it and it was just wonderful. Thank you for this! So easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      It is so frustrating when people post " this recipe is great" ...but then list 10 ingredients or quantities the changed<br/> Please post your own recipes and just tell me how this recipe is. Yikes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Italian Tomato Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.4
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    40%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 1.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 250.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites