142 Reviews

I wanted to add my experience regarding how you saut? the onion and garlic in the same pan and then adding sugar to the recipe. Here is what I%u2019ve learned from my own cooking experience and from reading hundreds of recipes. Many recipes tell you to saut? the onions in the same pan in which you make your sauce as it adds more flavor to the dish. The recipe as posted says to use olive oil and if you have that in the bottom of your pan, you are not likely to burn the onions unless you are saut?ing them at too high a heat. Any sticky bits should then be scraped up as you are adding the other wet ingredients (tomatoes). This only adds flavor, unless you%u2019ve burned them. So cook slowly only until onions soften.
As for sugar being added to the recipe, I have two things to say. The poster of this recipe, %u2018InMemoryofBrats%u2019, says that this recipe was given to her father from a lady from Italy. Most people from Italy didn%u2019t use canned (from the store) tomatoes; they would have used fresh or something they canned themselves. Tomatoes and the sweetness of those tomatoes vary from season to season and sometimes from fruit to fruit on the same bush. To avoid bitterness that some tomatoes have, you can add sugar to make up for not having a sweet tomato. So, check your sauce and if you feel it%u2019s too bitter, add some sugar, a little at a time. Of course then there are some people that just love a sweeter sauce and for them, the two tablespoons of sugar may be needed. I just wanted to clarify this to new cooks and hope it helps someone.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yoyomi January 13, 2013

It is so frustrating when people post " this recipe is great" ...but then list 10 ingredients or quantities the changed<br/> Please post your own recipes and just tell me how this recipe is. Yikes.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1person January 27, 2014

Beware Brits. If you are cooking this then don't do what I did and use the tomato puree as we know it in UK. As I have since found out, the Americans call what we call Pasatta, Tomata Puree. In UK tomoato puree is the thick concentrated stuff that the Americans call tomato paste. It was like wallpaper paste when finished and a bit too tomatoey, but i still ate it, not wasting that many meatballs :). Anyway, since finding this out I have re-tried the recipe with tomata pasatta instead of puree and it is an absolute gem of a recipe. thanks.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daniel.reeves August 26, 2008

I've been eating this sauce forever, AlliePie is my sister. It is perfect. Oregano doesn't make anything "authentically" Italian. Neither of us use it. This is about as authentic as authentic can get. We should know, we are both authentically Italian. :-)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss*My*Tiara June 01, 2004

This Paisana loved this sauce. My whole family gave this 5 stars! Even my Italian mother loved it! I loved the flavor, the texture, the simplicity, the smell and the ease of this recipe. I was skeptical about the cloves and I might put in 2 less next time (I'm just not a clove fan in general), but it added a very interesting dimension. I did add 4 more garlic cloves because 2 didn't seem enough for the volume of sauce and I might even put in more next time. I made the sauce with the meatballs simmering in it - so easy! I can't resist weighing in on the oregano issue: my mother (who's Italian family is right off the boat in NYC) agrees that the only good use of oregano is on pizza. It's a very strong and distinct flavor and we don't happen to like it. I guess it's like the cloves, a matter of personal taste. Say NO to oregaNO!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Farina November 09, 2006

Caution: Another reviewer said she added a pinch of baking soda to reduce the acidity; I tried this and it took away all the flavor entirely; it was gross. If you're going to add baking soda add the tiniest pinch and test it first. I was so pissed when I ruined the entire pot.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loraine S. June 27, 2014

I found this to be too sweet, and there were too many cloves.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manna_from_Heaven August 28, 2010

Very good sauce. I didn't have whole cloves so used a pinch of ground clove. Also, a good bit of fresh basil instead of dried. Did try Authentic Italian Meatballs for meatballs and was pleasantly surprised that the sauce did not become greasy. Good combination of recipes. Thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gloria in Tampa January 24, 2007

Delicious, delicious sauce! We followed the recipe exactly, except we couldn't find cloves at our grocery store. We sauteed the onion and garlic in a separate pan, as suggested by another reviewer, and it worked beautifully. Served with the "Authentic Itallian Meatballs"--#92095. This recipe is so good, we saved every last drop of leftover sauce and served with chicken Parmesan a few days later. I've been recommending this sauce, as well as the meatballs, to everyone.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magsfoodie June 06, 2012

I had to add one other thing in my review that I forgot to mention: Sautee your onion and garlic in a separate pan, then add to the sauce. I sauteed them in the pot that I was using for the sauce as it calls for, and I could not keep the onion and garlic from sticking to the bottom of the pan. So sautee in separate pan first.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyhawkb52_12951833 April 01, 2011
Authentic Italian Tomato Sauce