Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Italian Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Italian Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2002

      You will never use canned tomato sauce again after trying this sauce.This is how the italians make it and it is exceptional.I make this all summer and as far into the fall as I can find decent tomatoes.I highly recommend you use roma or italian tomatoes and discard the seeds as they are bitter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I've been making this recipe for about a year now and here are the tweaks I've made to it based on how other people I know make authentic italian sauce, but using this recipe as the main "framework": *instead of 8 regular tomatoes I use 12 roma tomatoes *instead of all black pepper I use 1/2 black pepper and the other 1/2 of white pepper *instead of fresh basil I use a tbsp dried basil *instead of fresh garlic 1 1/2 tbsp instant dried garlic *added a pinch of marjoram and a pinch of oregano *no crushed pepper flakes *cook on low 2 hours, stirring every 10 minutes so it doesn't burn. Usually 15-30 minutes on high at the end to thicken it up and get rid of most of the liquid. I find that with these changes the flavors are more intense and have more dimensions although it is still a light tasting sauce, but if you want to feel more authentic as a cook you could stick to all fresh ingredients although the flavor is different somehow when the garlic and basil are fresh. To serve I put it over spagetti noodles or over little circles of bread for bruschetta. I put fresh parmesan on top which I find is very important to the flavor. Mix it in well and then add a little more on top. It comes out very thick and hearty even though there is no meat and even the men in my family love it which is a surprise because they don't like pasta and have to have meat at every meal (not with this dish!). Once I made these changes there are never leftovers and everyone gets seconds or thirds so I have to use a HUGE pot to make enough. This is enough for about 4 servings (calculate 3 tomatoes a person when buying them, more if they will have more than 1 serving)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      This is a staple! I probably serve this 2-3 times a month. If I don't have fresh tomatoes on hand I use 2 cans of diced tomatoes. If no fresh basil is around, I use about a tablespoon dried basil. Mushrooms are great in this sauce, and I like topping it with a little grated Parmesan. I use this sauce with a number of recipes, including Eggplant Parmesan--it's the best. Everybody always raves about it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      Have a good day Ragu...<br/>Cya

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      We ate this sauce tonight after freezing the sauce from the fall garden - excellent with the red pepper flakes for a nice kick. Served with turkey meatballs and wheat noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      This was a wonderful amd tasty recipe. I made a huge batch and canned it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Five Star Flavor! Used up a bunch of tomatoes from my garden. The only trouble was that the texture would not thicken. I let it simmer for 2 1/2 hours, it did a little. I am new to making sauce with fresh tomatoes, I love the pomodoro flavor. I didn't want to alter the flavor by adding paste, any suggestions? Also, there are alot of seeds. Next time i will strain some of them out prior. Besides that it is a great recipe. I am going to pick up some jumbo lump crab meat and add it for tomorrows dinner. I will definitely use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This is great sauce. So easy to make also, what more could anyone want. The only change I made was : I didn't add the crushed red pepper flakes. I have small children plus I'm whimpy. I used this sauce for stuffed shells it was wonderful. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      This definately helped me out a ton! It's so simple, but the taste is outstanding! Thanks for helping me find my Italian roots!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      This was wonderful! I did forget the red pepper flakes and added a few chopped onions from another dish I was preparing and it still turned out great! My husband fixed any chances of leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      Good recipe, but needed a little sugar and I added a dash of Passata to brighten the colour. I used the Sauce in Meatball Subs (Crock Pot) "Meatball Subs" and it was perfect! I will make this again, it is so versitale.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2006

      I tried to use commissary tomatoes and dried basil. I ended up with a bitter flavorless sauce. It wasn't the fault of the recipe... my tomatoes were not ripe enough and had a bitter flavor. I ended up adding a can of tomato paste, sugar, more salt, white wine and finally we had a nice sauce. I will make this again when we are stationed stateside and I can get good produce again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      This is such a quick and easy sauce recipe that allows for me to be able to enjoy my tomatoes all year long! I ended up keeping it on med for 1 hour and low for 2 hours and it came out thick and hearty! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2004

      Excellent fresh marinara. I sliced up a yellow crook-neck squash and some sweet red pepper in it, too. I served it over linguinne, and it was great. The second time I made it, I added some browned pork sausage. Mmmmmm... endless variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      I threw in a can of tomato paste along with the other ingredients- plus a pinch of sugar. Turned into the most amazing pasta sauce... I served over macaroni and sprinkled parmesan over top and served with fried garlic toast. I kept thinking about how great this would taste on pizza crust with mozzarella- Yum! I will be making this again! Thanks Secret!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      I can not say enough about how good this is..Last summer I was looking for something to do with all our garden tomatoes & basil.. So I froze up a bunch of this sauce.This winter I put it in linguine added some chedder and provolne put in oven till heated thru..I could become a vegetarian if everything tasted this good.. Thank You Secret..this is the best..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Italian Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (270 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.8
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    79%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 207.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes