Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Italian Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    344 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 344

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2013

      I baked the meatballs at 350 degrees for 20 minutes due to time constrictions. The authentic Italian Meatballs had nice texture and flavor. It is worth mentioning that the egg and bread crumbs have a vital role in retaining moisture and binding ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      These were awesome - people raved! Served at a bridal shower with http://www.food.com/recipe/grape-jelly-meatballs-72826?scaleto=24&mode=null&st=true sauce recipe. HUGE HIT! Thanks :)<br/><br/>Baked the meatballs 10-15 mins at 400. Froze them until the day before I was ready to serve them. Put them thawed in the crock pot with the sauce. 2 hours on high, 2 hours on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      Two tiny changes, used Italian flavored breadcrumbs and no parsley they did not get mushy. We loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      Made these today and they were PERFECT and AMAZING!! I cooked them exactly like the recipe said. It was easy and they were yummy! I did add some Cavenders Greek seasoning since I add that to everything I cook. It was great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      These are soooo good -- a great flavor and consistency. And they're super easy!! I couldn't cook them in the sauce because of a tomato allergy. So, I took one reviewer's suggestion to bake them in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes, and they turned out perfectly. We froze the extras, and by leaving them out of the sauce, we have flexibility in how to use them for future meals (i.e. we can do meatballs and gravy over mashed potatoes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I browned them in olive oil first and dropped them in a crock pot full of sauce. When I got home from work they were awesome. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      A fantastic meatball recipe! The key to success is to use fresh grated cheese, herbs and quality ground beef. I used a pound of lean sirloin and 2 links of Italian sausages. I also added 2 tea spoons of pesto to enhance the flavor. I prefer to cook meatballs in the sauce not only because it retains the flavor, but it keeps them moist and tender. You really can't go wrong with this recipe. It serves as a good base for your meatballs. Personalize it by mixing different meats or spices, then call it your own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      "Simmer for 3 hours." ... lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      OK I'm just a guy but I like to cook. I have made a lot of meatballs. These were the best tasting by far. I used 1lb ground round and made 1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      I made these for meatball subs and they were fantastic! Many people said the meatballs were a bit mushy. I added an extra 1/8 cup of Parm cheese and were the right consistency. I don't know how many meatballs the recipe made, but there wasn't enough to put in the pot, so the extras are in the freezer waiting for another dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      These were gross. Maybe the reason is because I cooked them completely in the sauce as the sauce (as stevehet's review mentions). The recipe called for way too many breadcrumbs and they ended up with a chef boyrdee flavor to them. Sorry, but they were bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      All I can say is WOW! These are delicious!
      Just the right amount of seasoning, tender texture.
      I used the list of ingredients and then browned these in a skillet. I prefer the flavor that the meat juices impart on a recipe when prepared this way.

      I also didn't use them with an Italian style sauce. I made them with a rich mushroom gravy and served them with red potatoes. My hubby loved them so much he mad a glutton of himself and ate until he was absolutely miserable. That's a win in my book!
      Delicious and versatile. Thank you so much for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      I like the recipe, very basic, I read reviews about how bland it is so i added onions and garlic instead of garlic powder. and read a past review about putting the meat balls in the broiler for 5 minutes, which i did.. and it turned out great... will make again for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      I don't eat meat and rarely make it, but I made these for my Dad and he enjoyed them. He is the one that gave them a 4 out of 5. I saw another reviewer said you should broil them for a few minutes first to keep them from getting mushy. Mine were pretty soft so I could see where this might help. Overall he seemed very happy with them, so this is where I will come if/when I make them again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      The only thing I did different was to use lean ground turkey instead of beef and had to add a few more bread crumbs to get it to hold it's shape.

      I also made the meatballs about 1/2 the size (personal preference) since I have never been a fan of the big kind. The turkey made them much moister than the beef version and it was lower cal as a bonus.

      I cooked them in the sauce mentioned with a few minor changes and whole things was a big hit.

      My daughter who does not like meatballs tried one and loved it ( cooked in the sauce mentioned in the article ) and then devoured four more during dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Best meatballs i have ever tasted!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      I've never made meatballs before, and these were perfect! Everyone loved them and they were super simple to make. I baked mine at 400 for about 20 minutes instead of cooking them in sauce as I was pressed for time, and they were fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      I can't believe i've never rated this recipe or reviewed it because i've been using this recipe for at least 3 years now! It is the best.. i follow recipe exactly. Except for sometimes I brown the my meatballs in the oven for color. Also I always use ground turkey. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      Finding a great meatballs that is so good and not heavy was difficult until this recipe. Going to a party and bringing them. I did bake them first and will put in the sauce in the crockpot tomorrow. I am sure they will be a hit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      These were AMAZING! I used seasoned Italian breadcrumbs because thats what I had available, and mozzarella because I had no parm. The meatballs were rich, silky, and so flavorful. I did not want to cook them in the sauce so I cooked them in mini muffin tins for 20 minutes until they temped out. Very easy and worth the extra effort to make my own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    54%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 52.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 234.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites