Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Italian Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    346 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 346

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2013

      This recipe is the BEST!!!! The only thing I changed was I used seasoned bread crumbs flavored with Romano cheese, 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese & 1 tbsp of sweet basil fresh from my garden. Wow so much flavor & deliciousness!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      I have a Better Homes and Garden New Cook Book, printed in 1974. on page 122 is the same recipe except they use water instead of milk and they brown before adding to sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      These are great with one change (which is why I gave 4 stars instead of 5). I use 50/50 ground beef and italian sausage and they are perfect. I always make them with the suggested sauce - amazing also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      VERY good. I used Italian flavored bread crumbs the first time, and a little bit of onion the second time that I made them. Proud to serve these to my guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      I made this recipe a few days ago and these are the best meatballs ever! I made a big batch using a combination of ground beef and pork (3.5 lbs total 85-90% lean) , 4 hamburger buns crumbled up and soaked in 1 cup or so of milk, 4 medium sized eggs, I used fresh basil in lieu of the oregano and parsley, a little more salt than the recipe calls for and I did not use the pepper (Cook a mini meatball in a pan or microwave to test before putting them in the pot to make sure they are seasoned to your liking). I did cook them for the full 3hrs as listed but they really didnt need to be cooked that long. I tested after an hour and they were just fine. They did not fall apart and were tender and delicious. This was the first time I'd cooked meatballs just by dropping them in the sauce raw and I will never go back to the old way again. These were awesome! My fiance asked for them again tonight :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      I made these with the marinara recipe and they turned out fabulous! I used 1lb of Italian sausage and 1/2 lb ground beef and added crushed red pepper to the meat mixture to add some spice. On the advice of other reviews I broiled about half of the meatballs and the rest I formed and dropped directly into the sauce. The meatballs that I cooked directly in the sauce had a good texture and were not mushy at all. Next time I'll cook all of them in the sauce instead of broiling. Overall a great recipe and will definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      This recipe was great! My whole family loved them including my 11 year old who doesn't like anything. He just keep going for more. I did not cook them in sauce first. I browned them in a pan and then baked them covered for 35 minutes and 10 minutes uncovered. I then placed the meatballs in sauce for a few minutes and served. They came out perfect!! Please note I used seasoned breadcrumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Great meatballs...they are awesome ( no tweaking of the recipe is needed!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2013

    • on August 04, 2013

      I pan seared the meatballs first for about 5 minutes and added my gravy directly into the skillet. Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      AMAZING!!! I made these a couple of weeks ago... Ended up pan frying them in a cast iron skillet before adding to my 30 min sauce which is also Amazing!<br/><br/>http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/alice-jos-spaghetti-sauce-recipe/index.html<br/><br/>Make these TODAY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      These where awesome!!! My meatballs where perfect didn't fall apart at all!! I followed the recipe to the tee ,only I made a a bit more so just double everything!!! Thanks for sharing this will now be my family's go to meatball recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2013

      I used ground pork in leu of beef. They were amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      Delicious and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      I have made these meatballs 4 times now , and have tried browning them first before putting in the sauce and they were good , but following this recipe as written is better. Cooking the meatballs in the sauce is the way I liked the best, but it does make the sauce greasier. I just used a paper towel to skim the grease off the top and and it worked great. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      Great recipe. The whole family loved them! I added Italian seasoning and used seasoned bread crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      This is by far the best meatball recipe I have ever made and the best meatballs I have ever eaten. I was hesitant to cook them in the sauce based on some of the other reviewers but im glad I did they came out perfect and not mushy at all. Cooking them in the sauce really enhanced all the flavors! I made an extra batch for meatball grinders. I am so happy I tried this recipe it was perfect. The only thing that i did different was cook them for less time. I had the cover on the pain while they were cooking and used a jar sauce but they cooked in about 2 hours instead of 3. Thank you sooo much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      These meatballs are DELICIOUS!! My husband and I eat them on subs with mozzerella cheese! I recently went to TGI Fridays and ordered their new meatball appetizer and did not enjoy them at all.. theses are WAY better! Super yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      The entire family enjoyed these! They are easy to make and wonderfully tasty. Thanks so much for posting this recipe - it is fantastic! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      I aslo like Italian food very much, and I used to find a restaurant in UK that serves Italian food on the internet and thanks to the website http://restaau.co.uk/Restaurant/Detail/Show/4551, I found one called Melanie Italian Restaurant on 4-6 Old Compton Street, London, W1D 4TB. it serves the similar Italian meatballs as yours and they tasted really deliciuos. now I know the recipe to cook them. many thanks for your post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    54%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 52.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 234.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes