402 Reviews

I've tried many meatball recipes from quite a few of the "tv chefs". This is my favorite. I do add a little onion powder but otherwise stick to the listed ingredients. The flavor and consistency are great. I have cooked them directly in the sauce, but II prefer to bake them in the oven. I keep these meatballs on hand in the freezer for quick meals. They make highly coveted leftovers in my house. ***Update: Still making these on a regular basis, with and without the addition of the onion powder, and sometimes subbing dried parsley for fresh. The absolute best result I have had to date was the result of using fresh bread crumbs instead of dried and pan frying before dropping in sauce to cook through.Also, I use a food scoop for uniform size, and food prep gloves rather than bare hands, which not only cuts down on mess, but produces a smoother surface on the meatballs, which makes them brown beautifully and have a better bite and mouth feel. Prepared this way, they really are superb.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soxendine February 14, 2013

These were the most flavorful meatballs I've ever had! I didn't put them in sauce, but baked them in the oven at 375 for ~25 minutes turning every few minutes to get them good and crusty. They were delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurdaJean October 31, 2012

Apparently, these were fantastic. I wouldn't know, because they were devoured by a hoard of Marines before I got to have any. I'll be sure to make them again, as that was obviously a good sign. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linz-A January 21, 2012

So tender and great flavors. I did use half beef and half pork and sauteed for a couple min. on both sides then put into my sauce. Served with homemade ravioli, french bread and Maggiano's salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 13, 2011

I didn't really care for these. They did not hold their shape and basically, I made a spaghetti meat sauce. I tried the recipe twice and was very careful about overworking the meatballs. The flavor was alright, but I didn't think it was anything extrordinary

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 April 02, 2005

Seen review that said they were mushy and not so flavorful.. What I did... (doubled) 3 eggs only Italian Bread Crumbs (instead of plain) 1/4-1/2 cup small diced onions 3/4 Parmesan cheese (I didn't have enough) Omit parsley 400 degree oven 18-22 min If you want them browned you will need to turn them 1/2 way through. They do get a little dark on the bottom if you don't. Open face hot dog bun. Place 4 meatballs on top of each piece. Then top with a piece of mozzarella cheese on each meatball. Top with hot spaghetti sauce. Very nummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasons June 03, 2016

I read no less than a dozen Italian meatball recipe. This is the easiest and I decided to give it a try with no high hope at all. My first attempt was a success. It yielded soft, bouncy and tasty meatballs. I baked the meatballs prior to putting them in my preferred sauce as some reviewers suggested. It's a simple, wonderful and inexpensive recipe. Great for entertaining too. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eva May 25, 2016

Hands down these meatballs are AMAZING and the best I've ever made! I have made them at least a dozen times over the past year and figured it was time to write a review. I follow the recipe exactly most of the time. Sometimes I will be lazy and use dried parsley rather then fresh and it still turns out great. These meatballs are very quick to prep. I skip the "simmer for 3-hours" step and stick these babies right into the crockpot with a jar of sauce on low. Who wants to babysit a pot on the stove for 3-hours??? They come out perfectly tender, but never mushy, every time. I've brought these for potlucks and company functions and always get rave reviews. I've started making big batches and keeping a bag of meatballs in the freezer for quick week night dinners. I highly recommend this recipe. You won't be disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hrbanks223 May 10, 2016

Italian meatballs, Jersey style,, Two lbs chuck meat, (90%) 1 medium onion minced, 2 eggs, 1 TB garlic (juiced), 1/2 cup minced parsley, 12inches of hard stale banquet (stick of French Bread) 1 TB sea salt, ! TB ground black pepper, Start by soaking the stale banquet in warm water (two qt pot break up in several pieces) add meat to a lg bowl (6 qt) add eggs, onion, garlic, parsley, salt & pepper everything except the bread, mix by hand until all ingredients are combined an set aside, drain water from pot that the stale bread is in, with cupped hands scoop a hand full of soaked bread an squeeze with cupped hands until water is not dripping from hands, when all the bread is drained of water, break up with fingers until all the bread is consistency of wet bread crumbs, now add to meat an with hands combine until evenly mixed, now form the meat balls with cupped hands an set aside 1/4 lb ea, in large fry pan 12 or larger pour 1 cup of EVO an heat on med high until you see small bubbles forming , raise heat to high an add meatballs from the middle out forming a circular pattern, make sure all are touching, do not cover, foaming EVO should almost cover the meatballs, after 2 or 3 minutes on high lower to med high, inspect meatballs an when med dark brown turn each meatball with two forks an repeat cooking process, when meatballs are done they will have a rich brown crust all over, remove from fry pan an ina large flat pan put several paper towels an place the cooked meatballs inside to drain for minute or so, then in a bowl big enough to hold all the meatballs line with paper towels an place meatballs inside an cover with a suitable cloth, until ready to serve or add to sauce .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roberto G. March 12, 2016

I do not use breadcrumbs, it makes a hard meatball. I use old bread broken up and soaked in milk. My aunt squeezes the bread to reduce the amount of milk, I do not. Yes the meatballs are very fragile so I pan sear them slowly in a pan or under the broiler minimizing the amount of turning to prevent them from falling apart. I also use fresh basil and oregano when ever possible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V B. March 02, 2016
Authentic Italian Meatballs