Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Authentic Italian Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    333 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 333

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2013

      Delicious and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      I have made these meatballs 4 times now , and have tried browning them first before putting in the sauce and they were good , but following this recipe as written is better. Cooking the meatballs in the sauce is the way I liked the best, but it does make the sauce greasier. I just used a paper towel to skim the grease off the top and and it worked great. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      Great recipe. The whole family loved them! I added Italian seasoning and used seasoned bread crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      This is by far the best meatball recipe I have ever made and the best meatballs I have ever eaten. I was hesitant to cook them in the sauce based on some of the other reviewers but im glad I did they came out perfect and not mushy at all. Cooking them in the sauce really enhanced all the flavors! I made an extra batch for meatball grinders. I am so happy I tried this recipe it was perfect. The only thing that i did different was cook them for less time. I had the cover on the pain while they were cooking and used a jar sauce but they cooked in about 2 hours instead of 3. Thank you sooo much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      These meatballs are DELICIOUS!! My husband and I eat them on subs with mozzerella cheese! I recently went to TGI Fridays and ordered their new meatball appetizer and did not enjoy them at all.. theses are WAY better! Super yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      The entire family enjoyed these! They are easy to make and wonderfully tasty. Thanks so much for posting this recipe - it is fantastic! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      I aslo like Italian food very much, and I used to find a restaurant in UK that serves Italian food on the internet and thanks to the website http://restaau.co.uk/Restaurant/Detail/Show/4551, I found one called Melanie Italian Restaurant on 4-6 Old Compton Street, London, W1D 4TB. it serves the similar Italian meatballs as yours and they tasted really deliciuos. now I know the recipe to cook them. many thanks for your post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      Simply the best. I have made these meatballs many times and every one is just shocked at the ease of the recipe. Use her sauce, OMG it really is authentic.<br/><br/>I used my dutch oven and put it together in the morning and the house smelled SO GOOD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      I have been looking for a perfect authentic meatball recipe for 20 years now. I love Italian food! This is IT!. I did make a few minor changes. I doubled the meat and used 1 lb of pork and 1 lb of ground beef. Doubled the rest of the ingredients and did use homemade 2 day old french bread crumbs. Used 1 tsp of fennel seed-yes it does make a difference. It gives Italian red sauce dishes that indescribable 'something' that makes Southern Italian dishes authentic in taste, and a small pinch of grated fresh nutmeg. Not sure why some reviewers had a tough time town the meatballs being mushy or falling apart. They cook in the sauce, so if cooked for the required time, it works to perfection. I do not cook my meatballs except in sauce anymore because they just come out tender and succulent in sauce only. Try this recipe and do not cook the meatballs ahead of time. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      I baked the meatballs at 350 degrees for 20 minutes due to time constrictions. The authentic Italian Meatballs had nice texture and flavor. It is worth mentioning that the egg and bread crumbs have a vital role in retaining moisture and binding ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      These were awesome - people raved! Served at a bridal shower with http://www.food.com/recipe/grape-jelly-meatballs-72826?scaleto=24&mode=null&st=true sauce recipe. HUGE HIT! Thanks :)<br/><br/>Baked the meatballs 10-15 mins at 400. Froze them until the day before I was ready to serve them. Put them thawed in the crock pot with the sauce. 2 hours on high, 2 hours on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      Two tiny changes, used Italian flavored breadcrumbs and no parsley they did not get mushy. We loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      Made these today and they were PERFECT and AMAZING!! I cooked them exactly like the recipe said. It was easy and they were yummy! I did add some Cavenders Greek seasoning since I add that to everything I cook. It was great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      These are soooo good -- a great flavor and consistency. And they're super easy!! I couldn't cook them in the sauce because of a tomato allergy. So, I took one reviewer's suggestion to bake them in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes, and they turned out perfectly. We froze the extras, and by leaving them out of the sauce, we have flexibility in how to use them for future meals (i.e. we can do meatballs and gravy over mashed potatoes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      I browned them in olive oil first and dropped them in a crock pot full of sauce. When I got home from work they were awesome. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      A fantastic meatball recipe! The key to success is to use fresh grated cheese, herbs and quality ground beef. I used a pound of lean sirloin and 2 links of Italian sausages. I also added 2 tea spoons of pesto to enhance the flavor. I prefer to cook meatballs in the sauce not only because it retains the flavor, but it keeps them moist and tender. You really can't go wrong with this recipe. It serves as a good base for your meatballs. Personalize it by mixing different meats or spices, then call it your own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      "Simmer for 3 hours." ... lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      OK I'm just a guy but I like to cook. I have made a lot of meatballs. These were the best tasting by far. I used 1lb ground round and made 1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      I made these for meatball subs and they were fantastic! Many people said the meatballs were a bit mushy. I added an extra 1/8 cup of Parm cheese and were the right consistency. I don't know how many meatballs the recipe made, but there wasn't enough to put in the pot, so the extras are in the freezer waiting for another dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      These were gross. Maybe the reason is because I cooked them completely in the sauce as the sauce (as stevehet's review mentions). The recipe called for way too many breadcrumbs and they ended up with a chef boyrdee flavor to them. Sorry, but they were bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Authentic Italian Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    54%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 52.5 mg
    17%
    Sodium 234.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites